We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPG Platinum Member Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Hello I am an SPG Platinum member. I have stayed at this hotel about 7-8 times. The hotel is located in the Seaport District of South Boston right next to the Boston Convention Center. The Hotel is an easy walk to the Seaport District such as as the World Trade Center Boston where I work. You would want to take a cab to Downtown Boston if you are dressed in heals or in a suit on a hot summer day.

The lobby is very spacious and modern. There is a Starbucks, O'conners Pub/Rest, and the more formal rest called Sauceity. The Pub I have eaten at is good standard pub grub, burgers,fish and chips etc.. Have not been to the other rest.

There is a seperate line for SPG Gold and Platinum checkin which is nice. As I have stayed here 7-8 times I have been upgraded to a very spacious and nice suite everytime except once.

The suites are usually 2 rooms, 2 entrances with a queen bed and 2 full bathrooms. One room has the bed,bathroom, table and TV while the other room has the living room with TV sofa, dining table and other bathroom. The suites have a view of Downtown Boston and Boston Harbor. The rooms are modern, clean, spacious and very nice. The beds are the "heavenly" beds and are great. (we have one in our house).

I usually stay with my wife and we love the rooms and the hotel. The Hotel has a parking garage which is $42 day. If you dont have a car there are plenty of taxis and the "t" is a short walk away.

if you are looking for a hotel right in downtown Boston Proper their are 2 other starwood hotels located in the backbay the Westin and Sheraton and both hotels are a very short walk to Newbury Street and Boylston streets.

However really like this hotel because it is new, clean modern and I like the upgrades. Please let me know if you have any questions

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlatinumPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,311 - 2,317 of 2,766 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed 5 nights before going on a cruise we got brilliant rate on hotwire, this is a well run clean comfortable hotel with amazing beds > It is walking distance to all of the water front and downtown boston, if you want to visit south Boston it is only 10min walk some great Irish pubs. I would reccomend MR Doolleys on Broad street for great food and great music stay clear of bars a restaurants in and around Quincey and fanuiel market complete rip of. I must mention the hop on of trolley and the amazing tour guide Sean an ex marine he was a mine of information and so entertaining and he loves his City well worth asking which bus he is on, as other folk didnt have the brilliant bus tour we had !!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to David Connor, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Thank you for providing such delightful feedback. Boston is an amazing city and we are fortunate to have our location in the up and coming Seaport District. We hope you will cosnider The Westin Boston Waterfront in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I stayed here with a friend for one night before heading further on our travels. The rooms are very nice and clean. We dinned at the Irish pub in the hotel. The food was really good and service from Ricardo was excellent. I was traveling to the west coast after Boston and wanted a place to leave my bags. Kamal at the Front Desk was very nice and let us leave our bag there for a week so we wouldnt have to carry it all over the country. Overall the place is great, very nice staff, near the airport and in walking distance to faneuil hall and the rest of Boston.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank re_doyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Excellent location for the convention center, but otherwise not very convenient for the rest of the city. Rooms are modern and spacious. Limited food choices within the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickybiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Its a convention hotel, so can get away with poor service. I am starwood Gold, but no Gold amenties offered at this hotel (yes, 1 bottle of water - come on - that is the gold benefit ata Westin - no lounge, no upgrade - unacceptable). Front desk is non chalant and the Starbucks is outright rude. The staff at the starbucks behaved in an unacceptable manner. The management tried to make up with a bottle of wine, but that is not the point. The point is that well trained staff should NEVER behave in such a manner with guests. The gym is a joke with basic ameneties and all this for an exhorbitant conference rate plus $40 in parking. Better choices abound in Boston.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
Thank genomesolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to David Connor, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Thank you for sharing your experience. While we were disappointed to read your comments, they will serve to make us better equipped to improve upon our services going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

I was thrilled to have a free hotel stay via a friend, but was given a misconception about parking. I was told that I had to have a credit card on file for the hotel and that charges would be taken out and then put back in. I didn't know this was for parking. I was told by the hotel weeks later that the charge were for parking and they do not comp parking because it is seperate. This was not what I was told by the front desk. I realize that parking is going to cost money, but was under the impression by the man that checked us in that the charge would be reimbursed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spike8710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to David Connor, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Thank you for providing your feedback. We are terribly sorry if there was miscommunication regarding parking. We do not provide complimentary parking since the garage is independently owned and operated by a third party. There is signage at the valet booth which lists the parking rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I booked this hotel for 10th anniversary with my wife. My room was a traditional king standard room and the front desk manager upgraded our room to a deluxe city view room on the top flor with no cost just because the occasion. This was wonderful for us. We stayed for 3 nights and the rooms are extremely clean. The heavenly beds are awesome and you will enjoy quality sleep. The heavenly showers are also a good experience. The location is 3 minutes walking to the T Silver Line station which is connected to all attractive parts of Boston. A benefit you will get of this location is that the area is not crowded and you feel in a more quiet and private space. The people in Westin are very kind and will help you with all your needs. I visited the Westin in Copley place and it seems for me that the Westin Waterfront is better. The Westin in Copley is crowded with people that are not in the hotel, since the hotel is inside copley mall. The westin waterfront was a wonderful experience and went beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerF23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
5,008 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer St, Boston, MA 02210-1719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £107 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Boston’s thriving Seaport District, The Westin Boston Waterfront offers guests the opportunity to relax and recharge with many onsite amenities and explore the vibrant cultural and culinary offerings nearby. Just blocks from the front door, the Boston Children’s Museum, New England Aquarium, and the Institute of Contemporary Art offer exciting cultural experiences for all ages. With over 100 unique restaurants within a few blocks, the Seaport is home to some of Boston’s best dining experiences. A short walk or cab ride brings guests to Historic Faneuil Hall, the North End, or the scenic Back Bay. At the end of the day unwind with a locally-inspired Crafted at Westin cocktail at Birch Bar, located in our lobby, or end the night with a laugh at the on-site comedy club, Laugh Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing