We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carruth House - a wonderful stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carruth House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carruth House
Ranked #30 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Carruth House - a wonderful stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Carruth House on a recent trip to Boston. It was wonderful to be able to stay in such an amazing historic home in a lovely, quiet neighborhood and enjoy such a warm welcome from Heidi who was very helpful with advice and tips about exploring the city. Many thanks for the perfect base for our maiden trip to Boston. Carruth House is packed full of character and warmth. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cotte-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    34
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
60
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We came from Italy for the Halloween. We arrrived late at night but Heidi was there waiting for us and she offered us a cup of tea (as outside was snowing). Our room was a twin bed on the second floor with share bathroom. Everything was really clean and our room was more than what I was expecting. The breakfast was lovely and we had French tost (made by Heidi), muffins and scones. Also everyday you can find fresh bread, cheese, orange juice, nutella, Philadelphia cheese, yoghurt, different types of tea, fresh fruit, different types of jam...so it was great to start the day with a gorgeous breakfast. The main room with the pool table and the fire place was one of my favorite rooms of the house. We always had breakfast there looking at the fire and listen to the music.

I really recommend this B&B if you are going to Boston.

For the recent bad review I guess this guy should had gone to a four star hotel in downtown Boston. @Heidi: don't listen to this guy...he didn't deserve to stay in your lovely B&B. You rock and I hope to be in Boston soon to come back to your place. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale_Ital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
188 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

First of all, what other reviewers said is true: this b&b offers a fantastic breakfast. It was absolutely wonderful to start the day with those excellent pastries, berries, cakes,... Furthermore, Heidi is very helpful and really takes an interest in her guests. She lent us several useful travel guides, gave us tips and was always up for a chat. The house itself is grand, but is indeed a work-in-progress. We didn't mind, because it was part of the charm and we realized it takes huge amounts of time, energy and money to renovate a place like this. As for location: if you don't mind waiting for (damn, Boston could learn something from, say, Montréal) and taking the T, this is quite a good base for your ventures to the city. (On-street)parking is free, something rather rare in this city.
Last but not least, we found the room charge very reasonable, compared to, well, everything else in Boston.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

When researching Boston B&B's this place stood out as a good value option but a bit out of town and I decided to go for it rather than pick a more central hostel. For us, in retrospect it was the wrong decision.
Boston is not a big place, but Carruth House was well out of the centre and it took around 40-45 mins door to door into town, (10 mins brisk walk to station, on average 10 mins wait but one day 20 mins wait for train, and then 15 mins once on train to the centre). This is fine if you are happy to go into town to explore and then eat in local suburb, but didn't suit us as we wanted to sample central Boston in the evening, so either had to hang around town for dinner or on the day that it was pouring with rain, head back to B&B to dry off and then out again 1 hour later - lots of traveling.
The B&B itself was fine - a nice old house set on a very pretty street (although there are lots of pretty streets in Boston) but you should take owner Heidi's warning that she is like an eccentric aunt and that the house is still work in progress seriously. Our room (admittedly cheapest option) was badly in need of a paint as was the bathroom, and everything was a bit musty. Breakfast was delicious baked goods.
In summary, wish we'd picked a central hostel, as the plus points of this place did not outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SGeerdron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tooele, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Price was perfect. Location was perfect. The public transportation in Boston was so easy to use and the 10 minutes it took to get to downtown was well worth the money we saved by staying at Carruth House. It was a full house and yet we never had to wait to use the restroom. It was quiet, relaxing, clean and comfortable. Neighborhood was beautiful and VERY safe. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance if you don't want to go downtown.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

.
This house is so full of character it should be bottled. Heidi (the Landlady) is wonderful. She greeted us like old friends and by the time we left 6 days later, that's what we felt. She was so full of advice and information she was better than any tour guide.
Yes the house is a 'work in progress' and the bathrooms need a bit of tiling but that is part of its charm. The house is 140 years old.
We were given our own keys and could come and go at any time. Tea and coffee was available (self service) at any time and we had use of a huge TV lounge and full size Pool Table.
Breakfasts were the best we have ever had and all the bread/bagels/muffins etc are bought in fresh every morning. Breakfast is a self service system and we ate ours every morning in a lovely sunny window seat area above the front porch - lovely.
The house is only 5 minutes from Ashmont Station on the T (underground)where a weekly pass costs $15 which gives unlimited travel on the 'T', buses and inner harbour ferry - an absolute bargain.
I'm sure there can't be a better B&B for the price in Boston.
Heidi recommended the 'Fat Belly Deli' about 10 mins. walk away for a meal.- best meal we had in Boston. Don't be put off by the name as it was a great meal, staff were superb and we even won $20 worth of meal vouchers on Bingo while we ate

Room Tip: We had the room at the top with a dressing room so more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DronfieldDipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, co
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed in a double room at the Carruth House in the Boston suburb of Dorchester. The bathroom was across the hall and the hot water was plentiful. My friend and I traveled easily into the city on the subway, the station is an easy walk from the CH. I am not used to subways, so it was all part of the adventure. Heidi was a wonderful hostess and the breakfasts were tasty and varied over our 3 night stay. There is a nice patio on which to eat, surrounded by trees and big houses. Lots of travel information, both written and verbal, is available. Not fancy, and in a state of remodel, but very homey feeling. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mare74Durango_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Howard Johnson Quincy
#3 of 3 in Quincy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Plain
Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
South End
Aisling
Aisling
#6 of 39 in Boston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#8 of 39 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carruth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carruth House

Property: Carruth House
Address: 30 Beaumont St, Dorchester, Boston, MA 02124-5008
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Carruth House, built in 1877, is one of the landmark historic properties in the Ashmont section of Dorchester in Boston and overlooks one of the loveliest residential streets in the City. We are an affordable and relaxed private home guesthouse alternative to expensive and impersonal downtown accommodations. Come for a visit! We hope you enjoy Carruth House as much as we do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carruth House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing