We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay was mislead over internet fees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
chelmsford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay was mislead over internet fees”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The hotel is very good we upgraded to the club room, we were informed that this included free wi fi, on checking out we were charged for the internet at $14.95 per day, when we asked about this, we were told the free wi fi is only in the club lounge! with most hotel offering free wi fi to all its guests we feel this is a lot to charge and it should have been clearly pointed out as to where it was available free. Apart from this the hotel was great the location is great.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suejessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for any misunderstanding or lack of clarity over the internet charges, but are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. The club lounge is an added amenity to enhance our guests’ experience and are delighted to hear you had a chance to experience it. We appreciate your review and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,632
    850
    199
    73
    65
See reviews for
876
1,299
187
1,040
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

IC boston was much nicer than expected. the lobby provides a grand entrance and has beautiful flowers everywhere. we don't normally stay on this side of town so it was a welcome change to have a base in a different area. i love walking around fort point and it was really easy going out the back entrance of IC and crossing the bridge to flour bakery every morning (famous for their sticky buns and other baked goods, plus incredible sandwiches). sam's at louis (in fort point also) is a wonderful dining spot with huge window walls overlooking the harbor. many of the lobster shacks are a short walk away too. chinatown isn't far either. we had a waterview room which is more a view of the channel, so it's not sweeping views of the harbor. the gym is pretty big and the pool is nice but often full of little kids. we requested a fridge for our room which didn't come for a day or so, so we called again and were told it was $35 fee. we decided not to get it but then noticed in the mini-bar (which is electronically monitored), there's a small space for personal items--great touch and perfect for small leftovers. hotel is well-done and might be worth it to stay every time just for its proximity to a flour bakery.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
We appreciate you reviewing our hotel and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our location on the Fort Point Channel is convenient for guests to explore the flourishing waterfront area, while still being within walking distance to many famous Boston attractions. Next time you visit our Concierge for great ‘in the know’ tips about the area. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Booked via hotwire. After getting a small room with two seemingly small doubles my husband requested another room saying it was our anniversary. We got a wonderful upgrade to the club floor including breakfast and an evening cocktail. Nice location 5-star. I think I just prefer small touches of a boutique hotel

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank principata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We strive to exceed guest’s expectations and work hard to maintain our facilities. Out stylish, modern guestrooms feature state-of-the-art technology and lifestyle enhancing amenities to enhance your stay.
Thank you for taking the time share your review of our hotel and look forward to you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We have stayed in many properties in Boston, and you can't beat this location! It is just a block from the Boston Harbor Hotel. The Intercontinental is within walking distance to Faneuil Hall, the North End, the Aquarium, and South Station (easy subway access throughout the city!) You can also walk to the water shuttle and be in Charlestown to visit the USS Constitution in 25 minutes. Because it is in the Financial District, it is relatively quiet at night. We had a room facing Atlantic Ave (and the Boston Fire Dept, which I guess could be noisy!) and it was a nice city view. I would recommend requesting a harbor view, which I can imagine would be beautiful. We really did not use any of the amenities at the hotel, so cannot comment on the them. There is a lap pool and a small gift store for convenience. The hotel has a very contemporary look/feel to it, and the rooms were nice but not over the top. The bathrooms were quite spacious, but wished there were queen beds instead of doubles. There is a Panera across the street which was convenient for coffee/bagels in the morning. The hotel is dog friendly (for a steep fee!), with lots of grassy walking area just outside the door on the Rose Kennedy greenway. Valet parking is the only option for parking and is $40 per 24 hour period with in and out privileges. $14.95 per day for internet is annoying, but we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyBeach86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Location is on of the main reasons guest choose to stay at our hotel. Our location is very convenient - walking distance to many attractions such as Faneuil Hall, the New England Aquarium and the North End. Our staff strives to maintain our facilities and we are glad you enjoyed our stylish, modern guestrooms featuring state-of-the-art technology and lifestyle enhancing amenities that assist with work and play. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

The hotel is fantastic. Well worth it's five star rating. However, some of the staff are in a word rubbish. I went to the bell desk to arrange to have our luggage collected and after explaining 3 times I thought I had got through to him. Sadly I was wrong. When they hadn't shown up at the correct time I had to call down, it then took a full 15 minutes for someone to arrive. We were then left on the curb to sort our own transport. Eventually after another 15 minutes I managed to flag down a cab. Very poor service from a five star establishment that is supposed to be the flagship brand of the group. I've mentioned before I spend over 100 nights a year in hotels. This should have been the best of them all but sadly it wasn't. When I stayed in the same branded hotel in Paris it was outstanding. I can only give this 4 stars and I hope it was just unfortunate how we were treated whilst leaving. All the other staff encountered were outstanding. The bellmen and doormen weren't.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
We sincerely apologize for the service challenges you experienced during your stay. We strive to provide the highest level of service and in this instance we clearly were not able to meet your expectations. We truly regret the difficulties you experienced at the Bell Desk and overall during your stay. The problems you mentioned are certainly not the standards here at InterContinental Boston and we are taking the necessary steps to be sure problems like these do not happen in the future. Although we never want to learn that a guest has had a bad experience, comments such as yours allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements. We hope you will return in the future and give us a chance to reinstill your confidence in our hotel and our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The hotel was very nice. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Location was located within walking distance of Faneuil Hall and the North end. I would highly recommend. It does seem pretty pricey however we ended up getting a deal via priceline.com.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoops2441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our staff strives to exceed our guests’ expectation and we are glad you enjoyed our facilities. Location is one of the main reasons visitors choose to stay here. We are walking distance to famous Boston attractions such as Faneuil Hall and the North End. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Built to be an outstanding hotel. Excellent room design and ammenities. Best Intercontinental I have ever stayed and one of the best hotels in Boston for the price.
Walk to Faneuill Hall and cab or walk to North End. T stations nearby. Outstanding service.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We work hard to maintain our facilities and are glad you enjoyed our stylish, modern guestrooms featuring state-of-the-art technology and lifestyle enhancing amenities that assist with work and play. Our bathrooms are laden with luxuriating amenities that offer a spa-like experience and we are glad you enjoyed each detail we put into ensuring a relaxing and wonderful stay for our guests. Every detail in our accommodations allows each guest to rest or relax and provide the perfect getaway. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,824 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,506 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,041 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing