We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This was a long weekend getaway for myself, my husband and our two teenage grandchildren. Both children had been to Boston on school trips and felt they didn't have enough time to really appreciate the city, so we decided to take them back to see the things they had missed. My grandson who is 13, loved our hotel room. he even took pictures of it, telling us that when he was an adult this is how he wanted to decorate his apartment in NYC. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was great. The location was perfect. It was close to the RR STA, T and easy to walk to all sights. If you want a great place to stay, this is it.

Room Tip: This hotel is used by priceline, however if traveling with children there is no guarantee you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n2travelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed each detail we put into ensuring a relaxing and wonderful stay at our hotel. Every element of our property plays a part in your visit and we are so pleased to hear that we could provide your family with the perfect weekend getaway! We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,760
    874
    202
    73
    65
See reviews for
909
1,344
191
1,102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I'll admit up front I made a mistake in booking and showed up a night early for our one night stay. The front desk refused me a room after going back and forth with the reservation manager 3 times and said they couldn't accomodate me. Hardly any cars in the garage and the lobby was quiet as church. I am certain that if I hadn't booked through priceline and was paying full price, I would have received a room in a minute. He wasn't even able to look me in the eye. Learned my lesson about being more careful with reservations but would definitely never go back here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This is a new, modern hotel in the finiancial district of dowtown Boston, within a close walk to Quincy Market. It's clean, bright and beautiful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our only disappointment was that there was not free internet access and parking was $40/day. We booked on Priceline and saved a lot on cost of the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petiteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Boston! All of our employees work as a team to create the perfect, seamless visit for our guests. Our hotel’s prime location truly enhances our guests’ stay in Boston, and we are glad that you decided to explore the area! Next time you visit, stop by our Concierge for great ‘in the know’ tips about Boston. It is always great to hear that a guest had an amazing stay, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The hotel is located by the waterfront, a block away from the South Station Commuter Rail. It was super easy for us to get from Boston to Harvard Square Cambridge using the red line.

It was not as central to sites in Boston as I would like but still walkable - a little over a mile for both Faneuil Hall & Newbury Street.

The room was beautiful, nicely decorated with lots of room, floor to ceiling windows with great views.

The only weird thing was that there was a big window above the headboard that opened to the bathroom. Even with the sliding window closed, there was still a one inch gap at the bottom - so that you can see into the bathroom and can hear everything going on.

I was with my husband, so it didn't bother me but if I was staying there with a friend, I guess I would be self conscious using the bathroom ;)

Note: Internet is not free. Parking is 40$/night

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Boston! All of our employees work as a team to create the perfect, seamless visit for our guests. Our hotel’s prime location truly enhances our guests’ stay in Boston, and we are glad that you decided to explore the area! Next time you visit, stop by our Concierge for great ‘in the know’ tips about Boston. It is always great to hear that our guest had an amazing stay, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I'm part of the Ambassador program, so when I was upgraded to the 12th floor, I was excited, until I opened my blinds to see that I was looking at a brick wall. No big deal, didn't come to sit in my room. Front desk was very friendly, and helpful. My trip was cut short and they worked with me so I wouldn't have to pay for an extra night.

The worse experience was at Rumba. By no means waste your time here. We were not dressed up, so I guess I looked as if I couldn't afford to sit at their bar. I ended up tweeting INCBOS to tell them about the rude service, never was given a reply. However, if you tweet about arriving, they reply immediately. Overall, good stay, just stay out of their bar and you will be happy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Nice hotel, walking distance to Ouincy Market, Freedom Trail, Harbour, and North End.
The rooms are well appointed and very clean. We travelled as a family of four with two teens. Our room had two queen beds, plenty of space and a large bathroom with a walk in shower, soaking tub and vanity mirror.
We booked on Hotwire and stayed for a very good rate.
We ate breakfast at Panera bread. When you exit the building go left a couple of blocks.
We enjoyed parking the car down stairs and walking to everything for the three days of our stay.
The pool is located on the second floor, at the spa and gym area. We found it not to be too kid friendly. It's more of a lap pool than a kids on vacation pool.
If you have not stayed at a four and a half star before, check this out. It was a highlight of our vacation! Be sure to do the Boston Gliders Segway tour. It's a fun way to see the city!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keswickdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel! Our sophisticated, elegant guestrooms are the perfect fusion of beauty and practicality; a place where you can get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We are delighted you got a chance to visit our spa. Upon your next visit, hopefully you will have time to indulge in the calming atmosphere and various services we have to offer. We are thrilled that you had an amazing time on your family vacation at our hotel, and we hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

First Time to Boston and we had a great time
Stayed at the InterConti and it was great. Nice suite with great views and located within walking distance to everything you want to see in Boston. I would pay and do the Club Level if you can, free internet and at least you get a great breakfast before you explore this great city. Eveyone was great, a few hiccups but what do you expect. Some weird rules about their outdoor patio area and a LA attitude bar tender, but all in all a great hotel. Worth going and taking the family. Also a fantastic gym

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacificAndyLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Location is one of the main reasons visitors choose to stay with us. We are within walking distance to famous Boston attractions such as the New England Aquarium and Faneuil Hall. If you return during the warmer months the water taxi is a fantastic way of transportation to and from the airport. With a dock right behind our hotel it is convenient and a great way to tour the Boston waterfront during your ride. It is delightful to hear from guests who truly enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,630 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,283 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, TravelUp, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing