We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good if you've got some discount rate but lucking something here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sango-cho, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good if you've got some discount rate but lucking something here”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Sure, this hotel has some advantages for Boston travelers.
- Very close to Boston Airport (just one ride of "Silver Line")
- 4-5 minutes walk from Merto (Red Line - South Station)
- 10 minutes walk to Boston Common, Chinatown and some shopping/sight seeing area
- Good view of river
- Big, clean and comfortable room with enough amenities
- Luxurious restaurants/bars at lobby level

InterContinental Boston is rated as "4.5-star". From facility standpoint, they must have such items and I think this hotel reached that level. I really enjoyed the room itself. However, I didn't feel like 4.5-star from service standpoint. I don't say their service was bad. It was sufficient but still a bit far from 5-star class hotels I visited recently. I felt some distance with staff members in this hotel. (It is a bit difficult for me to explain.)

If you have got some discount rate (like $200/night with tax), I say "You should get it". You will be satisfied with this hotel. You cannot get such high-class hotels with this price in Boston usually. (I believe you can find this rate if you book in advance in some discount websites.)

But if you are paying it with standard rate (such as $300 or more for the normal room), you might be able to find better options in downtown area.

Overall, it is not bad at all but it might better to find another place if you are looking for some special occasions in Boston hotel stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrypapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We truly apologize that your expectations were not met. We are disappointed to hear that our service was not what you would expect from a property of our caliber. Please be assured that this is not the standard at InterContinental Boston and we will certainly share your input with our staff. It is comments like yours that give us a chance to reevaluate our property and services in order to ensure the best quality we can offer to our guests. We are glad to hear that you found our location and facilities ideal. As you experienced, we do offer one of the most generous sized standard hotel rooms in Boston at approximately 430 sq. ft. It is good to hear that you did enjoy our guestroom bathrooms laden with luxuriating amenities that offer a spa-like experience. We hope you will visit us again and give us a chance to reinstill your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,862
    888
    204
    75
    66
See reviews for
948
1,378
194
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We booked via hotwire and got a great rate for a one night stay in Boston. The hotel was clean, quiet, convinient to the waterfront, north end, and pub crawling. We were able to check in early and relax in the comfortable room. I loved the jacuzzi!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Location is one of the main reasons visitors select our hotel for their visit to Boston. We are within walking distance to famous Boston attractions such as Faneuil Hall and the North End. Not only are we close to the subway, but during the warmer months, the water taxi is a fantastic way of transportation to and from the airport that many guests do not know about. With a dock right behind our hotel it is convenient and a great way to tour the Boston waterfront during your ride. It is wonderful to hear from guests who truly enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I just hosted a meeting at the Intercontinental for 3 days and the venue was excellent. The service was outstanding - the staff truly went above and beyond to make sure our expectations were exceeded. The hotel is relatively new and within walking distance of a number of new restaurants in the Seaport District. It's also a short walk to Quincy Market (a popular tourist spot). The meeting room had floor to ceiling windows and a view of the water, which added to our experience (since we spent the majority of our time in the room). We had meals catered in the room and ate one meal at Miel (one of the restaurants onsite) and the food was delicious. We used the concierge quite a bit for reservations and the business center for some copying needs - both services were excellent. A number of us used the fitness center, which was a good size and had a great view of the greenway. I would definitely recommend it for business or leisure!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDC372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
We are ecstatic you had a fantastic stay at our hotel. Our staff is committed to providing an unforgettable experience for our guests and we are delighted that we were able to exceed you expectations for your meeting and stay. It is great to hear you enjoyed our high-tech meeting rooms featuring floor-to-ceiling windows that provide spectacular views of Boston’s waterfront and the city skyline, creating an atmosphere that is both productive and peaceful. At InterContinental Boston, we understand that location is an important part of our guests decision to choose to stay with us especially when time to explore the city and unwind is limited. It is great to hear we were able to provide you with impeccable service and a successful event. Thank you for you review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed at the hotel in September as part of a holiday in the USA with my partner.

Check in was easy and we were shown to our room, the room itself was a good size with a lovely view out on to the bay. The bathroom was again a good size but I did not like the shutters separating the bathroom from the bedroom. Its hard to describe the layout but basically at the end of the bed is a sliding shutter/window separating the bathroom. You can hear everything so make sure you travel with someone you know very well!!!

Overall the room was comfortable and well furnished, the cable TV had plenty of choice including HBO.

We ordered room service twice during our stay, it arrived quickly and was surprisingly very good.

The hotel is large and a little too corporate for my liking, I like a little bit of character to hotels which I believe is lacking here. That said the staff were friendly helpful and attentive.

One major pain, is that the changing rooms for the swimming pool are quite some distance from the pool meaning you have to walk in your wet swim wear.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rileyspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for posting your review. We pride ourselves on providing great service, great rooms and great food. With regard to your comments regarding the room design, not all rooms offer the opaque sliding shutter between the bathroom and the bedroom. While this design element allows the room to feel open, we understand that it might be an uncomfortable feature in certain circumstances. In designing our rooms, the vision was for them to be comfortable, nicely appointed and spacious and in so doing we offer one of the most generous sized standard hotel rooms in Boston at average 430 sq. ft. Regarding the swimming pool, we do offer complimentary robes at the spa (where the pool is located). We apologize that you hadn’t received one which would have getting to/from the pool to the spa changing room much cozier and more comfortable. We hope we can welcome you back should you visit Boston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights on business, it's a great hotel. I travel in the US on business and sometimes do these reviews. Firstly it's close enough to most of Boston, but not to close to noise etc. Easy to get around and the silver line from the airport is a 2 min walk. I get expenses so could use any mode, but this is quicker and easy.

The hotel is stunning, it should not be anything but 5 stars on tripadvisor. The bars, lobby and rooms are great. I'm in a river view, which is pretty big and a great bathroom. The gym and pool are great. The staff are all helpful, couldn't do enough. I can't rate the room highly enough.

Sushi is very good, as is the bar. I would stay here again, and will.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintmarkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed each detail we put into ensuring a relaxing and wonderful stay at our hotel. Every element of our property plays a part in your visit and we are so pleased to hear that we could provide you with the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. At InterContinental Boston, our staff works hard to ensure that your first visit is never your last, and we are delighted that you plan on staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I LOVE this brand. Never had a bad experience. Service is always exceptional and food is always good. It's like a JW wrapped in a W rolled into a Grand Haytt. The staff is like a Ritz without the attitude and the feel is like a W without the wanna-be's in the lobby (you know the type Justine Bebe look-a-likes). The Boston Intercon has a great location, right on the water, walking distance to lots; even from South Station if you're not hauling a lot of luggage. Great for business and leisure. Meeting space is convenient and the pre-function space is wide enough that multiple groups have space.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an water view in the summer but city in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beantownchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. Being apart of such a prestigious hotel company such as InterContinental Hotels & Resorts, we are delighted we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. Our staff strives to create unforgettable experiences for our guests and it is great to hear we were able to provide you with exceptional services and facilities. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Really beautiful hotel right on the waterfront. Modern design (hotel built in 2006) with very spacious rooms. That was really a plus for us, because being cramped (especially travelling with a 1 year old!) is always something we're concerned about in city hotels.
We had chosen this hotel, in part, due to it's proximity to the aquarium area - a short nice walk down the boardwalk.
The room was gorgeous, with a lavish, large bathroom. We did pay a little extra for an ocean view.
3 restaurants in the hotel - we went to just one routinely, Miel, for breakfast and dinner. Really just superb. I can't say enough good things about this hotel.
To be fair, though, it's not perfect. Firstly, it is a little pricey. And they don't currently offer free Wi-fi, which I think is a little silly. However - it was a blessing, though, to have some time away from the computers.

Highly recommended - we will surely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parsely115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for posting your review. We’re glad that you had a good visit to our hotel and that you were pleased with the size of your room and bathroom in addition to our waterfront location. As you experienced, we do offer one of the most generous sized standard hotel rooms in Boston at approximately 430 sq. ft. And, our Miel Chef de Cuisine David Chinta was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner experiences in Miel. While we do not currently offer complimentary Wi-Fi, we are looking into this for our property. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,862 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,696 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing