We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
CLT
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love the rooms”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My wife and I seem to conflict on which type of hotels are our favourites. She likes classic old school and I love modern big. Well the InterContinental Boston meets my list. Great big confortable modern rooms with amazing views and all the best features. The location is close to all the tourist spots within walking distance to most. The staff look after us well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Boston! Our sophisticated, elegant guestrooms and facilities are the perfect fusion of beauty and practicality; a place where you can get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. All of our employees work as a team to create the perfect, seamless visit for our guests. Thank you for your review and we hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,760
    874
    202
    73
    65
See reviews for
909
1,344
191
1,102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stamford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Arrived and there was a huge line for check-in. No Priority Club or Ambassador check-in either. Same issue upon departure.

Upgraded to a very nice suite with a lovely view of a rooftop!

It's one of those places that does certain things really well and then let's themselves down on the simple things like having no staff in the Club Lounge during the 'quiet' period (middle of day) so if you happen to go in, you will find dirty tables, nothing in the fridges etc.

Not what I expect of an InterContinental branded hotel, especially given the price per night.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairLady80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for posting your review. We truly apologize for the service challenges you encountered during your stay with us. We strive to provide the highest level of service and in this instance we clearly were not able to meet your expectations. The problems you mentioned regarding check in and departure are certainly not the standards here at InterContinental Boston and although we never want to learn that a guest has had a bad experience, comments such as yours allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements. In regards to the club lounge, there is an attendant staffed at the desk in the morning for breakfast and evening for hors d'oeuvres. We do have staff that replenish and tend to the lounge throughout the day and we apologize for the oversight during your visit. We will certainly share your comments with our team to ensure that the issues you faced are corrected. We hope you will return in the future and give us a chance to ‘wow’ you and reinstill your confidence in our hotel and our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel this month on a quick business trip. We arrived late on the Saturday night and check in was as simple as ever, the only issue was they (the hotel staff) put both rooms in my travel companions name which confused the billing quite a lot. The room was fine, not extremely large but as a city goes it was good, plenty of space really for one person. It was very clean and I have to say was well decorated and kept very well.
The bathroom was a great size and like other reviewers I did not like the shutter separating the bathroom from the bedroom. Overall the room was very comfortable and well furnished, the TV had plenty of choice. We did dine in the bar the 1st night and had a single appetizer with two beers which cost us over $55 bucks which was expensive.
The hotel is a large city hotel and lacks charter really, the staff could do better to make you feel more at home but location and comfort was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaMurguia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that check-in was seamless but do apologize for the trouble with billing. The InterContinental Boston staff strives to maintain our facilities and guestrooms and create a memorable experience for our guests. Our bathrooms are laden with luxuriating amenities that offer a spa-like experience and we are glad you enjoyed each detail we put into ensuring a relaxing and wonderful stay for our guests. We do believe our hotel has unique story and we try to share that with our guests to make their experience unforgettable. One way we do try to share our hotel’s character is with our lobby art exhibits. For example, last year there were bronze and steel animal sculptures by an Essex sculptor scattered throughout our lobby. We have different exhibits from local artists every 6 months or so and most recent exhibit featured art from Broadway star, Tommy Tune. We hope you will visit us again and give us a chance to give you a truly InterContinental experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Hotel is is nice location, very friendly staff. Large bathrooms! Easy walking to lots of Boston, great restaurants nearby. Very quiet rooms. Nice lobby rum bar. We enjoyed 3 nights here, thanks again!

Room Tip: Stayed on top floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildcatgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
It is always great to hear from a guest who truly enjoyed their stay at our hotel. At InterContinental Boston, we know that good service and convenient location are two of the top concerns of our guests and we are glad we were able to provide you with both. We are delighted you had a chance to experience RumBa, our sassy rum-themed bar serving international distilled rums, appetizers, and mixes of Latin and Caribbean music. Also in our lobby, we feature an international feast of chic restaurants and bars that reflect a journey around the world. Our Provence themed brasserie, Miel "Brasserie Provençale" celebrates the intoxicating flavors of France’s Côte d’Azur. East meets West at Sushi-Teq, a chic salsa bar pairing sushi with vintage tequila. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I returned to Intercontinental Boston for the second time after having such a wonderful experience on my first visit. The hotel is in a great location - 2 blocks to the South Street Station, which has easy access to Logan airport, the red subway line, and Amtrak and commuter rails. 3 blocks up to Quincy Market/Faneuil Hall, and a few more blocks past that to the North End. The hotel staff has always been professional and courteous and never failed to meet my needs. Concierge staff was quick with directions and suggestions for dinner. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The gym has a good amount of cardio equipment and weights - one of the best hotel gyms I have seen in a while. The hotel itself is just beautiful. Alot of marble and wood, fireplaces in the lobby with several different seating areas to just sit and relax. The in-lobby bar, RumBar had a nice atmosphere as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Boston, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at our property. As a guest who has previously stayed at our hotel, it is extremely gratifying knowing that we have once again provided you with an unforgettable stay. It is great to hear our concierge staff was able to provide you with great In The Know tips about Boston. Did you know our hotel was built on the site where the Boston Tea Party took place in 1773? The next time you visit, be sure to explore The Tea Party Museum opening in 2012. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sango-cho, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Sure, this hotel has some advantages for Boston travelers.
- Very close to Boston Airport (just one ride of "Silver Line")
- 4-5 minutes walk from Merto (Red Line - South Station)
- 10 minutes walk to Boston Common, Chinatown and some shopping/sight seeing area
- Good view of river
- Big, clean and comfortable room with enough amenities
- Luxurious restaurants/bars at lobby level

InterContinental Boston is rated as "4.5-star". From facility standpoint, they must have such items and I think this hotel reached that level. I really enjoyed the room itself. However, I didn't feel like 4.5-star from service standpoint. I don't say their service was bad. It was sufficient but still a bit far from 5-star class hotels I visited recently. I felt some distance with staff members in this hotel. (It is a bit difficult for me to explain.)

If you have got some discount rate (like $200/night with tax), I say "You should get it". You will be satisfied with this hotel. You cannot get such high-class hotels with this price in Boston usually. (I believe you can find this rate if you book in advance in some discount websites.)

But if you are paying it with standard rate (such as $300 or more for the normal room), you might be able to find better options in downtown area.

Overall, it is not bad at all but it might better to find another place if you are looking for some special occasions in Boston hotel stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrypapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We truly apologize that your expectations were not met. We are disappointed to hear that our service was not what you would expect from a property of our caliber. Please be assured that this is not the standard at InterContinental Boston and we will certainly share your input with our staff. It is comments like yours that give us a chance to reevaluate our property and services in order to ensure the best quality we can offer to our guests. We are glad to hear that you found our location and facilities ideal. As you experienced, we do offer one of the most generous sized standard hotel rooms in Boston at approximately 430 sq. ft. It is good to hear that you did enjoy our guestroom bathrooms laden with luxuriating amenities that offer a spa-like experience. We hope you will visit us again and give us a chance to reinstill your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We booked via hotwire and got a great rate for a one night stay in Boston. The hotel was clean, quiet, convinient to the waterfront, north end, and pub crawling. We were able to check in early and relax in the comfortable room. I loved the jacuzzi!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Location is one of the main reasons visitors select our hotel for their visit to Boston. We are within walking distance to famous Boston attractions such as Faneuil Hall and the North End. Not only are we close to the subway, but during the warmer months, the water taxi is a fantastic way of transportation to and from the airport that many guests do not know about. With a dock right behind our hotel it is convenient and a great way to tour the Boston waterfront during your ride. It is wonderful to hear from guests who truly enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,629 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,282 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing