We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed at the Intercontinental for a business trip. The room was beautiful. Modern with great features. Shower was exceptional. Bed very comfortable, and nice sized flat screen TV. The hotels location was great. Close to plenty of restaurants and the Freedom Trail. Staff was very helpful and courteous. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netminder_60490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear from a guest who truly enjoys their stay. Our staff strives to upkeep and maintain our facilities to exceed our guests expectations and we are delighted you indulged in our stylish, modern guestrooms featuring state-of-the-art technology and lifestyle enhancing amenities that assist with work and play. Our bathrooms are laden with luxuriating amenities that offer a spa-like experience and we are glad you enjoyed each detail we put into ensuring a relaxing and wonderful stay for our guests. At InterContinental Boston, our staff works hard to ensure that your first visit is never your last, and we are thrilled that you plan on staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,878
    890
    206
    75
    66
See reviews for
954
1,385
194
1,141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I had been on the road 3 weeks, with 2 more to go and finally had a free Sunday. I flew my wife up from Alabama to have a romantic night and this hotel worked out perfectly. We were quickly greeted by a nice valet, who helped us with our bags up to the Front Desk. The Desk agent was nice and upgraded me to a Harborview room being a Plat Priority club member. The same valet brought my bags up to my room. When we walked in we were shocked. Huge, Huge!! Clean room. Massive King size bed and a bathroom that looked like it was something from a Spa. The room was well appointed with a fully stocked Mini Bar, K Cup machine and bath robes. Great bed and good TV selection. We walked downstairs to start to go explore the city when we were stopped by a very nice concierge. Who offered us a great map of Boston, and good eating recommendations, and even gave us an umbrella to use because it was drizzling out. When we got back( 1am) the Front Desk was still fully staffed and very welcoming. We went down to Breakfast and although very expensive the omelets were to die for. This is truly a gem of the Holiday Inn brand and would never hesitate to stay here again.

Thanks InterContinental Boston for making my one day off memorable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RugglesC1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for posting your review. We’re glad that you had a good visit to our hotel and that you were pleased with the size of your room and bathroom in addition to our waterfront location. As you experienced, we do offer one of the most generous sized standard hotel rooms in Boston at approximately 430 sq. ft. And, our Miel Chef de Cuisine David Chinta was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast experience in our restaurant. Miel ‘Brasserie Provençale’ celebrates the flavors of Southern France with delicious cuisine. Next time you visit, be sure to try Miel’s brunch featuring delectable dishes such as Crab Cake Benedict and Crispy Fried Challah French Toast that will have you truly fall in love with Miel. We are trilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I stayed here for two nights for a client in the area. I am a member of the Ambassador Club even though I don't normally spend time in InterContinentals themselves, rather, the offer to join came through membership in their Priority One club, which I do rack up a lot of points with. So it came as somewhat of a surprise when perk after perk was offered to me during my stay!

First off, I had booked a king bed. I get to my room, and it's a corner suite overlooking a channel and beyond to the Harbor. Absolutely gorgeous views! I had far too much space for just one person, but it was extremely comfortable, with a wonderful bed, terrific linens and a bathroom with a huge jacuzzi tub and full shower. Clean, well cared for, and well designed room that was also very quiet and private.

The public spaces are very modern, and the lounge offers a nice menu and impressive list of wines, beers, and spirits. I got in quite late and needed to unwind, so I went and had a glass of wine and a club sandwich. It came with french string fries that were cooked in truffle oil and delicately spiced with salt, pepper and a bit of chive. AMAZING. The service was great and everyone very friendly and attentive.

One perk that was absolutely wonderful was late checkout at 4pm! Since my flight didn't leave 'til the evening, this allowed me to invite some friends over to my suite and have a lunch, giving us enough time to visit in comfort. We ordered from room service, we all had grilled cheese and those fantastic fries, and it was just a great time.

All my needs - rides, concierge service, business services - were available and nothing was left unattended. The service and style of InterContinental Hotels are generally excellent, Boston is no exception. Not typically my favorite type of hotel (I tend to prefer a less luxurious and expensive environment) but certainly would stay again for a client. While the expense was significant, the quality of services and perks received made it not unreasonable for future consideration.

Room Tip: Corner suites facing the water for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
It is always great to hear from a guest who truly enjoyed their stay at our hotel. At InterContinental Boston, we know that good service and convenient location are two of the top concerns of our guests and we are glad we were able to provide you with both. We are delighted you had a chance to experience RumBa, our sassy rum-themed bar serving international distilled rums, appetizers, and mixes of Latin and Caribbean music. Also in our lobby, we feature an international feast of chic restaurants and bars that reflect a journey around the world. Our Provence themed brasserie, Miel "Brasserie Provençale" celebrates the intoxicating flavors of France’s Côte d’Azur. East meets West at Sushi-Teq, a chic salsa bar pairing sushi with vintage tequila. Each detail of our hotel is an integral part of our story. Next time you visit, be sure to explore The Tea Party Museum, opening in 2012, and you will be able to experience how elaborately InterContinental Boston’s story is steeped in history. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLT
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My wife and I seem to conflict on which type of hotels are our favourites. She likes classic old school and I love modern big. Well the InterContinental Boston meets my list. Great big confortable modern rooms with amazing views and all the best features. The location is close to all the tourist spots within walking distance to most. The staff look after us well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Boston! Our sophisticated, elegant guestrooms and facilities are the perfect fusion of beauty and practicality; a place where you can get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. All of our employees work as a team to create the perfect, seamless visit for our guests. Thank you for your review and we hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Arrived and there was a huge line for check-in. No Priority Club or Ambassador check-in either. Same issue upon departure.

Upgraded to a very nice suite with a lovely view of a rooftop!

It's one of those places that does certain things really well and then let's themselves down on the simple things like having no staff in the Club Lounge during the 'quiet' period (middle of day) so if you happen to go in, you will find dirty tables, nothing in the fridges etc.

Not what I expect of an InterContinental branded hotel, especially given the price per night.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairLady80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for posting your review. We truly apologize for the service challenges you encountered during your stay with us. We strive to provide the highest level of service and in this instance we clearly were not able to meet your expectations. The problems you mentioned regarding check in and departure are certainly not the standards here at InterContinental Boston and although we never want to learn that a guest has had a bad experience, comments such as yours allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements. In regards to the club lounge, there is an attendant staffed at the desk in the morning for breakfast and evening for hors d'oeuvres. We do have staff that replenish and tend to the lounge throughout the day and we apologize for the oversight during your visit. We will certainly share your comments with our team to ensure that the issues you faced are corrected. We hope you will return in the future and give us a chance to ‘wow’ you and reinstill your confidence in our hotel and our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel this month on a quick business trip. We arrived late on the Saturday night and check in was as simple as ever, the only issue was they (the hotel staff) put both rooms in my travel companions name which confused the billing quite a lot. The room was fine, not extremely large but as a city goes it was good, plenty of space really for one person. It was very clean and I have to say was well decorated and kept very well.
The bathroom was a great size and like other reviewers I did not like the shutter separating the bathroom from the bedroom. Overall the room was very comfortable and well furnished, the TV had plenty of choice. We did dine in the bar the 1st night and had a single appetizer with two beers which cost us over $55 bucks which was expensive.
The hotel is a large city hotel and lacks charter really, the staff could do better to make you feel more at home but location and comfort was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaMurguia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that check-in was seamless but do apologize for the trouble with billing. The InterContinental Boston staff strives to maintain our facilities and guestrooms and create a memorable experience for our guests. Our bathrooms are laden with luxuriating amenities that offer a spa-like experience and we are glad you enjoyed each detail we put into ensuring a relaxing and wonderful stay for our guests. We do believe our hotel has unique story and we try to share that with our guests to make their experience unforgettable. One way we do try to share our hotel’s character is with our lobby art exhibits. For example, last year there were bronze and steel animal sculptures by an Essex sculptor scattered throughout our lobby. We have different exhibits from local artists every 6 months or so and most recent exhibit featured art from Broadway star, Tommy Tune. We hope you will visit us again and give us a chance to give you a truly InterContinental experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Hotel is is nice location, very friendly staff. Large bathrooms! Easy walking to lots of Boston, great restaurants nearby. Very quiet rooms. Nice lobby rum bar. We enjoyed 3 nights here, thanks again!

Room Tip: Stayed on top floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildcatgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
It is always great to hear from a guest who truly enjoyed their stay at our hotel. At InterContinental Boston, we know that good service and convenient location are two of the top concerns of our guests and we are glad we were able to provide you with both. We are delighted you had a chance to experience RumBa, our sassy rum-themed bar serving international distilled rums, appetizers, and mixes of Latin and Caribbean music. Also in our lobby, we feature an international feast of chic restaurants and bars that reflect a journey around the world. Our Provence themed brasserie, Miel "Brasserie Provençale" celebrates the intoxicating flavors of France’s Côte d’Azur. East meets West at Sushi-Teq, a chic salsa bar pairing sushi with vintage tequila. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,868 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,713 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,307 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing