We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Facilities & Front Line Staff but Managers Need to be More Attentive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel has so many good features including proximity to the city and waterfront, well appointed rooms, a superb bar with a great ambiance, efficient check in, great housekeeping staff and many good leisure and restaurant facilities. Restaurant and Bar service standards are good but not great for a hotel of this standard and do not compare to other Intercontinental hotels we have used. The exception to this comment is Dragon - a truly impressive bar tender whose skill, efficiency, diligence and deep commitment to customer service was second to none. If the managers were more attentive, they would spot the fact that there should be dressing gowns in the rooms, butter and side plates on the breakfast tables, that customers should be offered orange juice at breakfast and not have to request it. All the small details that set an Intercontinental hotel apart from mass market alternatives.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Bridgehouse_10,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I appreciate and value your detailed feedback and have addressed your comments with the management team. We aim for the utmost satisfaction of all our guests and are always striving to provide the highest level of service. I hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations and stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,291 - 3,297 of 4,694 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Superb hotel - great entrance lobby/reception area. Staff very helpful and friendly. We booked into one of the Club rooms so had the Club Lounge facility. Charles was asbsolutely fantastic - he looked after us expertly and absolutely made our stay.
Rooms are great - modern, clean and spacious.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Pay for a club room, it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catkimbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Intercontinental is a relatively new hotel and one of the better in the line in which I have stayed recently. The rooms are clean and functional with relatively good work space for business travel. There are lots of restaurants nearby and the ones in the hotel are not half bad. Great for runners and walkers as the big dig greenway is right out the front door.

Room Tip: They charge for water view, which I have never found worth it but otherwise they are fairly consiste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatworthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear tatworthington,

Thank you very much for your review. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel as we pride ourselves in providing a seamless environment for business travelers. We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Boston!

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We spent a night at the InterContinental Boston in November and had a nice visit. The hotel is close to the waterfront, seaport, and fairly close downtown. It's very modern and the room was nicely updated. The bathroom can open into the bedroom which was something new. We liked the Rhum bar (great selection of rums) and had a nice but expensive brunch on Sunday morning. I'm IHG platinum and was disappointed that my room wasn't upgraded since the hotel seemed very empty. More disappointing was that about an hour after we checked in someone walked into our room with their bags. Apparently they were checked into our room and given the keys to our room. Awkward moment to say the least. The front desk manager was apologetic but there wasn't much she could do but assure us it wouldn't happen again.

Room Tip: Deadbolt your door they check people into occupied rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear BostonFisher,

Thank you for reviewing InterContinental Boston. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay we very much appreciate your loyalty to IHG as a Platinum Rewards Club member. I am sorry that there was no further upgrade upon your visit; we do aim to provide this whenever possible and I regret that we were not able to on this occasion. Furthermore, I sincerely apologize for the mistaken keys given to another guest. We do take this very seriously; I can assure you it is not up to our standards. If you would like to discuss this matter any further I would be happy to have you contact me directly; I truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

During a recent weekend stay at the Boston Intercontinental with my wife we were treated to the type of world class hospitality we heard they are known for. The front desk agent, Afeliya "Ophelia" Muradian, in particular delivered what can only be called OUTSTANDING customer service. She couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating from the moment we arrived. We had no set agenda or plans for the weekend, we asked Afeliya for a suggestion or two and she walked us to the concierge desk and stayed there with us to help further explore the various options of events and hotspots available to us. She took the time to ask relevant questions about our preferences to better match her suggestions with what she thought we would enjoy. What struck us most about her efforts was the obvious sincerity in her desire to truly help make our stay memorable.

We are not in the habit of following up on customer service websites or questionnaires, but her professionalism and extremely attentive demeanor throughout our entire stay simply could not go in acknowledged.

Signed,

Steve & Deborah

PS- the guest service supervisor, Evan Turell,,was also incredibly helpful and friendly, as well as the ast bar manager, Adam Liss.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Steve & Deborah,

It is truly a pleasure to read your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience in such detail; it means a lot to know that each member of our team was able to impact your visit so significantly. I hope you will stay with us again soon!

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This Intercontinental is a gem of a hotel. Excellent location (right by south station and the harbor, can walk to many great boston areas easily) lovely restaurants nearby, and great food in the hotel as well (e.g., sushi tech is terrific), lovely spacious rooms, and FABULOUS staff.
The staff is incredibly well trained, kind, and always professional. Evan Turell is especially terrific: gracious, professional and generous. I've stayed at hotels all around the world and many of them in the IHG brand family. Just came back from the one in London, for example. It was good, but nothing close to this one in Boston.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a Harbor view, it is lovely in all seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Beautiful hotel, very convenient to most sightseeing and airport. Walked to Knob Hill and Quincy Market. Ate at hotel in very nice restaurant and around corner at Smith and Wollinsky. Walked part of the Freedom Trail. Freat place to stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
4,994 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 86 in Boston
1,987 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 86 in Boston
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,453 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £149 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing