We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bars Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Bars Ever”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Been to RumBa and Sushi-Teq tons of times. Staff are super engaging and food/drink quality superbly consistent. You have to have a spicy-tune roll from Sushi-Teq. It's the best in Boston.

RumBa's food is very comforting but nothing beats a glass of wine by the fire (if you are lucky enough to grab a seat by the fireplace). This is a must-have experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,702
    863
    200
    73
    65
See reviews for
892
1,318
189
1,078
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed at the Intercontinental the very first time I came to Boston and I have stayed there every time since. The service is amazing and the rooms are beautiful. The location is so convenient. You're within walking distance to great restaurants and bars, but one of the things that I love about the Intercontinental is that you don't have to go far for a great evening experience. The hotel has a great French and Sushi restaurant, as well as, a fun and relaxing bar in the lobby and along the harbor (amazing atmosphere and views). I will definitely continue to stay here whenever I visit Boston.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I found this to be an average 4-star hotel - not 5-star. I was mostly confused by how noisy it was - not because of anything outside or even because of guests (even thought door-slamming was abundant), but because of the staff. They'd walk around all night with walkie-talkie type things that would beep LOUDLY and then the volume of people talking back to them was so obnoxious. Must have woken me up about every hour or so.

The room, again, was average except that I found the bathroom to be very nice. What I did not like were the sliding windows on the wall between the bathroom and bedroom. This takes away the privacy that you'd normally have in the bathroom. In addition, if I got up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, the light and noise would certainly wake up anyone else in the room. It's such an odd design concept and would keep me from choosing to stay again.

$40-something for valet parking was odd since the parking isn't even valet parking. Normally you'd pull up to the hotel, someone would greet you, offer to help with luggage, and then take your car. At this hotel, you have to drive down into the basement where no one is there to greet you, help you with luggage, take your car, point you in the right direction, or anything else.

The plus here is that it is in a good location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear W W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback; I am so sorry that your stay was less than perfect. We are fully aware of how important a good night’s sleep is and our staff in the hallways certainly should not have affected this by any means. We very much appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we have taken measures to ensure that this issue does not repeat itself.

The sliding window between the bathroom and bedroom is a unique feature which we do understand is not to everyone’s liking. I regret that this, too, had such a negative impact on your stay. If you would be willing to give us another chance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the email address below.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

this hotel has very nicely appointed rooms,however, quality control on the upkeep of the room was sorely lacking. the room had the following problems, the remote control did not work, there was no cream and sweetners for the coffee, maybe because they knew the coffeemaker did not work anyway,. there was no extra roll of toilet paper.
the other problems with this socalled five star property were, the movie cut out in the middle, they tried to charge for a minibar item which was not taken, they charged extra for a room with a water view, when all you could see is a small piece of water over a roof and the wall of another part of the hotel. the charge for parking was excessive $43.00 for overnight.

Room Tip: find a more reasonable priced hotel with free parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1douglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear 1douglas,

It is very upsetting to read your review and I’m sorry there were so many problems upon your recent stay. We do hope to turn this around and I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss these matters with you personally. Please email me directly at the address below at your earliest convenience.

Thank you in advance,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My recent stay at the hotel was excellent. I recently stayed here for 1 night, it's a great hotel. I've stayed here once before. Firstly it's close enough to most of Boston, but not to close to noise etc, a short pleasant walk from the busy areas. The hotel is stunning, it should not be anything but 5 stars on tripadvisor. The bars, lobby and rooms are great. The gym and pool are lovely, open early until late. The rooms are big, modern and all the facilities you could want. River or City views are nice. The bathroom is nice too, plus the room has lots of seating. Beds and pillows are important to me, this hotel has them both perfect. Top quality.!! The staff at the front desk are all helpful, as well as the reservation manager couldn't do enough. I can't rate the room highly enough. Sushi is very good, as is the bar. I would stay here again, and will.

Room Tip: Both city view and harbor view are equally great! It's personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celiao541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I have stayed at the InterContinental Boston on multiple occasions and it has always been a delightful experience.

1- The service is excellent and extremely professional yet accessible.
2- The rooms are very spacious, very great furniture and large marble bathroom
3- The location is extremely convenient; walking distance from the waterfront area and the financial district. South Station is 2 blocks away and makes it very easy to use Boston's efficient public transportation system to get anywhere you need to go to.

InterContinental Boston is a great hotel in a great city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

For this review VIP is VERY IMPRESSIVE PROPERTY...

I have not stayed at another hotels in Boston, why would I ?. This hotel is modern and a staff so far above the rest, its in the future zone of hospitality.

Great location for what I wanted>Lobster Roll. 100 feet away. Plus every other attraction you and your family would want to see.

Thanks for an awesome stay......

Room Tip: penthouse suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,564 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,163 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing