We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a really nice hotel by the water. It isn't everybody's ideal location but I really liked it.

My room was first class. Large, great facilities, bathroom a standout - good bench space, shower and bath. Service was excellent.

Room had plenty of storage and the desk location made it a really pleasant and productive spot to work.

Hotel breakfast was expensive, but good. There is a lot to see in Boston, but you may not wish to leave your room.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are absolutely fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,008 - 3,014 of 4,573 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

This a very good hotel, you can say it is with the Intercontinental quality. The room is big even the standards ones. Very comfy and clean. Not so far to the QUincy Market, you can go easuly go wlaking.
The only "negative" point is the location, a little bit far from Copley Sqr.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OA_Photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear OA_Photography,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While we’re pleased that you enjoyed the property, I am sorry that the location is not ideal for you. Boston certainly continues to develop and the Seaport and Fort Point area have become notably more popular for both residents and tourists! I do hope you will stay with us again in the future and have a chance to explore our surroundings even further.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

As a family from various parts of the East Coast, we decided to do a family get together and be touristS. I booked by way of Jet Blue for the combined air and hotel option. This was a beatiful hotel that sits right on the water. That staff was super and fulfilled our every wish. I want to extend a special thank you to Marc and Luis for the arrangement of our tourist outings.The hotel is clean. I read all the comments about the odd bathroom.....and it really wasn't a problem at all. The bath tub was wonderful. We enjoyed the main bar in the lobby. The outside patio was chilly, but well worth spending time there. I am a member of the loyality program and got free internet in the room. It's worth joining the program for this option. It was an easy walk to a good number of nearby attractions. And the hotel is right on the river walk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear NCSandy,

We appreciate your compliments of our hotel and staff! It is wonderful to know that the JetBlue combination package was a worthwhile booking option and our team is more than happy to have helped make it a great visit to Boston. I have shared your comments with Marc and Luis, thank you for taking the time to recognize them. Furthermore, it is always nice to know that our IHG Rewards Club members are taking advantage of the program’s benefits, especially the complimentary internet. Thank you again for your great feedback; we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel is very comfortable, well placed for visiting the Boston Tea Party museum and catching the trolley for the city tour. good spacious rooms, big shower and bathtub, professional staff BUT do not eat there, food was over priced, tasteless and not worth the trouble of booking a table. Go next door to the steak house which is excellent, turn right out of rear entrance walk a few minutes to a very acceptable steak house. Just along the road from Tea Party museum is a fire museum and just further along is a restaurant called Sportellla(?) don't be put off by the sport bit as it is a great place for lunch, homemade pasta and great atmosphere.

Room Tip: overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yb1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Well, it certainly wasn't the "INTERCONTINENTAL" then, but so much history engulfs this whole area, and this is one of our favorite Boston hotels. We stayed overnight two Saturdays before Marathon Monday for a business meet. We hadn't stayed at this hotel since it opened many years ago, but the same excellence of service and elegance awaited us. A bit about the hotel:
Oversized rooms, pullout couches if needed still allowing space to move around, European converter outlet in Bathroom if needed, separate large soaking tub, with many and generous room amenities; Xtra large walkin shower with "rainhead"; one sink but plenty of counter space. Very comfortable beds and excellent pillows, robe, slippers, mini refer, keurig with ^ (not 4) K cups; tea; fruit in room, great deadbolt lock for security (not that its needed but great touch).

Parking: you can valet and they park your car in garage in basement of hotel; you take an elevator straight down to garage. Parking charge ($44) is for a 24 hour period. If you choose, you can park around the corner from the hotel at Atlantic Wharf parking for $ 10 for weekend, but you will have to shclep your luggage down 1 block and around the corner, then down 2 blocks. Don't recall if this is offered in summer busy months so check it out if interested. We just like the convenience of parking at the hotel.
Location: The hotel is near the Children's Museum, Atlantic Beer Garden, Boston Convention Center, Rita Margarita's, North End (all a few blocks walking or cabbing). But there are restaurants not only in hotel which are great, but out the door to the three steps to the left is "Trade"(Contemporary Mediterranean ) and "Nebo's" (Italian). Out the door at to the right is James Hooks :"Lobster Shack". If you want authentic Boston Lobster roll this is the best. No ambience, just great take out or ship out. For a more upscale affair, out the door to the right and across the street is fabulous "Palms" Restaurant. (Reservations recommended) All local digs within easy walking distance.
Out the back of the hotel is Boston Harborwalk and Fort Point Historical Channel. Great for a morning or evening walk or run. Then You have access to the water taxi, and if in a walking mood, walk Atlantic and Congress streets (picture a horseshoe with those streets on either side), with much to see and do and eat for a brisk 5 or so blocks...restaurants, Boston tea Party Ship and Museum, boston Fire house Museum, and the New England Aquarium, and Children's Museum. I offer all these points of interest in reviewing the hotel in hopes it helps families and travelers giving them a perspective of where the hotel is located in relation to other sites and restaurants which I so long for when we go to a new city. This is just a great place to stay and although on the expensive side, you really get what you pay for here. Staff, security, service, and libations. Did I mention the Rum and Champagne bar on premise ? Spa anyone? They have a great one! Enjoy. We did.

Room Tip: higher up is better if you can get it, and face the water side for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Marilyn K,

We can’t thank you enough for your outstanding review. I’m thrilled that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our remarkable, historic surroundings. Our location is surely a hot spot of Boston as the Seaport and Fort Point Channel continue to grow at a rapid pace…if you didn't have a chance to cram everything in on your recent visit you’ll have to come back again soon!

Best regards,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent one night at the Intercontinental, we enjoy being in Boston, and this is a Staycation location for us. Would have enjoyed the experience more had the weather been better, but its New England and we can't always have what we want. So, thanks to the staff, the doorman Ivan, and the bellman, made us feel very special. We will surely come back again soon to enjoy the beautiful harbor! Loved the tub!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beached101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Beached101,

While we are sorry to say we cannot do anything about the weather, our team is at your service to take your mind off the dreary New England climate. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and recognize Ivan and the Front Door staff. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and will do our best to ensure the sunny skies for your next visit!

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Spouse and I, along with adult son, greatly enjoyed a four-day stay here for the Boston Marathon, in which son ran. This review is longer than my usual comments as there are so many good things to say, and two caveats.

Check in was speedy, and as Ambassadors we were given complementary access to the Club (which worth paying for.) We had a two double-bedded room (not queen), overlooking the city - our choice of view. Street-side might be a bit noisier than water-side, (being across the street from a fire house) but is so much more interesting.

Beds were comfortable, water was hot, drainage was speedy, soaking tub was deep enough for son to actually soak and ease aching body after race. Bathroom had separate shower stall as well. Bathroom amenities well-sized and up-market. Lovely.

A special shout-out to the Club Room staff, especially Charles Strong, who is genuinely welcoming and caring. He made sure our son had an extra banana each day. Breakfast offerings were extensive, fresh, and delicious: smoked salmon, cheese, eggs, bacon, fruits, bread, rolls, pastries, jams, cereal, yogurt, coffee, and tea. More than anyone could wish for.

Club also offers small desserts and cookies in the afternoon. Also, evening canapes, cheese, raw veg as well as beer, wine, alcohol - serve yourself, no charge.

I enjoyed some spa services, and had access to the steam room and pool.

Despite hotel being a sell-out, elevators were speedy and uncrowded. Hotel is not inexpensive, but does offer good value for money.

The caveats: the valet-only garage uses a 24-hour clock, at $44. per. We checked in at about 10:30 am, and, being given late check-out, stayed until 2:00 pm. Garage charged $25 extra for the additional time. Just be aware. Also, if not familiar with Boston, be sure to have a good, detailed street map, and/or GPS as Boston and surrounding area has confusing/missing signage. (Should the British ever re-invade, they won't be able to find their way around.)

Finally, if arriving by Amtrak, hotel is two short blocks from South Street station. From Logan Airport, there is a free Silver Line bus from all terminals to South Street.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise. Some rooms are a long walk from elevator. Ask at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbeth1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,970 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,970 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Boston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £142 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing