We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel on Boston's Waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel on Boston's Waterfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just wrapped up a great stay at the Intercontinental and was really pleased with everything. Most importantly, the staff was friendly, efficient, and helpful and the hotel was spotless and clean. My room (one with a partial water view) was terrific - nice layout and bathroom. Outstanding big tv (perfect for watching sports) and speedy wifi. Ordered room service which arrived quickly and was delicious. There's a great outdoor bar for when the weather is nice (which it was this weekend). Would be very happy to stay here again.

Green Features: I hung up my towel but it was still replaced. Was a bit disappointed about that.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Andrew W,

Thank you for sharing your great feedback, our team truly appreciates the wonderful review. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel including the brand new 55-inch guestroom televisions. In addition to being perfect for watching sports, they have the capability to hook up and stream your own media player as well!
We have also been very happy to finally see some sunshine for our guests to enjoy RumBa featuring Five-10 Waterfront and hope to see you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,644
    851
    199
    73
    65
See reviews for
880
1,302
187
1,045
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel in the financial distric replete with amenities that are reflective of its quality. I booked this hotel via a third party which can portend lesser attention. This was not to be the case for at checkin I was treated with the utmost curtesy and given a phenomenally spacious corner room with a bay view. The size of the room was unlike any other hotel I had visited in Boston previously and was as spacious as a room in Las Vegas. The bathroom was enormous with a seperate shower and bathtub. Indeed the bathroom was as large as some rooms in my excursions to New York. The pool and the workout center were commendable and reflective of the quality of the hotel. One additional perk is that the hotel is 2 blocks from the metro hub. That imparts that if you take the subway from the airport to the hotel, it is free. The admonition is that you will need to carry your luggage up one flight of stairs. In the end let me state that this is the best hotel I have stayed in when I visited Boston.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikefromla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear mikefromla,

On behalf of my entire team, thank you very much for your outstanding review. We take pride in the outstanding quality of both our hotel and staff alike and I greatly appreciate your recognition of this. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again the next time you find yourself on the East Coast!

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Unfortunately me and my husband stayed in this lovely hotel only for one night on our way back home to Europe, but it was enough to see that Intercontinental Boston really is a five star experience.

HOTEL: Huge, luxurious city hotel. Enormous lobby, relaxed couch areas and several restaurants and bars inside the hotel complex. Lots of staff helping guests around. Property very well maintained and spotless. If you arrive by car and want to drop off your luggage and check in before parking (also somewhere else that in hotel´s own garage), you can just drive in front of the hotel. There seemed to be always parking spots for quick drop offs and pick ups.

LOCATION: Hotel is located in Financial District east side of Boston just by the ocean on Waterfront. Neighborhood is packed with office buildings, but there´s only a short walk to downtown Boston and for example to Quincy Market. South Station Railway Station and T-station are also just few blocks away. Breakfast at the hotel was pretty expensive (something like 38USD), though it must have been delicious, so we went to have quick, cheap breakfast at Pret A Manger´s which is located two blocks from the hotel in the corner of Pearl St and Franklin St.

ROOM: We had the basic double room without city view. In this kind of tall hotel, city view must have been excellent choice. We skipped that anyway cause our short stay, but for longer stay it would have been nice. Room itself was huge. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel bed ever. In beautiful, white bathroom there was separate large bathtub and shower area and the size of that room was almost the same as typical european city hotel room. Window between bathroom and room itself was nice and made the whole area fell even more spacious. Room was very luxurious and I loved everything there but the fridge with that automatic billing thing. No chance to store own drinks or snacks.

SERVICE: Very polite and friendly, just what you can expect in this kind of five star hotel. Smooth check-in and check-out. Instant help with luggage upon arrival and quickly ordered taxi once we left to the airport.

We usually tend to stay in smaller, more unique and inexpensive hotels during our holidays, but if we would wanted to splurge next time traveling to Boston, I´m sure we would stay in Intercontinental again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merimaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here with another couple for a long weekend. The service was great as was the room. Perfect location to walk to many great places in the city. I am looking forward to our next stay there in the new future!

Room Tip: The higher level the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cali13girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Cali13girl,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to provide your positive feedback. I’m very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us; we are certainly in a prime location! We, too, look forward to having you stay with us again soon – please do not hesitate to contact me directly if our team can be of any further assistance with arrangements.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in a wonderful corner room overlooking the Harbor on the Club Level. The room was spacious and had a very comfortable King bed with an IPod dock on the nightstand. The bathroom included a large glass shower and separate soaking tub, each with luxurious bathing amenities. All of the staff we encountered were lovely people and went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. The food and drink in the Club Lounge were delightful, as were the kind workers serving it. The location of the hotel was convenient for exploring the city, as it is two blocks from South Station and within walking distance to the Quincy Market area. We always stay at InterContinental if there's one in the city we are traveling to, and this one is our new favorite. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mes04015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Everything was great. A beautiful room (in fact a suite, as we were upgraded as part of the loyalty program) with a good harbour view. Attentive, friendly, staff who made us feel like regulars on our first visit. Attention to detail, excellent local advice and booking service, flexible breakfast options - full service in the restaurant or a coffee and pastry in the bar area. Best of all, we were treated to another upgrade on a one night stay before going to the airport on our return through Boston, even though it wasn't strictly deserved on a free 'reward night' stay.

Many thanks to the staff for such world class service!

Room Tip: Harbour view is worthwhile, and fun to watch the Boston Tea Party tours opposite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear PGON,

You are more than welcome; it is our pleasure to provide only the highest level of service for our guests. Thank you very much for your compliments and referring to us as a “perfect” hotel – we will be sure to keep up the good work and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again for an equally wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband & I only spent one night but would definitely return to this hotel on the waterfront with a great location for public transportation or to walk over to the historic parts of Boston. Our room was beautifully decorated with lit wall panels near the bed, a window between the bath & room, giant soaking tub, 2 shower heads, comfortable bed, & large room for the city. I love details like an automatic closet light & paneled door that sets it apart from other hotel rooms. One con is there was only 1 luggage rack & little other place for our suitcases without placing them on the chaise or chair or desk. I would appreciate another suitcase rack or bench or something since we both have suitcases. We have a habit of not placing our luggage on upholstered furniture with the bed bug issues at so many other hotels. We recommend this hotel with enthusiasm.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileycuteness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,051 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing