We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel and Its Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Clifton Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Hotel and Its Staff”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

First I want to thank Latifa the Housekeeper in charge of our room. She is the type of employee every hotel would be proud of! We stayed on the 11th floor and were always greeted with smiling employees from the curb to the room! The food the the restaurant was so fresh it was as if it was just picked or brought in from the farm. I just want to thank everyone at the hotel and hope to visit again in near future.

Room Tip: Any room in the hotel would be a great stay.
See more room tips
Green Features: Every staff member was willing to help in anyway they could.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AML12065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear FreedomFlyer O,

We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us – thank you for sharing your positive feedback and recognizing Latifa! Our culinary team is proud to offer fresh, local ingredients; I am thrilled that this was evident during your time with us. You’re more than welcome and please do come back again soon!

All the best,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,878
    890
    205
    75
    66
See reviews for
953
1,385
194
1,141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Arriving at the hotel I was greeted by a very helpful doorman who quickly unloaded by bags out of the taxi and on to his cart. Front desk clerk was very helpful and accommodating. The requested room with 2 beds was beautiful and spacious. The beds were super comfy and had very nice linens. This room did not have the opening between the bath and bedroom that other reviewers have mentioned. We were on the 12th floor with a view of the city. We also upgraded to have access to the Ambassador's Club. It was just fabulous and is the only way to go. We took full advantage of coffee, breakfast, snacks during the day and happy hour in the evenings. But the best part about the Ambassador's Club is Charles. He loves his job and it shows. He goes above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need, I mean everything! He is truly a standout employee for the Intercontinental. He really made this a memorable trip for my sister and I (we were in town for a family reunion). The location is great and having a car is really not necessary. We loved our stay so much we returned for an additional night after leaving for a family reunion and coming back to the city before heading to Logan. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Boston!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doncolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear doncolleen,

How great that you returned for an additional unplanned evening after your initial visit with us, that is exactly what we love to hear! We are fortunate to have such a wonderful and dedicated team and Charles is undoubtedly one of our stars. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our readers, we are so happy to be your Boston hotel and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in town.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I travel often and this place has it all! From the moment you arrive your treated with nothing but up most care. From the valet to the front desk staff all were very inviting. So close to everything in downtown. Lots of food options. Wish i could remember the concierges name who pointed us in the right direction he was great! This will be my go to hotel any time I'm in Boston.

Room Tip: Sign up for Priority club and Wifi is free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear j r,

Thanks for your great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and recognizing all areas of the hotel. It will be a pleasure to continue welcoming you back on your upcoming visits.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stay for a night. Room was nice and clean and the view was awesome
Good Location for Financial / Waterfront district
We take many times the subway to go in different area.
Staff was good especially the Concierge Crew !
(thanks for all those recommendation)
and please Valet team ... smile !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Alexandre C,

We will be sure to pass along your feedback to our concierge team along with the valet – I’m sorry for any negative sentiment but glad to know your overall stay and accommodations were enjoyable. Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback, I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First let me ask that people in all hotels stop allowing room doors to slam shut. This has become the norm and disturbs everyone at all times of the night. Thank you to all who help.
Now for this most excellent hotel. Located near so many tourist delights, this Intercontinental could quickly become our favorite in the Boston area. If you arrive by auto, the entrance to valet parking only will be from Atlantic Ave. Drive down the ramp and you will be directed by a very courteous valet attendant. Be sure and take your luggage with you to the lobby as it will be stored if your room is not ready. Arrival was a pleasure and we were greeted with a very genuine smile and knew our stay would be a very memorable one. Our room which was a city view double was very nicely appointed but the real difference is the bath. This room comes with a very large walk in shower and what is referred to as a deep soaking tub. Rest assured it is in fact a deep tub and at least 2 feet in depth. In general, this is a luxurious room. The location of the hotel is very advantageous in that short walking distances will access many things to do. Within a 5 minute walk are the Children's Museum, Tea Party Museum, South Station Terminal and Rowe's Warf where many tour boats and dinner cruises are found. 10 minutes away is Panera's Coffee which opens at 7 am Sundays when all else is still closed. Within a 10 - 15 minute walk are such areas as Faneuil Hall, New England Aquarium and Whale Watch, Duck Tours and walking tours. Also don't miss the Harbor Walk which will allow you to see both sides of the Four Point Channel. The east side of this offers a view of Boston you won't see other than being on a tour boat. Also if you exit to the water side of the hotel, you will be able to call for a water taxi. Directions for making the call are posted at the taxi stop. Also if you in need of a nice combination coffee shop, bakery and sandwich shop, don't miss Sorelle Bakery and Café located just around the corner. We did not use the exercise equipment or pool but it did appear very nice.
I have read the disappointments with the cost of the valet parking and admit $44 is a little steep. However, it is convenient, very protected and again the attendants are well mannered. You may pay via credit card for this when checking out of your room or at the garage area.
This is one of those hotels that while a little expensive offers all that is convenient in Boston. We will stay here again and recommend that you do to.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmartibOswego_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear jmartibOswego_NY,

It is a pleasure to read your detailed review, thank you for providing such wonderful feedback. Your frustration with slamming doors is duly noted and I apologize for any noise issues you faced because of this; we do have a function on our guestroom doors that prevents such slamming, I will be sure we take a look to make sure it is functioning properly on all floors!
It sounds like you were able to take advantage of so much that our city has to offer and we are so happy to be in such a prime location for it all. Safe travels and thanks again for the great review!

Best regards,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Once again the InterContinental Boston did not disappoint. As always the service was top notch. The staff at this hotel always goes above and beyond. When in Boston, this is where to stay. If you are in need of anything during your stay Adam at the concierge desk is your go to man.

-Andrew L

Room Tip: I typically stay in a suite but all of the rooms here a great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyL1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Andrew,

We greatly appreciate your feedback and I’m thrilled to know that your experiences with us have remained consistently positive. Thank you for recognizing Adam on our concierge team and recommending us to other travelers!

Best regards,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Rather than write endlessly about how beautiful and well-appointed this hotel is (and it truly is), the staff made this gem shine. I don't know what they drink when they begin their respective shifts, but I have never met a group so consistently pleasant and exceedingly helpful. I was traveling for business, and my expectations were exceeded by the staff and the hotel - and then some.

Room Tip: Request a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annuitize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear annuitize,

Thank you for staying with us and providing your wonderful feedback; I have shared your compliments with our team and needless to stay, they were very well received. We pride ourselves in doing everything possible to care for our guests and I’m thrilled to know that we exceeded your expectations in this area. Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,868 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,713 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,307 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing