We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The best!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
greatboston
1 review
“Great hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The best!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I loved this hotel so much. I had a view of the water for a great price. The people are so nice there and really take care of you. The restaurants there were excellent. The hotel lobby is beautiful. I highly recommend this hotel if your staying in boston. Its located near all great places to visit. The bath rooms are great and has a separate shower and bath. I travel a lot and I have been to a lot of luxury hotels and by far is the best!!!!!! I hope this helps and If you go I know you will enjoy your stay!!!

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank greatboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,760
    874
    202
    73
    65
See reviews for
909
1,344
191
1,102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

We booked a room at Intercontinental through Hotwire for a great rate to spend a night in Boston. The staff at check-in was very nice and we were given a room with 2 beds. I think they were double beds; definitely smaller than queen-sized. The room and bathroom were very clean. The bathroom was the best part of the room, a glass shower and separate bath. The 'sliding window' listed in a few of these reviews was not present in our room; instead there was a mirror in that space. Overall we were very comfortable in our room.

Valet parking is $40/24 hours, internet access is $15/24 hours. There is a mini bar in the room; be careful not to look at anything, since once you remove an item it is billed to your room. I personally hate valet parking, but it was pretty painless here. When you call for your car, it is waiting for you in the garage in about 15 minutes.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but some of the extras probably should have simply been included in the overall price. We'd stay here again.

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — Valet only, fee for internet
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Steve8329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester,MA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

My gf and I spent a Saturday night here courtesy of Hotwire. On the whole, we thought it was a pretty nice property. The guest rooms and public areas are in excellent condition, as one would expect for such a new hotel. Desk, bell, and valet staff were courteous and efficient. Room was large enough, with a very nice bathroom. It's not the most convenient location for the tourist centers like Quincy Market, but the setting right along the waterfront made for a marvelous sunset walk.

Just a few quibbles: I have to agree with Riverspot's comments about the sliding window between the bathroom and bedroom. Every sound does indeed travel. This was a truly unfortunate design decision. The digital phones have an online directory that is tortuous to navigate. It must have taken me at least 5 minutes to find a way to call down for another robe (there was only one in the room). And when I finally did find the right menu item, no one answered the call after I let it ring for two minutes. I tried again later and someone picked right up, and the robe was there when we returned to the room several hours later.

Finally, although the TV was high-def, none of the channels were even digital, much less high-def. The picture quality on some of the channels was pretty bad.

Overall, this was a very pleasant stay and I would recommend the hotel. However, couples should be aware of the sliding bathroom window issue.

  • Liked — Overall design
  • Disliked — Sliding window between bedroom and bathroom.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

Decided to go into Boston overnight to enjoy the First Night fun. We only live an hour away. The hotel was running a special rate during the holidays. We enjoyed a water view room, that was new and beautiful. Lots of high tech features with the lighting and, flat screen TV and our name and a welcome on the phone screen. The pictures of the room and incredible bathroom on the internet site do not do it justice.

We visited the Institute of Contempory Art, ICA, which is within walking distance. You can see the Children's Museum also a close walk. We ate a Legal Seafood's a 10 minute walk away. A heavy snow storm started in the morning, which cut our stay in Boston short, but it was enjoyable.

We stayed at the hotel for breakfast, the weather convinced us not to go out. It was good but very pricy.

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location, and a special get away.

  • Liked — The beauty of the hotel, and the special features of the room.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JCMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2008

Booked this hotel as it was new and looked lovely, however on checking in, the hotel had no record of our booking even though we had confirmation email and had pre paid, staff were very much under pressure and we were not the only guests that this happened to. Left us waiting for 1 hour and when they eventually found our booking we were told our room was not ready and to go off and that they would phone us when room ready. Returned 2 hours later (no phone call) to find room was ready and had been for some time!

Rooms were large and modern but nothing out of the ordinary. Phoned reception the next morning to see if we could get a later check out time only to be told by a v rude lady there was no available even though she didnt even check.

Got water taxi to Logan airport just outside the hotel which is a fantastic idea takes about 10mins.

Overall v diaappointed with this hotel, has the potential to be better if they ironed out a few problems.

  • Liked — water taxi
  • Disliked — inefficent/rude staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BufIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2008

We booked this hotel as part of an overall package for a 3-night stay in Boston. While we got a good deal, it was not a cheap stay. Upon arriving, we were impressed with the lovely, modern lobby and fast elevators. Our room was big, with new furniture and a flat screen TV. Beautiful, huge bathroom. Convenient desk and plugs for electronics. We had no problems with service - everyone was very friendly and willing to help. The bar was convenient - they let us take a glass of wine up to the room without any hesitation.

There were two main problems. The sliding window between the bedroom and the bathroom is a total design disaster for couples. First, it does not completely close at the bottom, so all sounds (and smells) waft right into the bedroom, directly over the bed. Second, it has only a frosted glass panel, so, if anyone goes into the bathroom in the middle of the night, the light shines through into the bedroom, waking up the other party. (The bathroom was pitch dark at night -- and, since it was all marble, you really needed light to ensure you didn't kill yourself.) Anyway, the bathroom quickly became the joke of the trip, and if nothing else, will be one of the memories of our trip to Boston.

The other problem perhaps is not unique to Intercontinental. Since everything now seems to be digital, it is nearly impossible to have a room completely dark at night. The flat screen TV had a red glowing light. The phone had a green glowing light. The clock had a blue glowing light. The sprinkler system had a white flashing light. The curtains would not close completely. It struck me as ironic that there was so much light in the room where it needed to be dark and positively no light in the bathroom, where just a little of that glow would have been helpful.

There were a few other minor things. There was no coffeemaker. Also, no lotion in the bathroom to start, but they brought some the next day without me asking. The light on the make-up mirror did not work - until they cleaned the room - and then it did. Until the next day - and then it didn't again. One of the light bulbs had burnt out on a lamp - we did not mention it and I don't think it ever got replaced. WiFi service was a bit pricey at $14.95 /day or $6.95 hour.

The location was okay for us - it was easy to find places to eat breakfast and to get on the T. But the Marriott and Boston Harbor Hotels probably would have been better locations for our touristy purposes.

Had I been alone and on business, this place would have been fine. As it was, I felt like we could have made a better choice although we had a pleasant stay anyway.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, decor
  • Disliked — Sliding glass window in bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2008

Pros - This hotel is beautiful - from the lobby to the rooms, everything is chic and modern. The bathrooms are spacious with huge shower stalls and soaking tubs. Nice flat screen TVs and comfortable beds.

The location is also good. Although there isn’t much in the immediate vicinity, it’s a couple of blocks from South Station and a short walk from Fanueil Hall, Downtown Crossing and other shopping and restaurants.

The front desk staff, bell staff and generally everyone who works there seemed to go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The only exception was that service at the bar tended to be slow; it seems like it’s a very popular after-work spot for locals and gets very crowded.

Cons - The food and drink at the restaurants and bar were ok, but very expensive. It’s annoying to have to leave the hotel and walk a few blocks every time you want a snack and don’t want to end up paying $20 minimum. It’s also a little irritating when you ask the front desk or concierge for a place to grab breakfast and the only place they can think of is the very expensive hotel restaurant, when there are a number of Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, and delis in the area. Given the room rates we were paying, I couldn’t justify paying even more money to eat meals in the hotel.

Also it is not a good hotel for business. The “business center” is just two computers tucked into a corner of the tiny gift shop/mini-mart, with printer, fax, etc. behind a counter staffed by a somewhat surly staffer. If you have your own laptop, wired and wifi internet is available but is not free, even in the public areas ($15 for 24 hours). And they charged me more than $17 (aka “package processing” fee) to receive one Fed Ex package that was shipped to me. All of this left a somewhat bad taste, for a five-star hotel that touts its business services. It appears that the operations of the business services is contracted out to Penfields, but still, at $400 / night for some rooms, it seems petty to nickel and dime guests for this type of stuff.

It is a very nice hotel with nice rooms, but overall, a bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Liked — Rooms were clean, comfortable and chic
  • Disliked — Business services, restaurants
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Essie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,630 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,283 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Travelbag, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing