We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected stay - Very Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I had an unscheduled stop at Boston Logan and needed a hotel for the night. After flying several days in a row I was utterly exhausted and ready to find a place to lay my head down for a few hours. My airline was going to put me up at the Hilton but I decided to bite the bullet and stay at the Intercontinental on my own dime and so glad I did. This is a very nice Intercontinental with excellent customer service as normal. Even though I arrived very late my status was honored and I was upgraded to a beautiful room a gorgeous view over the water. I managed to get on an early morning flight out so didn't get to experience as much of the hotel as I would have liked but I will most certainly return at a later date to take advantage of this lovely hotel when I have the time to actually enjoy it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammynnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that we could make your short and unexpected stay with us enjoyable. Our staff is devoted to exceeding guests’ expectations and we are excited to welcome you back in the future. Next time you visit, stop by our concierge desk to find out some “in the know” tips about Boston and the great tourist attractions in the area such as Fanueil Hall and North End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,064 - 4,070 of 4,678 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2010

Check in was quick and smooth, without any problems.

We had a room on the 7th floor with a waterfront view. Which was amazing! It was so nice to wake up and look out and see the waterfront. Highly recommended!

The rooms themselves were clean and spacious. As was the bathroom, with a separate bath and shower.

Staff were great and the concierge helped plan out day. The location was excellent. About 5 - 10 minute walk from South Station (with direct bus link to airport) and about 10 minute from Quincy market area.

No complaints, felt right at home here for the 2 nights. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HT-Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manaer at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

It is excellent to hear you had a great stay with us. Location is one of the main reasons visitors choose to stay here. We are walking distance to famous Boston attractions such as Faneuil Hall and the North End. If you return during the warmer seasons you can enjoy the water taxi to and from the airport which gives you a great scenic tour of Boston. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

This was my first trip to massachusetts and it wont be my last!! The Intercontinental topped it off, an amazing Modern, Beautiful building, massive actually, happening bar scence and nice out door patio bar. Rooms are huge with unique, Nice Flat screens, Amazing Shower and Bathroom Even has a bathtub and bathrobe. This hotel was so nice, i actually didn't mind paying 8 bucks for a Heinken from the mini fridge. Free coffee maker in the room which is odd for a 5* but ill take it. Amazing Health and Beauty Products. Check in and Check Out was a breeze and a delight

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrickyTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and are delighted that you truly enjoyed your stay. Our staff strives to exceed guest’s expectations and we work hard to maintain our facilities. To enhance your stay next time you come, stop by our concierge desk to find out some “in the know” tips about Boston. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

With Priceline you don't know what you are getting. This couldn't have worked out better. The rooms were modern and well designed. The beds were very comfy. The workout area was excellent. The breakfast and the bar were very good. I could not have enjoyed myself more. The perfect relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We work hard to maintain our facilities and are glad you enjoyed our stylish, modern guestrooms featuring state-of-the-art technology and lifestyle enhancing amenities that assist with work and play. It is always a delight to hear from guests who truly enjoyed their stay and hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Once again, the InterContinental Boston has exceeded our expectation. Would highly recommend this hotel. The staff was welcoming and courteous. Your staff is well trained and very accommodating.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glfangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2010

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful and facilities enjoyable. Our staff strives to exceed guests’ expectations and make their stay as memorable as possible. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

It's a really swanky hotel with nice views and good access to financial district. But I didn't make any use of the services - from the restaurant, to the spa, to the mini bar - because I couldn't justify the overpriced rates for anything beyond accommodation, and that's with my company picking up the cost. Also the bar and Miel restaurant do not fit with the rest of the hotel - apart from being overpriced. They are unusually ugly, 'themed' environments (the restaurant is made up to look French provincial and the bar some kind of rum distillery theme, all very fake and tacky) which just don't fit with the glassy, classy feel of the rest of the hotel. And how do they justify such high prices for internet access when anyone knows it doesn't cost anything near that to provide it. Parking was also extremely expensive - $30 for 2 hours. Concierge and staff generally friendly, gym is good - but, really, they are missing a trick by charging such prohibitive prices for every ancillary service, including food.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank repantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

I had the opportunity to stay 2 nights at the hotel in a recent business visit to Boston. The first evening I met some local associates in the hotel lobby bar for some laughs and also to prep for the next days meetings. I was surprised by the "professional" crowd in the bar! I was glad that my wife or kids were not around as they were more of what I would have expected to see in a "gentelmens club" then the lobby bar at the InterCon.

The room design is good, but furniture seems to need a refresher as some of the soft goods seem to need some refreshing as it appeared tired. I was also surprised that the soap was not replace in the soap dish when the room was cleaned between nights ... I guess that is something you should not expect at the InterCon ... Funny as the other hotels in the brand seem to ensure you have NEW toiletries every evening ...

Finally was the disappointing staff especially in the main Resturant and front desk... The first evening that I stayed there I and my colleagues decided to grab a late bite at the main Resturant ... The staff definitely made us feel like it was in imposition that we were trying to enjoy ourselves and a meal at 9:30. The following AM i had a breakfast meeting at the same Resturant. We got there at about 8:10 and were seated by 8:15. We had our order in at not later then 8:30 ... An omlette from the menu and 2 orders of wheat toast. 9:10 when the meal was still not there we got up to leave and the server in a panic insited that we sit back down and "he would make something happen immediately" why was it then he could make something happen and not the last 3 times he indicated our meals would be right out? In an effort to a make sure this was not something that happened again I went up to the front desk. I told the clerk that I was a guest of the hotel and wanted to let them know of my experience. She listened and then replied "thanks I'll tell the manager" and then went back to tapping away on her computer. Both I and my colleague were a bit surprised, but also late for a meeting so I did not ask if she wanted my room number so someone can follow up, I guess that too is not something that gets done here either. So here it is for for the manager and rest of the IHG to read now, hopefully they will work to fix some of these things so others don't have similar experiences.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ih8tbadcustsrvce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

We sincerely apologize for the service challenges you experienced during your stay. We strive to provide the highest level of service and in this instance we clearly were not able to meet your expectations. We truly regret the difficulties you experienced at Miel and overall during your stay The problems you mentioned are certainly not the standards here at InterContinental Boston and we are taking the necessary steps to be sure problems like these do not happen in the future. Although we never want to learn that a guest has had a bad experience, comments such as yours allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements. We hope you will return in the future and give us a chance to reinstill your confidence in our hotel and our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 85 in Boston
4,988 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 85 in Boston
1,986 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 85 in Boston
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,449 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £149 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing