We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great stay!”
Review of Nolan House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nolan House B&B
Ranked #15 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great stay!”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Had a great stay, really enjoyed the breakfast, and found the room spacious and nicely decorated. John was very friendly and helpful! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ae m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    37
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
66
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Nolan House is a nice B&B in the Southie section of Boston. Located right off Broadway on G Street, it is between a 2-15 minute walk to any number of restaurants for whatever type of meal you are looking for. The Nolan House itself is an older colonial style house with all the unpredictable angles that you would expect from a house like that. It is a nice place to spend a few nights and we enjoyed our time there.

The Nolan house advertised 3 rooms: two for 2 people one for 3 people and we requested the 3 person and one 2 person for our group of 5. When we got there, we found the rooms were set up a little strangely in that the larger room was not the one with the extra bed. However we had no problem with 3 in the smaller room as there were enough nooks that we all had a spot to store our weekend luggage. There were also fridges in the rooms with some bottled water upon arrival, but there was no microwave so keeping leftovers from those close by restaurants turned out to not be so useful. The rooms are heated by radiators; depending on your preferred temperature, you may have to open or close the windows to regulate as there is a note not to touch the radiator valves. This was only an issue for us the first night, when we didn't realize how warm the room would get and had to try to figure out how to open the windows around 2am.

As I said, there were 3 bedrooms for rent and 2 bathrooms available, so with 5 people in residence, showering in the morning took a little negotiation and compromise, but it all generally worked out. The Nolans provided plenty of towels (which you could get replaced every day by tossing it in the tub) and sample size soaps and shampoo. They also provided a lovely continental breakfast every morning that our group completely demolished. Cereal, toast, fruits, milk, and caffeinated beverage of your choice (coffee or tea) were set out every morning at 8:30 for us and was plenty to get us filled up to face the day.

We stayed at the Nolan house in order to attend PAXEast over at the BCEC. It was about a 20 minute walk to get over there and we had no problems as it was a quick walk down Broadway and up D street. Taxi rides to/from the Nolan House to the BCEC were about $7-$10 in case you aren't up to walking those 20 minutes late at night or in the cold. While the Nolan house was certainly a convenient place to stay since the nearby hotels were completely booked, it did have the disadvantage that you couldn't just head back to your room for a nap mid day as that would be 20 minute hike to get there. Once we headed to the con, we were there for the day. If that isn't an issue for you, then like us, you can enjoy your stay at the Nolan House without spending the money for the bigger hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This B&B is conveniently located in south side of Boston, It is about a block to transit to downtown. John Nolan is a great host; he is attentive and gave us good advice about the surrounding neighborhood. Unfortunately, his wife Kathy was not well during our stay.

The house is attractive and well maintained.The third floor room we had was well furnished and had a nice outlook. However the stair access to the third floor is not easy for someone with walking problems.

We found the bar and grill, The Junction, recommended by John, to have good food and prices. It is approx. 3 blocks from the house.

The house is about 5 blocks from Dorchester Heights, a Revolutionary War landmark that is less accessible from other areas of the City

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are easier to access than the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpassmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I highly recommend Nolan House for travellers to the Boston area. Nolan House is a beautiful old home in the heart of Bostons South End (Southie) and is full of interesting antiques, art and nick-nacks which give it character. We often travel to Boston and always stay at Nolan House. John and Kitty and family make you feel at home and go out of their way to make you comfortable. They know everything about the Boston area and it's history and can recommend restaraunts and activities suitable for your stay. You always feel welcome and you are treated like part of the family. Breakfast is generous and delicious with a great selection for everytone and you get to meet fellow travellers and exchange stories while enjoying a terrific meal. We just got back from there and we miss them already! You just don't get this kind of experience in a hotel. Cheers, Maurice and Sandra

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NH
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2011

What a true find in South Boston. John and Kathy have a beautiful home with attention to detail. The room was warm and inviting, the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the company great. We arrived on the heels of a hurricane and John was kind enough to excuse us a day early so that we would beat the storm. Lovely all the way around. A couple of blocks to the T or a bus ride just around the corner and you are in the heart of the city. I will definitely reccomend The Manor House to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italien
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Burkhard and Marco, 2 guys from Germany had wonderful days at the Nolan House with John and Kathy. Rooms were very spaceful and equipped with old fashioned furniture. On the roof of the house we found a platform from which we enjoyed a unbelievable view on Boston’s skyline. It was amazing. In the morning John and Kathy served a delicious breakfast that brought us through the day. We can compare it very well with the days before, when we stayed at a hotel. It was 5 stars, what we got at the Nolan house. Thanks a lot to John and Kathy, they gave us such a warm and friendly atmosphere and made our stay at Boston wonderful. This it, what you can’t expect even in first class hotels. The Nolan house was our key to an extraordinary US-visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoItalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Kathy and John are great hosts who were advising us with things to do and see in this great city.
Great roof terrace with best Boston view.
We would thoroughly recommend this Guest House to anyone who wants to stay in Boston.
Stefan & Jürgen

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,561 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#64 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#66 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nolan House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nolan House B&B

Property: Nolan House B&B
Address: 10 G St, South Boston, Boston, MA 02127-1409
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nolan House is a small non-smoking Bed & Breakfast in a privately owned circa 1860 Victorian private home. All guest rooms are clean and spacious, have TV/VCR, air conditioning and are furnished to create a warm and comfortable "home-away-from-home" atmosphere. We are extremely convenient to the Boston Convention Center, the Garden, and the Black Falcon Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nolan House Hotel Boston
Nolan House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing