We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nolan House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nolan House B&B
Ranked #15 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sweet home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

The best B&B of South Boston!
Quiet area, pretty house, cosy rooms, very kind and helpful host, excellent breakfast, beautiful view on the Boston skyline and cute dog!
We really enjoyed our stay and we highly recommend this charming place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maud I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    37
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
66
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

How do you end up at a B&B? One good way is to leave your hotel booking for the last miinute in a US city just before the 4th of July, as was the case with me. Everything for a purpose, and I was happy to find Nolan House and the helpful if brutally honest host, John. The room I was in shared a bathroom with one other, but this proved not to be a problem (en suite rooms available if you book early enough, 4th of July, remember?). It is a home away from home, and happily it passed my rigorous cleanliness test, as that is important to me. It was my first trip to Boston and John armed me with a Charley card (Boston equivalent of Oyster for Londoners) to use the transit system, a map and idea of what to see. All in all conveniently located in this historic city. I can't guarantee fireworks from the roof terrace at night like I had, but the skyline is impressive any time. So if large chain hotels are not for you or you want a change, give John a call. You won't be disappointed. Oh, take the Duck tour (quack, quack). Thanks again, John.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fred b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Nolan House with the excellent host, John, is just the thing if you are looking for a place with a personal touch. The rooms are spacious with historic furniture, the breakfast is delicious, the roof terrasse has a view of the Boston skyline.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Had a great stay, really enjoyed the breakfast, and found the room spacious and nicely decorated. John was very friendly and helpful! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ae m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Nolan House is a nice B&B in the Southie section of Boston. Located right off Broadway on G Street, it is between a 2-15 minute walk to any number of restaurants for whatever type of meal you are looking for. The Nolan House itself is an older colonial style house with all the unpredictable angles that you would expect from a house like that. It is a nice place to spend a few nights and we enjoyed our time there.

The Nolan house advertised 3 rooms: two for 2 people one for 3 people and we requested the 3 person and one 2 person for our group of 5. When we got there, we found the rooms were set up a little strangely in that the larger room was not the one with the extra bed. However we had no problem with 3 in the smaller room as there were enough nooks that we all had a spot to store our weekend luggage. There were also fridges in the rooms with some bottled water upon arrival, but there was no microwave so keeping leftovers from those close by restaurants turned out to not be so useful. The rooms are heated by radiators; depending on your preferred temperature, you may have to open or close the windows to regulate as there is a note not to touch the radiator valves. This was only an issue for us the first night, when we didn't realize how warm the room would get and had to try to figure out how to open the windows around 2am.

As I said, there were 3 bedrooms for rent and 2 bathrooms available, so with 5 people in residence, showering in the morning took a little negotiation and compromise, but it all generally worked out. The Nolans provided plenty of towels (which you could get replaced every day by tossing it in the tub) and sample size soaps and shampoo. They also provided a lovely continental breakfast every morning that our group completely demolished. Cereal, toast, fruits, milk, and caffeinated beverage of your choice (coffee or tea) were set out every morning at 8:30 for us and was plenty to get us filled up to face the day.

We stayed at the Nolan house in order to attend PAXEast over at the BCEC. It was about a 20 minute walk to get over there and we had no problems as it was a quick walk down Broadway and up D street. Taxi rides to/from the Nolan House to the BCEC were about $7-$10 in case you aren't up to walking those 20 minutes late at night or in the cold. While the Nolan house was certainly a convenient place to stay since the nearby hotels were completely booked, it did have the disadvantage that you couldn't just head back to your room for a nap mid day as that would be 20 minute hike to get there. Once we headed to the con, we were there for the day. If that isn't an issue for you, then like us, you can enjoy your stay at the Nolan House without spending the money for the bigger hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

This B&B is conveniently located in south side of Boston, It is about a block to transit to downtown. John Nolan is a great host; he is attentive and gave us good advice about the surrounding neighborhood. Unfortunately, his wife Kathy was not well during our stay.

The house is attractive and well maintained.The third floor room we had was well furnished and had a nice outlook. However the stair access to the third floor is not easy for someone with walking problems.

We found the bar and grill, The Junction, recommended by John, to have good food and prices. It is approx. 3 blocks from the house.

The house is about 5 blocks from Dorchester Heights, a Revolutionary War landmark that is less accessible from other areas of the City

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are easier to access than the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpassmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I highly recommend Nolan House for travellers to the Boston area. Nolan House is a beautiful old home in the heart of Bostons South End (Southie) and is full of interesting antiques, art and nick-nacks which give it character. We often travel to Boston and always stay at Nolan House. John and Kitty and family make you feel at home and go out of their way to make you comfortable. They know everything about the Boston area and it's history and can recommend restaraunts and activities suitable for your stay. You always feel welcome and you are treated like part of the family. Breakfast is generous and delicious with a great selection for everytone and you get to meet fellow travellers and exchange stories while enjoying a terrific meal. We just got back from there and we miss them already! You just don't get this kind of experience in a hotel. Cheers, Maurice and Sandra

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#67 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#65 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nolan House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nolan House B&B

Property: Nolan House B&B
Address: 10 G St, South Boston, Boston, MA 02127-1409
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nolan House is a small non-smoking Bed & Breakfast in a privately owned circa 1860 Victorian private home. All guest rooms are clean and spacious, have TV/VCR, air conditioning and are furnished to create a warm and comfortable "home-away-from-home" atmosphere. We are extremely convenient to the Boston Convention Center, the Garden, and the Black Falcon Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nolan House Bed And Breakfast
Nolan House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing