We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional B&B near convention center”
Review of Nolan House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nolan House B&B
Ranked #15 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you like the creature comforts and standards associated with regular chain hotels, I don't think the Nolan B&B is for you. It's a very quaint and classic style B&B, similar to what you might find in a small English town. A Victorian house, that's adorned with handmade crafts, trinkets, bone china, antique furniture, with creaky floorboards and traditional central heating.

My room was clean and comfortable. There was wifi which was very reliable and fast. The TV in the room didn't have the best reception but I rarely switched it on. I didn't hear any outside noise from traffic on the main road but with heavy rain, the wooden window frames did rattle a little. A shared bathroom was on the same floor as my room (shared with one other guest), with complimentary toiletries, hair dryer and an iron. The hot and cold water was a bit temperamental but this may be down to Victorian plumbing or water running simultaneously in other parts of the house.

Breakfast was at 8.30am each morning but as I had to leave earlier than this on conference days, a pot of tea, yogurt and fruit were waiting for me outside my door at 6am. The breakfast at 8.30 was simple and sufficient: hot tea/coffee, toast and cereal, boiled eggs, muffins, fresh fruit.
I would have liked to have able to eat breakfast earlier than 8.30am, perhaps with the cereal, fruit, yogurts, muffins laid out on the table for guests to help themselves between 6-9am. A kettle in the room, to make tea and coffee would have also been nice.

The location is ideal for anyone attending a conference at the convention center or the Westin hotel, only a 15-20 min walk on foot or a $7 taxi ride. Buses from the main road go straight into downtown Boston and you're only about a 10 minute walk away from the subway station. The area has plenty of shops, restaurants and bars along the main road (Broadway), just a minute from the B&B.

The host was friendly and knowledgeable about the local area.

Overall, when compared to the high end hotels around the convention center at $200-300 per night, this B&B is good value for money if you're on a budget and don't mind a little walk.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, use ear plugs as you may hear noise from the bathroom, floorboards of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I spend 10 days at the Nolan House and found the visit very welcoming. John was very gracious and informative. We has very nice breakfasts and received good advise on how to get around. The neighborhood is very welcoming as well. There are people in the community that are open to helping out and I even got an invitation for a ride. There were very good places to get a good meal within walking distance. I find it difficult to understand why some people would not find staying at the Nolan House a pleasurable experience. Thanks to John I had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciderdog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in Nolan house for 4 nights. John was really friendly and accommodating and we enjoyed his great breakfasts. The location was great, close to bus station that will get you to the subway station in few minutes. The room was clean and comfortable. Enjoyed saying in a victorian house! I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estatitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the second year in a row for the Boston Marathon. We had another wonderful experience! For other reviews that say John provides poor breakfast, are you kidding? Yes, he always provides simple items like cereals, yogurts, etc, but he also provides different toasts with exotic jellies/jams, differently prepared eggs, pancakes (which are absolutely delicious!), fresh fruits, and more. He also provides local coffee and/or tea (he asks your preference upon arrival). At the hotels I've stayed at, I've never had such a yummy and filling breakfast. So "b f" you may be expecting 5-star hotel breakfasts, where you have to pay $50? Anyways, we had another lovely visit. We stayed in the Queen Anne room again, and the bed is so comfy we miss it when we get back home! Be sure to go to the roof at night for awesome pictures of the city all lit up! We couldn't be happier with our experience. We look forward to staying here a third time at next year's Boston marathon!!!

Room Tip: We loved the Queen Anne room - King bed with a small sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a great place to stay in Boston. I was on a business trip and did not book a room until close to the convention time. The hotels were either booked for over $300 a night for the location near the convention center. My office administrator found this B&B online and we decided to give it a try. I was very pleased. The cost was less that half of the hotels and the experience was much better than most hotels. The decor was very nice, authentic to the city and it's history. Our room included a spacious bedroom in a cozy older home as well as a sitting room. The host, John, was very kind. He gave good directions and advice and was fun to talk to about Boston attractions and history. He cooked elaborate breakfasts every morning including bacon, pancakes, eggs, toast, fruit, cereal, etc. We spent 3 nights and really liked the place. I recommend this B&B highly.

Room Tip: There is a fitness center with pool nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty_BayEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I love going to Bed and Breakfasts and this one is the worst I have ever been to. Every B&B I have been to, has had a charming host and a wonderful breakfast. Nolan House provided neither. John was not very welcoming. It was like I was at a hotel. I expect more than that from a B&B (up until this B&B- I have always gotten more). The breakfast was SO DISAPPOINTING. Cereal, scrambled eggs and yogurt- the Hampton does a much better job than that. I go to B&Bs because of the welcoming feeling of going to someone's home rather than going to a cold hotel. John didn't provide what I have come to expect from a B&B. He should advertise as a "hotel" rather than a Bed and Breakfast. Those of us who frequent B&Bs expect more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If you are expecting individual room temp control, a parking garage & a full menu then you need to go to a hotel! This is a charming B & B with comfortable rooms which are beautifully decorated. It is in a quiet area close to great dining. John knew we were driving and gave us his parking place when we arrived. It is within walking distance to the convention center where you can pick up public transportation. Coffee and toast was outside our bedroom door each morning we had to leave early.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJHeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 84 in Boston
4,924 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#56 of 84 in Boston
351 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nolan House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nolan House B&B

Address: 10 G St, South Boston, Boston, MA 02127-1409
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £75 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nolan House is a small non-smoking Bed & Breakfast in a privately owned circa 1860 Victorian private home. All guest rooms are clean and spacious, have TV/VCR, air conditioning and are furnished to create a warm and comfortable "home-away-from-home" atmosphere. We are extremely convenient to the Boston Convention Center, the Garden, and the Black Falcon Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nolan House Hotel Boston
Nolan House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing