We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emerald Necklace Autumn ride”
Review of Urban AdvenTours

Urban AdvenTours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Urban AdvenTours offers quality bike rentals and exciting guided bike tours of Boston - from historic landmarks to quaint neighborhood streets of Boston and Cambridge - for families, students and visitors. Ride with us and see Boston the way it was meant to be seen - on two wheels!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Emerald Necklace Autumn ride”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A wonderful cycle ride around Boston on a cold autumnal day. We had a group of 9 with two caring, informative and attentive guides. The autumn colours were awesome - especially the Arboretum. It was our first day in Boston and this was a great way to understand the layout of the city and to blow away the cobwebs of a transatlantic flight.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatrickL_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    96
    20
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
151 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great way to see the city!!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We went on the 2 p.m. city tour on a beautiful fall day. There were only 7 riders plus our guide Moe. Moe did a great job of showing us the sites but we didn't always hear everything he was saying. Would recommend this tour for young and old cuz it's flat. Got a little tricky sometimes when we were blasting thru stop signs following the people in front. Drivers must be use to us cuz they stopped and waited and I didn't hear one horn.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome way to see Boston!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We participated in our third bike tour with Urban. This one was just fantastic! Len and Kathryn did a great job of showing us the sights, and keeping us on track. A great combination of riding and sightseeing. The 15 mile Emerald Necklace tour encompassed some beautiful Olmstead Parks, and other rural looking trails, while at times riding in the middle of Boston traffic! Many wonderful sights. We even saw a horse drawn hearse carriage from the 1870's! If you are in Boston, and have a few hours to spend, these tours are SO well worth it and tons of fun! I highly recommend this one!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freddr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanAdvenTours, Guest Relations Manager at Urban AdvenTours, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Freddr,

Thank you so much for joining us for another tour! It is fabulous to have folks return to us when they visit Boston and we hope that you will come see us again next time you are on tour. The Emerald Necklace tour is a great fall offering that really highlights a different part of the city that visitors rarely see, I am so glad Len and Catherine showed you a great time!

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great way to visit Cambridge”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Took the 2pm Cambridge tour with my girlfriend. Very nice ride with great views. Some people might need more comfortable bike seats, but still highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pico J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great tour of beautiful Boston!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I think bike tours are a great way to get acquainted with a new city, especially if you are short on time. This tour was just what I expected, and more! This is a great way to see and smell Boston (and by smells, I mean where you want to grab lunch!). Our tour guide gave us a great overview of the history of this great city. We also decided to go to the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum after learning about it on our trip. Don't be afraid either! The pace is easy to keep up with, we rode about 12 miles in 3 hours with frequent stops to take in the views. Also, Boston is very bike friendly!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanAdvenTours, Guest Relations Manager at Urban AdvenTours, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
So glad you enjoyed the sights and smells in Boston! We do our best to help you build a good appetite by biking around - hope you found and enjoyed some of the fabulous Italian restaurants in our neighborhood! We're glad you agree that Boston is bike friendly, made all the better by folks like yourself. Thanks for joining us, hope we'll see you again on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Urban AdvenTours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing