We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service & Nice Rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great service & Nice Rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I don't know if this is brand new hotel or not, but I think it may be since it's in a newly developed spot on the Boston Seaport, walking distance from a few new restaurants. My boyfriend and I came for 2 nights for a wedding weekend for one of his college friends.

Although we arrived a couple of hours before official check-in, which is 3pm, the very nice and efficient desk attendant allowed us to go ahead and check into our room. They also had the wedding welcome bag ready to go. They even left a message for us on the first night to make sure we received the welcome bag for the wedding.

The whole hotel is nicely decorated and modern, but not in an obnoxiuos trendy way. I didn't check to see if they had in room free wireless.

Even if you're not in a room facing the water (we weren't), you still have decent view of the city, though we had to look around the building directly across the street. Still the view was plesant and vast.

I also wish I bought my swimming suit because they have a serene and sleek-looking lap pool indoors on the 5th floor that was virtually unused when we checking it out in the middle of the afternoon.

The room itself was spacious and had room enough for empty areas and a 3 seater sofa. The bathroom was a standard size, and the bath products were nice, too - Aveda. The bed was plush and comfortable.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat if I went back to Boston. My only caution would be staying on the seaport in the cold months because then it may be too cold to walk around the seaport and go into the city.

Mid-Septebmer, when we stayed, the weather was still fairly warm and spring-like, and at night I didn't need a jacket to walk around. A light sweater was good enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckieeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    545
    151
    43
    20
See reviews for
223
303
71
548
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I stayed here for a conference. The front desk staff was very efficient and professional w/checking me in and out. The room was clean and spacious. The king-sized bed was comfortable.

The housekeeping staff cleaned the room well and replenished the toiletries but did not leave the breakfast order form for the next morning. Oh well... The coffee in the room was not very good. Starbucks is downstairs though.

All in all, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This hotel was very nice ... the rooms are spacious and clean and some have a view of the water. The staff is helpful and provided umbrellas and good restaurant suggestions. There is a Starbucks in the lobby. The one issue with this hotel is the location - as it is closer to the harbour and not downtown. It is about a $15 cab ride to downtown so if you want to be near the water it is a great spot (or the airport) but not if you want to walk around at night and explore Boston. Quincy Market is also a $10 cab ride away. The sauna and gym are quite nice althought the sauna could have been hotter. No water in the sauna to create more heat. The other flaw is the noise - you can basically hear people in the hallways and it constantly woke me up during the night almost every hour. I am looking forward to getting a good night sleep away from the hotel tonight! Otherwise it is definitely a nice hotel for the price but location and the noise in the halls could be improved.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view so you are not facing the buildings across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here over Labor Day weekend. It 's just minutes from the airport and a short cab ride away from most attractions.
The hotel was clean and efficient; what you would expect from the Marriott brand. The rooms had ample space and a bathroom with large, walk-in shower.
The concierge here was incredibly friendly and helpful. He was able to get dinner reservations for us at the last minute at a great Italian restaurant. He also helped us navigate the city.
The hotel is a block away from the waterfront and several nice restaurants, including Del Frisco's and Morton's.
The local sightseeing tour also makes pick ups here in the mornings, which is ideal for sightseeing.
Overall, the stay was convenient and met our expectations. I would stay here again on a trip to Boston.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjbms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here for one night mid-week. Very clean, large and bright room. The hotel is a bit removed from the wharf area .We arrived after 8p and thought that we were going to be stuck eating room service food from the hotel.Luckily, on the recommendation of the doorman we found a wonderful Italian restaurant right around the corner from the hotel.
Would stay here again for the view and service, the rates are also much less than those right at the wharf.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravels5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Waterfront Hotel is in an area hardly existed a couple of years go. The hotel is perfectly maintained; it is one short block from a new waterfront area with a number of very popular restaurants; it is near the new Convention Center. It is a 5-minute drive from the Airport through the new Ted Williams Tunnel. There is a bus that goes from Logan Airport about every 8 minutes, and that same route runs in a special bus tunnel to South Station where you can transfer to the rest of the Boston Transit system. The rooms were beautiful; the staff was friendly and helpful. The conference held there had no glitches at all that we could see. The location, as I have described is not exactly in downtown Boston, but it is a pleasant "electric bus", taxi, or drive from the very center of Boston, and in exchange you get a brand new hotel on a brand new street, near an amazing number of brand new restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthofDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is too close to the fish market and the smell is quite strong. It's also a bit far from a subway station and the center of town.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaliz913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,440 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#68 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Envoy Hotel, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Property: Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Address: 606 Congress St, Boston, MA 02210-2803
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Boston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Boston Waterfront hotel is located in South Boston and features luxurious accommodations with the latest amenities. This Boston Waterfront hotel is ideal for meeting functions, and wedding events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Boston
Boston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing