We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for Convention Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Pros: Proximity to Convention Center, Clean, Modern Rooms, Friendly & Professional Staff

Cons: Long Walk to Downtown, Limited Family Restaurant Choces

I was in town for business and pleasure, so my family was with me. I was booked at the Renaissance by the company I was visiting, as it was across the street from their building. We were impressed from the minute we arrived. It was around 11:30, well before check in, but they had a room for us. While checking in, a staff member had slipped away and came back with gifts for my children. It was a simple toy, but they were excited. Also, when arriving at the hotel, my six year old noticed a plane flying by and commented about maybe seeing them from the room. One of the front desk employees heard his comment and stopped us as we were leaving to see if she could find us a room that faced the airport so he could have is wish. Unfortunately a room was not available, but I thought that was an "above and beyond" nice touch!

The room was big, clean and modern. The beds were very comfortable and the room offered a refrigerator and safe. The view was not impressive as we looked into the building across the street; but that's what drapes are for.

I did not see the pool, but my wife and kids did. Apparently it is a lap pool that is not very kid friendly unless the kids are the only ones there. Fortunately, in the late morning they had a chance to swim.

I would definitely consider this hotel when in town for a meeting at the conference center, but not if I wanted to spend time downtown. While it is quite close to the conference center, it is a hike to downtown. We also had trouble finding family friendly food options near the hotel. Most of the restaurants seemed more upscale. The place suggested by the concierge appeared to be a good fit until we were told it was a two hour wait! They had most of the place booked for a private event, tied to the convention that was in town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The007Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Clean and comfortable rooms. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is close to the convention center and other attractions. Too many restaurants to list in the area.

The bar was a great place to watch Sunday football. Karen is a great bartender!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel this week. The staff was friendly and the hotel was lovely. Most of the older hotels in Boston have small rooms so it was a real treat having a large room. The hotel is located near the convention center and the seaport or harbor. Many restaurants are nearby and the transit station is very close. You can catch the silver line straight to the central transit station for easy access to anywhere. I love Boston because there are so many things to do and see.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Attended a conference hosted at this hotel, and got a pretty good rate compared to market prices. Have no complaints. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable beds, decent sized bathroom... The view could have been a bit better, but I assume the rate I paid matched the view I got. ;)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaydfwtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The hotel was clean and fresh. I was surprised by how large the room was. I also appreciated the refrigerator in the room. The mattress could have been more comfortable. When I first moved in, I could hear the family next door, but once they left, it was very quiet. It is very well located to the convention center. I was able to take the Silverline bus back to the airport in about 8 minutes for $2.50.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was in Boston for a conference with my company paying the tab so booked this hotel despite its HIGH price because it was so close to the convention center. Upon arriving I was excited to stay as the lobby was pretty fancy but that was over fast as it appears this hotel spent all their money on the lobby and now has to nickle and dime guests which is really just annoying($17 dollar a day Wifi cost). I checked out some of the hotels of my colleagues and they were nicer, slightly cheaper, closer to the convention center(if only by a block), and didn't have nickle and dime their guests. If your in town for a convention I recommend trying somewhere else as there are definitely better options.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is sparkly and new, so I was excited to get to my room. Upon entering, I saw 2 of the smallest beds (called "doubles") I have ever seen in an American business-oriented hotel. I called the front desk to request a room with a queen or king bed and was told the hotel was already "fully committed" and there were no-- zero-- rooms with queen size beds anyway (just full and king).. I can't say the hotel is terrible but I believe the inventory of full size (rather than queen) beds makes it"poor". The front desk was unwilling or unable to upgrade me to a larger room. If you are under 6 feet tall this hotel will likely be fine for you. Note also that there are very few amenities around the hotel, which is convenient to the convention center (my reason for being here) but little else. 7-11 is the only place nearby to buy food.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel if you need a queen or king sized bed. They do not guarantee at the time o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,970 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Allston / Brighton
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Address: 606 Congress St, Boston, MA 02210-2803
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Boston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#31 Business Hotel in Boston
#32 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £88 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Boston Waterfront hotel is located in South Boston, Massachusetts and features luxurious accommodations with the latest amenities. This Boston Waterfront hotel is ideal for meeting functions and wedding events, as it offers luxurious spaces with Seaport District views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Boston
Boston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing