We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice building, good service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice building, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Made a trip into Boston for a Red Sox game and wanted to spend the evening. Parking, the hotel charges 46 dollars to park your vechile. We drove a block and a half and parked at the cruise garage and paid 16 dollars for 24 hour parking.

Very nice lobby, we did not use any of the shops or restaurants during our stay. We arrived very early and I was not expecting to check in but rather check our bags and check in later in the day. Front desk staff was great and was able to find us a room that was ready and check us in early. This was fantastic.

Room was modern, clean and had comfortable beds.

The location is not the most convient to all the major boston attractions but the silver line is just behind the hotel. If you are visitng purchase the all day pass for 12 dollars. It is worth every penny and rememebr that kids 12 and under ride free with a paying adult.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    540
    148
    43
    20
See reviews for
220
298
70
541
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed just the one night for a convention. The Renaissance is very well situated (close to many attractions and places to eat), so if you are in the Seaport District for a convention/conference, you can't beat the location. Lobby areas and rooms are beautifully appointed with trendy (not too trendy!) decor and fine furnishings. Beds were extremely comfortable and our room/other areas of the hotel were kept very clean.

One big plus was the bar and lounge area downstairs. The drinks were good and reasonably priced (for being in downtown Boston) and the apps/lite bites that you can get to go with the drinks were excellent. Service was good and it served as a good location to meet up with others who were in the area.

The one issue we did have was with the Valet parking. As soon as we pulled up, the valet attendant explained to us that he was "all full" due to the number of people in town. The drive up half circle was super crowded, with cars backing up into the street - more chaotic than we are used to for a hotel in a city location. We must have looked at the attendant like he was crazy and we asked him what he expected us to do with our vehicle (since we were staying overnight). Eventually he had us pull over to the side while he figured out what was to be done. In the end he was able to find someplace to put the car, but the whole process took about 25 minutes: 25 minutes we really didn't have to spend sitting and waiting. Truthfully the whole pull in/unload process was far more complicated than it needed to be. Had we known, we would have tried going it on our own by self-parking in one of the adjacent lots. How can a hotel that frequently services large amounts of convention-goers not have this process better orchestrated?

One other more nitpicky issue was that no change could be made at the front desk (they explained that they only keep denominations of $50 out front). We were told that smaller amounts of change could be made at the valet desk, however when we got there the man told us to go outside and make change with one of the drivers. Again, we would expect a little more from a hotel of this caliber.

All in all, we were pleased with our stay which would have been perfect (had it not been for the above two issues). Would likely stay there again if the need arose...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed two nights for a conference. 5 star comfort, convenience, cleanliness and service. On the pricier side but you get what you pay for. No free parking and No free internet. Has a pool and a gym. Easy access to the Airport and nice water-view eating options. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Room was very comfortable and location was great. Access to public transportation and restaurants a plus, especially if you want a less expensive ride to Logan airport. Ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant and the pancakes were really good. Dinner menu a bit too fussy for my taste but the server recommended some nearby places and that worked out great. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if in the Boston area.

Room Tip: Silver Line bus to and from Logan Airport is accessible nearby the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clh622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at the Renaissance two nights for a business trip. Easy access to downtown and all the sites in Boston. Plenty of choices nearby for eating. Don't like that they charge for wifi. Good workout room.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front (street) side of the hotel -- better view of downtown and the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Can't complain much about this hotel other than cost. Staff was friendly. Room was clean. It is conveniently located on the waterfront and within walking distance to lots of restaurants and the concert pavilion. They do charge for internet service and parking isn't cheap whether you self park or valet. Be warned that none of the restaurants or bars near the area are cheap. All are fairly pricey.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jujugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very nice hotel! In South Boston near the industrial area! Lady at front desk was VERY nice and helpful! Great service all around! Didn't have a view.. But also didn't pay for the view room. Didn't eat at the restaurant in the hotel. Only things I could say negatively are #1.. They charge for WiFi .. This always blows my mind... #2 the pool was very narrow and shallow.. Overall great comfortable stay.. Very clean and walking distance to lots of bars/restaurants/attractions!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nimrod2518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,331 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#68 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Envoy Hotel, Autograph Collection
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#59 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Property: Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Address: 606 Congress St, Boston, MA 02210-2803
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Boston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Boston Waterfront hotel is located in South Boston and features luxurious accommodations with the latest amenities. This Boston Waterfront hotel is ideal for meeting functions, and wedding events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Boston
Boston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing