We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Charming, Affordable Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gryphon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gryphon House
Ranked #4 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodside, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Charming, Affordable Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

I will definitely be returning to the Gryphon House. It is affordable, clean, inviting, comfortable and convenient. The breakfast is very basic (breads, pastries, yogurt, cereal, fruit, coffee/tea and juice) but included in the price of a room with a fireplace, flat screen tv with tons of channels and a dvd player (dvds can be borrowed from the library), kitchenette and private bathroom, it is perfectly fine. It is near the Kenmore Square T-stop, not far from Fenway, and in walking distance to BU, so it is great for visiting schools and sites in the Boston area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    64
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
74
161
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Great location - walk to Fenway, BU, Newbury Street, or the Charles. Always feel welcome and at home. Fantastic. Have stayed many times.

Room Tip: View the rooms on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adhesives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henniker, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

I bought my husband tickets to see the Drop Kick Murphy's for Christmas It was for St. Patty's Day for my Irish man. I asked him where we should stay. He said check out if they have any B&B's. I can across theGryohon House. Read all the reviews and made our resevations. WOW what an amazing treasure.Stay in the Tuscany or Morning side rooms. It is VERY close to Fennway and Kemore Q\Square and the Green line which will take you to any of the tourist atractions you want to see. Quincey Market and all the shopping streets. We will Definatly be going back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

We had a fabulous room in a historic brownstone in Kenmore. The inn was so great we changed our plans to spend more time in the room. The owners and saff were great.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Amazing B&B. Among the best I've ever stayed in. Warm, gracious, cozy and inviting. The house is an architectural gem in and of itself. Built in 1895, it has the original moulding, floors, spiral stair case and the same French made mural wallpaper that also hangs in the Smithsonian. I know this because I bothered to ask about the history of the house from the owner, given the beautiful interior design. But the best part is the gas enclosed fireplace in each room and comfortable beds, which makes sleeping a pleasure not found in any standart hotel. My son and I stayed in the house during a visit to the BerkleeCollege of Music which is in walking distance. The Gryphon House's location makes it easy to access public transportation that can take you anywhere in the city, including Harvard, BU, the old city and more. The owner and her staff could not have been more hospitable, making sure we felt comfortable and secure. We could nogt have been more pleased with this great find.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbhesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed 4 nights at the Gryphon and would love to have stayed longer. We were in the 'Garden Room' (Be warned, this refers to the decor not to a garden outlook) which had an array of curous lights and pictures, a tea-making area and a spacious bathroom - and a cosy gas flare fire that came on acording to the temperature you set. The window was a bit hard to open but at least it was possble to do so when needed. The owner and her helpers were helpful and charming to talk to. The breakfast area is full of books: lovely. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thoughtfulBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

I've now stayed at the Gryphon 3 times and enjoyed more each time. I've stayed in three different rooms and each had its own charm. The Garden room (lower level) was reasonably priced, the North Tower had great river views although the oriental art deco decor was not to my taste, the Morningside had the best layout and wonderful bay windows and lots of sun.
Walking in the neighborhood is fantastic, whether on the Esplanade or through the neighborhoods, it's my favorite pass time in Boston, and this location near the river is perfect as a launching pad, with easy access to the T as well. Perfect for BU parents to boot.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CooterCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,203 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,230 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#36 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gryphon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gryphon House

Property: Gryphon House
Address: 9 Bay State Rd, Boston, MA 02215-2115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gryphon House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even though our 8 room B&B townhouse, between Back Bay & Boston University, is a short walk from some of the city’s finest attractions, it's so beautiful and comfortable that you may just want to stay in with us! The fully appointed accommodations, friendly, knowledgeable staff, and extremely high level of service, combine to form a truly delightful experience for all our guests! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gryphon House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing