We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value/location/service in town!”
Review of Gryphon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gryphon House
Ranked #5 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best value/location/service in town!”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Consistent in quality and courtesy, as well!! Great location for BU and Fenway Park!! Also near transportation and good running and biking areas!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyTMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    68
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
80
169
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

That was my first thought when I entered the RiverView room after climbing the mural-wrapped staircase. It was inviting and comfortable. Every detail of the professional decoration was perfect, and as one would hope in Boston, the highlight was the gas fireplace. From the windows is easy to look past the immediate view of roads and traffic to the nice view of the river.
The Gryphon House was less than 3 blocks from a T stop (I had never used a subway before, but with helpful explanations from the Gryphon House staff, I used the T to go to Harvard). The stroll up Commonwealth to the Commons, Prudential Towers, Copley Square, etc. offered many opportunities to enjoy the architecture, the trees and small front gardens of the residential areas - and Newbury Street offered all of the shopping and dining experiences anyone could want. The area felt very safe for an individual walking after dark.
The Gryphon House offered a nice, simple continental breakfast. The staff was extremely friendly, and they were well-prepared with directions to various locations, etc.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY/NJ
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I've been staying at the Gryphon House for 8 years and always feel right at home. Conveniently right off Storrow Drive, with the entrance in the back, and "my room" downstairs, it makes for easy in and out. I love being able to make a pot of tea or coffee whenever I want, or bring back leftovers from dinner nearby. Breakfast in the morning, while simple, is always good, and I never leave hungry. Being within walking distance of Fenway, House of Blues and the T make this a perfect spot.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I will definitely be returning to the Gryphon House. It is affordable, clean, inviting, comfortable and convenient. The breakfast is very basic (breads, pastries, yogurt, cereal, fruit, coffee/tea and juice) but included in the price of a room with a fireplace, flat screen tv with tons of channels and a dvd player (dvds can be borrowed from the library), kitchenette and private bathroom, it is perfectly fine. It is near the Kenmore Square T-stop, not far from Fenway, and in walking distance to BU, so it is great for visiting schools and sites in the Boston area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Great location - walk to Fenway, BU, Newbury Street, or the Charles. Always feel welcome and at home. Fantastic. Have stayed many times.

Room Tip: View the rooms on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adhesives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henniker, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I bought my husband tickets to see the Drop Kick Murphy's for Christmas It was for St. Patty's Day for my Irish man. I asked him where we should stay. He said check out if they have any B&B's. I can across theGryohon House. Read all the reviews and made our resevations. WOW what an amazing treasure.Stay in the Tuscany or Morning side rooms. It is VERY close to Fennway and Kemore Q\Square and the Green line which will take you to any of the tourist atractions you want to see. Quincey Market and all the shopping streets. We will Definatly be going back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We had a fabulous room in a historic brownstone in Kenmore. The inn was so great we changed our plans to spend more time in the room. The owners and saff were great.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,440 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#12 of 83 in Boston
2,071 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,301 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gryphon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gryphon House

Property: Gryphon House
Address: 9 Bay State Rd, Boston, MA 02215-2115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gryphon House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even though our 8 room B&B townhouse, between Back Bay & Boston University, is a short walk from some of the city’s finest attractions, it's so beautiful and comfortable that you may just want to stay in with us! The fully appointed accommodations, friendly, knowledgeable staff, and extremely high level of service, combine to form a truly delightful experience for all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Gryphon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gryphon House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing