We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boston Vacation”
Review of Gryphon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gryphon House
Ranked #5 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Boston Vacation”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We spent three nights here as our base for touring Revolutionary War sites in and around Boston. It was also our fifteen wedding anniversary so we were looking for more romantic accomodations that fit our tour theme. Gryphon House was excellent on both counts! The Inn has been meticulously restored to it's original glamoure with beautiful hardwood floors, tile, furnishings, and a friendly and helpful staff. The staircase to the rooms is particularly remarkable with it's curved wooden handrail (one piece from bottom to top). We found the location to be convenient to local restaraunts and the subway in Kenmore Square and if you are a baseball fan it is almost next door to Fenway Park. Subway ride was five stops to Boston Commons. We stayed in the Tower Room on the top floor which was a bit of a challenge with heavy suitcases as there is no elevator, but we managed quite well and the view of the Charles River was excellent! We would highly recommend this top notch Inn to anyone who is looking to depart from the standard hotel faire and sample a bit of history.

Room Tip: Top floor is a bit of a trek but well worth the view and peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Super! Glad to share in both your anniversary celebrations and your historical research trips! Thank you for the lovely review and for staying with us! It was a pleasure having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    67
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
165
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Beautiful old house right off Kenmore Square! My husband and I recently spent 3 nights in the Victoria room. Loved it! Spotless and very comfortable. Continental breakfast was plentiful and the location was perfect. We loved having a little kitchen available and the extra space to relax in the room. All in all, a wonderful place to stay in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This place was great!!! But I'm hesitant to write a great review because I'd really like to keep this place a secret!! We stayed in the Sanctuary and it was splendid. Although the room had a full kitchen and a wood burner, we did not use either. The room and bath were super clean. Breakfast was just what we wanted - nothing heavy. As Red Sox fans we found the short walk to Fenway a real joy. (Our only problem was that our game was rained out that night) When we return to Boston, this is the first we will consider.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankrguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
C'mon, don't keep it to yourself--we love it when you spread the good word about us! Thanks for doing that on TripAdvisor, where it really counts ! We'll try to save you a room and make sure it stays dry for your next Sox game (if only we could do that)! Thanks a million for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband & I stayed one night @ Gryphon House, but I wish we could have stayed longer! The staff was vey friendly & helpful. We stayed in the garden room, which was as beautiful as the rest of the house. The location is perfect to park your car & walk. We walked to Fenway & to some fun eating & drinking establishments.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you for your business, and for taking the time to give us a great review! We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Wow! We stayed in the Sanctuary suite in the basement, it was very comfortable and clean. Great beds, lovely bathroom and a fully functioning kitchen with wood burner (though it was very hot during our stay so we didn't use it). The decor is eclectic throughout, homely and decorated to a high standard - in a suitable period for the age of the building - tasteful! Teresa couldn't have been more accomodating as were all the ladies on duty during our stay. Breakfast was a feast of fresh breads, cereals of all types, fresh fruit salad, eggs, croissants, bagels and english muffins, pastries, coffee and more tea than China! Even after breakfast was over there was always fresh fruit, biscotti and a drawer full of various teas available. The surrounding area was ideal for Boston itself, easy ride on the subway and just a five minute walk to the Fenway Ball Park. During our stay there was a game on every evening and although well supported it never felt overwhelming as the crowds entered the vacinity just a friendly buzz of activity. Plenty of places to eat locally, Bertucci and Uno in particular. Would definitely recommend Gryphon House to anyone wishing to visit Boston and experience it in an authentic New England guest house, a very friendly welcome from everyone, somewhat different to the usual cold reception of NYC where we had visited prior to Boston. I sincerely hope to visit again.

Room Tip: We were three travelling so Sanctuary was the only choice available having three beds. It was in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bev2richie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
You guys! Thanks! It was totally our pleasure to have you here--you were delightful guests!
It was so much fun to share our house and our city with you. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

As of now Gryphon House is rated #5. Although there are 46 Boston B&Bs on TA, it is hard to believe that there is a better place to stay. Our room was spotless and well-appointed. The bed was comfortable and did not leave my back aching the next day. Although the room (Aerie) faces the street, I had to press my ear to the window to hear any street noise (okay, I didn't really press my ear to the window, but you get the idea). I looked forward to breakfast every morning--quite a variety. Wonderful staff. My very picky friend recommended Gryphon House to me. If they can please him, they can please anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Wow! Thanks! Do I need to mention that this is currently my favorite review? :)
We really, really, really appreciate your kind response! Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

If you don't wish to stay in a typical hotel, this is a great option. We had a terrific stay here and it is near Fenway, and some great restaurants too such as Eastern Standard. It is an easy walk away from Boston University and Kenmore Metro Stop, it is also very convenient.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be terrific but we opted for the basement or lower level and felt it offered n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaFromCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for giving us a nice review! We hope you'll return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,356 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,261 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
1,887 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gryphon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gryphon House

Property: Gryphon House
Address: 9 Bay State Rd, Boston, MA 02215-2115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gryphon House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even though our 8 room B&B townhouse, between Back Bay & Boston University, is a short walk from some of the city’s finest attractions, it's so beautiful and comfortable that you may just want to stay in with us! The fully appointed accommodations, friendly, knowledgeable staff, and extremely high level of service, combine to form a truly delightful experience for all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Gryphon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gryphon House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing