We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a gem for those who prefer quality over quantity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gryphon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gryphon House
Ranked #4 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly a gem for those who prefer quality over quantity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have stayed at the Gryphon house for a number of years visiting my children at Boston University. We have also stayed at other hotels during that period Including the Four Seasons the Commonwealth and a number of chain establishments. The Griffin house provides a quality and comfort level equal to the high-end establishments in a much more cozy setting. The friendly and accommodative staff completes the picture.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorotockeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you so much! We're so pleased to have your loyalty! It makes our jobs worthwhile to know that folks like you appreciate the ambience of the Gryphon House. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    64
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
74
161
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend here to celebrate both our anniversary and her birthday. We live in Saratoga Springs but wanted the eclectic "lite urban" feel of Boston and Cambridge for a change in mid-November.

The Gryphon House has 360 degrees of classic charm, from architecture to furnishings and feel. Upscale without any gaudiness, we felt a homey pampering in every experience we had. After a day walking through the Fenway we looked forward to returning to sit by the fire before going out to dinner.

A fun staff and nice quiet other guests complete the trip.

A definite "keeper" for those who eschew the ordinary!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Wow, back at you! It was great to have you both with us on such an auspicious weekend! :) You guys were wonderful guests. Thank you so much for such an amazing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed at Gryphon House for two weeks with my sister. It was not like staying at a hotel, not even a B&B. It was like staying at a very dear friend's house. Beautiful building, decorated with home like old furniture. Very friendly and nice people. During my stay I always felt the existence of a very thoughtful person, taking care of our needs even before we needed them. Her name is Teresa. Already she became a close friend. I cannot think of any other place to stay when in Boston.
İpek Nil

Room Tip: For travellers who avoid stairs, there is no elevator. They should stay in the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ipek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Oh, Ipek, thank you! It was our pleasure to have you and your sister stay with us! And I do consider you to be dear friends of mine, now, too! It is people like you that have made my job fulfilling and pleasurable for over fifteen years, and to keep looking forward to the future. You were a joy! Thank you very much for everything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

great location, huge nice rooms, generous breakfast! Boston hotels are very expensive, and most just large institutions. This is small, quiet, extremely large rooms in an area around Boston University and close to everything. The MBTA (subway) is just 2 blocks away and the whole area is accessible from there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandyTMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Once again, thank you! We 're always glad to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Gryphon House 5 or 6 times now and every stay has been a great experience. The rooms are reasonably priced compared to area hotels, they're clean and spacious and offer other amenities like the kitchenette in each room. The breakfasts are well stocked and my specialized dietary needs are always accounted for. The location is very convenient - 2 minute walk to the T, 7-10 minute walk to Fenway and Newbury Street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wintereclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Wow! That's what we like to hear! Thanks for continuing to come stay with us, and thanks for the great review! Hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Clean, comfortable, spacious, nice character, good location.
Most of the chain hotels in Boston were sold out this week, so I tried out the Gryphon House. Glad I did. Everything was very nice. Rooms were well-appointed. I liked the fireplace, which was controlled with a thermostat on the wall. I was in the Morningside room, upstairs. It was very spacious. It was a little loud with some of the traffic. My colleague had the Sanctuary room downstairs, which I actually thought was a nice room. It had some nice dark wood and warm colors. Same deal with the fireplace. The sanctuary had a single bed in addition to the queen. Cool place.

Room Tip: go Sanctuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShayneFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much! I'm sorry the traffic bothered you--Morningside, although beautiful, is our least quiet room, for sure! We do hope you'll return to stay with us again, and we'll be sure to give you a white noise machine to help out with any distractions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

On a recent, and first trip to Boston, my husband stumbled across this B&B on TripAdivisor. We were extremely pleased with our room (North Tower) and the staff. We were there for 3 nights, and found the location excellent to access The Tube, and get around Boston. Teresa has made so many notes to help you get to places, whether walking, cab, or subway. We were on the fourth floor, and there is no elevator, so this may effect you decision, but it was nice to have so much space for an extended stay. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: No street noise on top floor, that was mentioned by some. Great views of the Charles River from our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you, Tricia! It was our pleasure to have you guys stay with us! Glad you thought it worth the climb! We hope you will return again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,214 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
The Verb Hotel
#13 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gryphon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gryphon House

Property: Gryphon House
Address: 9 Bay State Rd, Boston, MA 02215-2115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gryphon House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even though our 8 room B&B townhouse, between Back Bay & Boston University, is a short walk from some of the city’s finest attractions, it's so beautiful and comfortable that you may just want to stay in with us! The fully appointed accommodations, friendly, knowledgeable staff, and extremely high level of service, combine to form a truly delightful experience for all our guests! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gryphon House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing