We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in Boston”
Review of Gryphon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gryphon House
Ranked #5 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for five nights and had a great time. Teresa and her team are very friendly and helpful and the house is lovely. We stayed in Morningside which is a large and very well equipped room and was great to come back to after a days sightseeing. It was lovely to switch on the fire and watch a dvd from the large selection. There is also a super comfortable bed and equally well equipped bathroom. The breakfast is plentiful and has great variery and you can take it back to your room.

The location is great - very close to the T and many nice places to eat. Also only 10 mins from Newbury Street with great shopping!!

All in all a lovely place to stay and one which I would recommend to anyone who wants a friendly and comfortable place to stay in Boston.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you so much! You guys were so fun to talk to--I really hope to see you here again!
So glad you enjoyed staying with us and visiting Boston. Thank you for all your great comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a superb five night stay. The Gryphon team were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. When asking for lemons for my hot water and they did not happen to have any the next day they appeared in our room and on the breakfast table. The continental was nutritious and plentiful.
As mentioned by previous reviewers very near to the T and an excellent location for the airport. 15mins by cab but that was 5.30am on a Sunday morning! Good eateries nearby after a tiring day walking. Umbrellas supplied if needed and an abundance of reading material if you have left books at home..
Thank you Gryphon House for your hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tuscany. Very comfortable. Not a problem for us but there is a busy intersection outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roibush3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Oh, you two were lovely! Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad to hear the cab was quick on Sunday and I hope your trip home wasn't too onerous! :). It was our pleasure to have you here, and we're so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves in our city and our house! Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here during Patriots Day weekend for the Boston Marathon. It was a perfect location for our needs, close to the Kenmore Square T, the Charles River esplanade, and the Back Bay restaurants and shops. Riverview Room was clean, comfortable and mostly insulated from street noise. It's an old house, so sound carries from room to room and you will hear your neighbors, however. Staff was extremely accommodating and responsive, friendly and even offered to provide a special breakfast tray for me the night before the race. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkAndNancyInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks so much, guys! We really enjoyed having you. I'm very sorry about the noise from the children who were upstairs from you. We try to encourage guests with small children to take advantage of our ground floor accommodations, so that everyone is more comfortable and the kids can run about freely, but it doesn't always work out that way. You were very understanding and we appreciate that!
We look forward to seeing you both again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the Gryphon house for one night. I wish we could have stayed longer. First of all the staff and, I think owner, were nothing but nice. The house is beautiful. There are plenty of comfy spots to hang out and read in the living room. There are snacks and hot beverages on offer all day and night. There is a plethora of movies to choose from. Our room was the Victoria room. Yes there are stairs- that's what makes it charming. It seems like other reviewers have a problem with this. There were loud mouths outside at night. Next time I will partake in the white noise machine. All that can be completely overlooked when you see all the little things that are taken care of. You can control your room temperature. There are many places in the room (which is more like an apartment) to get ready in. There is a kitchen. The TV and stereo work. The bathroom is beautiful and stocked with many towels (I am always stuck with one towel). You could open a window. The location is perfect to get to Fenway and Newbury street. Here is the clincher and why this is the best bed and breakfast I have stayed in, in Boston. The breakfast. Every other b and b we have stayed in, in Boston serves this minute, lack of variety, breakfast. Boston has a rule that a b and b can't serve hot food for breakfast. Therefore, most b and b's serve cheese, bread and some sweet pastry. At Gryphon there were so many choices- fruit, yogurt, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, toast, peanut butter, pastries, I could go on. Plus the other places we have stayed in charged so much more than the Gryphon House. Did I mention the $15. parking? That is a great deal for Boston! All these amenities makes it our new destination in Boston.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GivemeaTfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Wow! Thanks! We're definitely ready to welcome you back anytime! And we'll make sure the "loud mouth preventative" is in place, as well! :) We really appreciate your comprehensive review, and very much enjoyed having you here. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed at Gryphon House this past weekend for three nights in the Riverview room, and absolutely loved it. Not only was it super-clean, the breakfast buffet was excellent -- everything from cereal and oatmeal to baked goods and biscotti -- not bad for a continental breakfast. Tara could not have been nicer to us, giving us directions everywhere, holding our luggage, greeting us with just the right amount of friendliness but also respecting our privacy. The room was quite large, and the two comfy armchairs in the bay window (with a view of the river, natch) made it all quite comfortable. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Riverview room (facing away from Bay State Road) was quiet. I imagine rooms facing Bay State would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjrutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you so much! You guys were great, and I agree--Tara is the best! We appreciated your choice to stay with us, and we hope you will return to stay with us often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for a long Valentine's Day weekend in "Riverview", a welcome respite from the blizzard outside! This mission style room, really a suite, is huge, fresh, well-appointed, and offers a soulful picture window of the Charles--wonderful "repurposing" of an elegant old brownstone. There's bottomless biscotti, and owner Teresa is lovely!

Room Tip: We loved the light in "Riverview".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LRR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thanks for sharing a special time with us. We especially appreciate our wintertime guests, who are willing to brave the elements in their quest to enjoy our fair city, and your intrepid spirits brightened every day that you were here! We hope you'll come to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were delighted to spend two nights in this gorgeous brownstone, conveniently located within walking distance to everything in the Back Bay. From the helpful staff (Sara) and gracious owner (Teresa), to the delicious in-room breakfast and hand-painted original wallpaper, the Gryphon House charmed us at every turn! Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueHorseInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you! Your place looks amazing, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#7 of 84 in Boston
4,486 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,234 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gryphon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gryphon House

Address: 9 Bay State Rd, Boston, MA 02215-2115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £62 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gryphon House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even though our 8 room B&B townhouse, between Back Bay & Boston University, is a short walk from some of the city’s finest attractions, it's so beautiful and comfortable that you may just want to stay in with us! The fully appointed accommodations, friendly, knowledgeable staff, and extremely high level of service, combine to form a truly delightful experience for all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gryphon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gryphon House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing