We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”
Review of Gryphon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gryphon House
Ranked #5 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the North Tower room on the top floor with our two teenage daughters. We had previously spent a week in New York City (hotel for one night and a modern self-catering apartment for the remainder), so we loved the contrast here. Gryphon House is a beautifully decorated old Brownstone building in a quiet location, and our room had a lovely view over the Charles River. We received a wonderful welcome from Theresa (including even helping us to carry our luggage up the stairs!), helping us to feel very much at home, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As other reviewers have pointed out, there is no elevator and no hot breakfast, but we knew this in advance so it was not a disappointment.
For a family of four we felt it was very good value, and the location was great - close to Kenmore 'T' station - though we often walked down to Newbury Street which is wonderful for shops and restaurants (we would recommend "Roost" for a great meal). Gryphon House is also close enough to the Charles River if you want to go jogging along the river path or over the bridge. All in all, a great experience, and we all wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks so much, Andy! It was a pleasure having you and your family here with us--you are we're lovely, and so much fun to be around! Glad you all enjoyed your visit! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    67
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
80
168
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here during a five-day first time visit to Boston and this proved to be an excellent base.

We wanted somewhere in a central location with a large room (there were three in our party) that was also reasonable value for money.

The Gryphon didn't disappoint on any counts.

Some other reviewers have commented on value for money versus other B&B options. While not disagreeing with others’ comments, I think it’s worth pointing out that the room sizes are large, you can come and go as you wish and the staff are consistently friendly and helpful.

While we would happily stay here again, there are two additional comments worth making:

Firstly, the breakfast selection, while perfectly adequate for our needs, was not enormous. If you're utterly dependant on a full, cooked English breakfast to start your day, then you will be disappointed.

Secondly, while the Gryphon’s website is clear that they don't have an elevator, you need to take this into account if you have lots of luggage and a limited capacity to carry baggage upstairs.

That said, if and when we cone back to Boston, we’d happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_S_Hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks, Peter! It was really a pleasure to meet you and your family. The whole staff enjoyed having you guys stay with us!
We appreciate your comments and hope to have you all visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We made our reservation the day we arrived and stayed for 2 nights. The location is great(2 blocks from the T) and the staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed here with 2 children and they were able to bring a nice big aerobed to the room for the 2nd child which was perfect for us. Breakfast was not hot but the granola was very good and my kids liked the baked choices. My only complaint was the AC in our room had a hard time keeping up. We were there on a hot day so it was a tiny bit stuffy (top floor). I did not mention it to the staff since it was not really an issue, just something we noticed. Overall, a great stay and we would go back.

Room Tip: If you are not in good shape, don't stay on the upper floors due to stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagelhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks for all your great comments! I'm sorry to hear it was a bit hot in your room. Please, always feel free to let us know immediately about any concerns you have--we may not be able to make it better, but we are certainly willing to try! :)
It was a pleasure meeting you guys--please visit us again when you come to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was truly torn writing this review. The facility, taking into consideration, the size of the room, how the room was appointed, cleanliness and location of the establishment, certainly merit the fourth star and perhaps a bit more. This however was no more a bed an breakfast than the Comfort Inn at two or three times the price, when viewed in the context of personal service, engaged staff, charm and the actual morning meal.

My wife and I have stayed in some of the best B and B's in the US, paying no more than the rates at Gryphon House. We have come to expect experienced, well trained staff who go out of their way to interact with guests in order to provide information on local activities and dining choices. In our four days at Gryphon we spoke a work or two with four or five very pleasant, very young girls who undoubtedly had not been at all trained in the ways of a B and B. Not a one was rude; but not a one made an effort to enhance our visit to Boston or the Gryphon.

Breakfast, often a highlight at a B and B, was a scant offering, put to shame by the $79 per night chains. We told two different staff of our need to leave at about 4:30 am to catch an early flight home; but neither offered to arrange for some breakfast item to be made available to us before our departure or the night before. We have always received a goody bag at other places under similar circumstances.

If you are looking for the B and B experience, go elsewhere. If you will be satisfied with a clean, large, charming room in a safe Boston neighborhood without the fluff, you will enjoy the Gryphon House. We did, actually. It is just mischaracterized.

A note to the proprietor: Treat yourself to a trip to Charleston South Carolina to spend a few days at 2 Meeting Street, (http://www.twomeetingstreet.com), an establishment similar in size and prices to yours. Ask to speak to the owner, Ms. Spell; and ask her what she thinks makes her B and B so special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wagesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks for your review. I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations! As you can see by most of our reviews, we pride ourselves on our service, and I am somewhat surprised and disappointed to hear that it was not as pleasant for you folks! It is our standard practice to offer a breakfast tray for early departures, so please accept my apologies for the oversight!
A note of clarification about our status as a B&B and our breakfasts: As a small, independent business we feel we do a pretty swell job, operating within the guidelines that have been set for us by the city of Boston, which prohibit cooking without a separate restaurant license. Likewise, we are not allowed "happy hour" without a liquor license! Different cities have different standards, but in our fair city, we are indeed a B&B!
The place you recommended in Charleston looks awesome! :)
Again, sorry you didn't have the best time here, but hope you enjoyed your trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed twice at the Gryphon House B & B - the first time for 4 nights in the Tuscany room and the second time for 1 night in the Garden Room. The rooms are decorated in a flowery antique style which suits the character of the building and all amenities and facilities are carefully thought out. Continental breakfast is self-serve in the downstairs lobby/sitting room area and there is complementary fresh fruit, biscotti, tea and coffee available at all times. The reception staff were very helpful with advice and phoning for taxis etc. Just be aware that there is no elevator, so if you have heavy suitcases, best to either get one of the rooms in the lower level or on the 1st floor. The area has many restaurants nearby so you don't have to go too far for an evening meal. It is also quite near a T subway train station.

Room Tip: The downstairs Garden Room is cool and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks, guys! We loved having you here! We've often found our guests from Australia to be among the friendliest and most fun people to stay with us, and you fit that description perfectly.
Glad to be a part of your vacation & happy memories! Thanks for sharing it with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a place you come to if you're not the hotel type. It's a beautiful brownstone converted to a B&B. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly!! They get A++(Samantha and Annie). The breakfast are nice-could use a few more beverages other than milk and oj. A nice touch would be to have iced lemon water in a dispenser during the day too. This is such a charming hotel it needs to have charming touches with it. We agreed the towels and bedding(pillows in particular) do match the quality of place this is. The plumbing is a bit slow as well. It's located in the Back Bay really close to Boston U and MIt and Fenway. It's a hike to the city area, however, we didn't mind it one bit. Takes about 50 minutes to get to the waterfront/northend walking. The outside garden area also could use some tlc to match the darling decor of the main floor. Keep up the charm ! The parking for $15/day is a HUGE plus for people like us who drive on our vacations!

Room Tip: Just know they do not have an elevator and they have 4 floors. We did not mind that at all,though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much! As an owner, it is especially nice to get great comments about our staff--we're pretty proud of them! And in this case, the two young ladies you mentioned have only been with us for a short time, so they really appreciated the high score, as well!
We're always happy to provide iced water (& ice) for our guests upon request, but the iced lemon water you suggest sounds very refreshing--I just bought a big bag of lemons to make some!
Thanks for all your comments, and do come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Gryphon House was perfect for our stay in Boston. The building has a lot of character and it is close to everything. Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys heritage buildings and the comfort of a B&B.

Room Tip: The Morningside room is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Glad to have you with us, Michael! Thanks for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,415 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
1,981 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,276 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gryphon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gryphon House

Property: Gryphon House
Address: 9 Bay State Rd, Boston, MA 02215-2115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gryphon House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even though our 8 room B&B townhouse, between Back Bay & Boston University, is a short walk from some of the city’s finest attractions, it's so beautiful and comfortable that you may just want to stay in with us! The fully appointed accommodations, friendly, knowledgeable staff, and extremely high level of service, combine to form a truly delightful experience for all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Gryphon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gryphon House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing