We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“imaginative, clean, friendly service.”
Review of Gryphon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gryphon House
Ranked #4 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“imaginative, clean, friendly service.”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed 4 nights at the Gryphon and would love to have stayed longer. We were in the 'Garden Room' (Be warned, this refers to the decor not to a garden outlook) which had an array of curous lights and pictures, a tea-making area and a spacious bathroom - and a cosy gas flare fire that came on acording to the temperature you set. The window was a bit hard to open but at least it was possble to do so when needed. The owner and her helpers were helpful and charming to talk to. The breakfast area is full of books: lovely. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thoughtfulBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    67
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
77
164
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I've now stayed at the Gryphon 3 times and enjoyed more each time. I've stayed in three different rooms and each had its own charm. The Garden room (lower level) was reasonably priced, the North Tower had great river views although the oriental art deco decor was not to my taste, the Morningside had the best layout and wonderful bay windows and lots of sun.
Walking in the neighborhood is fantastic, whether on the Esplanade or through the neighborhoods, it's my favorite pass time in Boston, and this location near the river is perfect as a launching pad, with easy access to the T as well. Perfect for BU parents to boot.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CooterCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We have stayed at the Gryphon house several times and have never been disappointed with the accommodations or the hospitality. The rooms are well appointed suites with attention to detail for the restorations done. You'll feel like you stepped back in time and will immediately go into relax mode. Parking is onsite and a T stop is right down the street. Close to Newbury Street, Fenway Park and the Pru, all are within walking distance. Super for catching the Red Sox - Fenway Park is a few blocks away. For the location, size of the rooms, and convenience, this is a great value. We've stayed in four of the rooms and intend to stay in all of them. It's a great retreat.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copylot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeenwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Gryphon before and no other facility is even sugested when we visit Boston. This place is absolutely beautiful. Service was wonderful, the decor was unbelievable and we can understand why this B&B was rated #1 in the entire city of Boston a few years back. We definately recommend this great place, close to about everything, to anyone wanting one of the best getaways ever.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I stayed at Gryphon House in June, 2010. Overall it was a nice B&B. The entrance way is lovely, gorgeious living room with books and games. The service was not great, the woman who attended to guests was rather clueless when asked for advice about local stuff. We had two rooms - on the 3rd and 4th floors. The rooms are very nice, but decorations about overdone. Each room had small bedroom (in top floor suite, bedroom was small and over furnished), living room area and lovely bathroom. I was put off by all the stairs to get to our rooms, but that's just me. The breakfasts were unimpressive. The location wasn't bad - near a subway stop, some restaurants and walking distance to the main shopping/restaurant area. Overall, I would not go there again but this is mostly due to the steps issue for me.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiryGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Very comfortable accommodation in an old Brownstone. We stayed in the North Tower (top floor) and Victorian Room (top floor but one) for 3 nights in June 2010. Both are very generously proportioned and comfortably furnished in the antique style. Excellent value at around $200 per night per room. Great views over the river toward Cambridge from the North Tower, although it's rather a climb - no lift. Although the house backs onto the Mass Turnspike, there was no undue noise and the airconditioning was efficient. Three minor quibbles: (1) breakfasts were very dull, devoid of variety and consisted of the same boring sweet carbs, and packaged jams etc, each day. Even if cooking is not allowed on the premises (as one is advised), why not have a fruit salad, hard-boiled eggs and a selection of cold meats and cheeses, especially in view of the availability of excellent fresh produce at reasonable prices? (This is more or less the same crticism I have with almost all the five inns we stayed at in New England on the same holiday). (2) In the summer heat (90 deg plus) it's a fairly arduous walk to Newbury Street, and more so further afield. 'T' at Kenmore Sq is closer, though. (3) The receptionists were kind but not knowledgeable; inn-keeper makes no appearance which can be a good thing! Despite these complaints I would stay here again, but self-cater or go out for breakfast to one of the many and varied restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsn_chiaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Great location in heart of Boston. Walking distance to green T station, restaurants, Fenway parks, gardens, museums etc beautifully maintained 1895 town home. Riverview room beautiful- mission style, spacious, seating area and granite kitchenette. Switched from Aeirie room one floor above that was not comfortable and needs a makeover. Breakfast continental only. Friendly but scarce staff. It's a come and go as you please place. Would most definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyfellowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#14 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gryphon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gryphon House

Property: Gryphon House
Address: 9 Bay State Rd, Boston, MA 02215-2115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gryphon House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even though our 8 room B&B townhouse, between Back Bay & Boston University, is a short walk from some of the city’s finest attractions, it's so beautiful and comfortable that you may just want to stay in with us! The fully appointed accommodations, friendly, knowledgeable staff, and extremely high level of service, combine to form a truly delightful experience for all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Gryphon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gryphon House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing