We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Boston
Ranked #76 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Hoosick Falls, NY, United States
1 review
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The staff was excellent. They were so helpful with the public transportation. They were very accommodating to myself as well as other guests' special requests regarding check out and cleaning. I was disappointed in the breakfast -- missing forks the first morning! And the seating area was very crowded with too much furniture for the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marcy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJS2013, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Marcy S, Thank you so much for the kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the staff. Also, we are sorry for the inconveniences during breakfast. Marathon Weekend is a very busy time a in Boston! Please come visit us again in near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    202
    124
    58
    35
See reviews for
260
90
37
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at Best Western University Hotel-Boston/Brighton, Boston, MASSACHUSETTS in March. The room was comfortable, the staff was friendly and attentive. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJS2013, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Matthew R, Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western University Hotel, especially your comfortable guestroom and friendly/attentive staff. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sycamore, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this no frills very basic hotel while visiting Boston University. It is a very ecconomical place to stay while visiting Boston. The "T" stop is very close by making traveling to sight seeing as well as the university very easy. Staff was very friendly, rooms were kept clean, and free breakfast buffet was good. There is a Tapas restaurant close by that is an excellent place to eat. Our room had older fixtures and bathroom was very small. However, I cannot complain for the price we paid. very basic, no frills, very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJS2013, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Carolyn A, Thank you for your candid feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the guestroom, breakfast, price and location. We agree, the Best Western University Hotel is a great value! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed there last Saturday and the rooms & bathroom were quite nice. Spacious, modern, clean with nice sheets, bedding, good bathroom. More like a Hilton.

Breakfast was a nice addition, but could have been healthier.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelma122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJS2013, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Adelma122, Thank you so much for your feedback. Since your review, we have decided to offer more healthier foods at breakfast. We would love to know what you and others would like to see added! Feedback like this is very important to us, as it helps us improve the hotel. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for two days while in Boston. Free parking and steps from the green line. It took about 25 minutes to get to downtown on the green line. It was a nice ride and we liked passing through the neighborhoods on the way down. The breakfast was decent and the hotel staff were very pleasant. We had a king size bed, which was very comfortable. The room was spacious and clean. The temperature of the water in the shower kept changing while I was showering, it was kind of annoying but I never called and complained so not sure what they would have done to fix it. I was in a room on the second floor. Overall I am very satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJS2013, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Danielle P, Thank you so much for your review of the hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the free parking, guestroom, staff and location to the T. In addition, we are sorry to hear about the water temperature while in the shower. We will look into this right away. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this Best Western! Friendly and accommodating staff. Close to Whole Foods and close to the Transit's Green Line. Decent Continental breakfast, and free parking are a plus! Looks like the place was recently refurbished, and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel regarding your stay. I am please to know you found our location so enjoyable. It is also nice to know that you thought our recent updates looked great. We are very excited to be doing some work to our hotel, and keeping our guests happy. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinalhaven, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have been staying at this hotel for years, and yes, it's a little worn down and could use some spiffing and updating. BUT we love it because 1) It's quiet, 2) We find the staff to be nice and helpful, 3) It's very close to a T-stop (on the green line), 4) They have free parking (a big plus), 5) They offer a pretty extensive, free continental breakfast (beyond just coffee and muffins), 6) It's clean, with new bed linens in the last year or so (cotton duvets rather than icky polyester bedspreads). It works very well for us when we visit Boston.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and location. Our accessibility along with our free parking and free breakfast have always made us an ideal hotel, for guests looking to enjoy Boston, but not pay the "Boston Rate". We are in the midst of updating several areas of our hotel. We always make it a point to order fresh linens each month, and keep up with our maintenance work. We hope to see you again in the future, so you can enjoy some of our recent updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Days Hotel Boston-Harvard Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Property: Hotel Boston
Address: 1650 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02135-5604 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located minutes from downtown Boston offering complimentary continental breakfast, and hi-speed wireless internet. Steps to the Green Line T, our guests have easy access to Boston College, Boston University, Northeastern University, Harvard University and other Boston universities. Save money while visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Terrace Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing