We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from downtown, near colleges”
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Boston
Ranked #77 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed here during the third week of July, when Boston is packed with parents and students for college visits or orientations. Hotels in city had no vacanices and prices rose. Room was clean. However, toilet was clogged once during a sven-night stay (fixed by management) and stopped again the night before checkout, before correcting itself eventually (I told management this at check-out). Breakfast was basic, but at least better than just croissants and coffee. Front desk staff was often besieged, but remained polite and helpful. The hotel is about 40 minutes from downtown Boston on the MBTA Green ("B") trolley/subway line, and about 10 or 15 minutes from Boston College and Boston University on the same line. The trolley
station is one long block away from the hotel. There are two launderomats in the area of the trolley station, and a few restaturants. Front desk can give more information about restaurants further away, but accessible by trolley. Hotel was quiet, despite capacity crowd. The bed was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bensonhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and location. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Boston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I had a most enjoyable stay at this Best Western property. Although the hotel is a bit on the older side it is solidly built, the rooms are very clean and updated. The bed was most comfortable. The property is set back a bit from Commonwealth Ave and is very quiet. I was in Boston for business and spent some very restful nights. The hotel is less than a 5 min walk to the MBTA Green line.

Room Tip: This is like a motor lodge (even offers free parking - many of the rooms are a share a common outsid...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBPlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Typically quiet is not what you would think when traveling to Boston, but I am happy you mentioned this perfect attribute that we can offer. Nestled in the northwest corner of the city we are definitely quiet and easily accessible to and from downtown. I hope you had an opportunity to enjoy our free breakfast. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a great stay here in June for a weekend. We had a king sized room and it was very nice. Clean, nice features and served the purpose for our weekend stay. We went to see a Red Sox game- the hotel was not far from the T, which was great! In a quiet nice little neighborhood too. The breakfast was good too- cereal, bagels, waffles, muffins, sausage, eggs, etc. Good selection and plenty of seating. We liked this hotel too because they had great on site parking, which was nice since we did not want to park far away from where we were staying or in a parking garage. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Anywhere you stay here is probably quiet- we were next to the street on the first floor level (and t...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Acolz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I appreciate your kind words about the hotel, and I am pleased to know you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family visits Boston every summer to see Red Sox games. The Best Western University Hotel is an good place to stay because its reasonably priced, has a very good breakfast, comfortable beds/pillows, is located two blocks from the T and about 12 stops from the Kenmore station (for Fenway Park)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Welcome Back! I am happy to know we were able to take care of you and your family another year in a row. I am also pleased to know you get the same results year in and year out. We hope to see you again next year for another summer trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I enjoy using this hotel when I visit Boston because I can avoid driving in the city! It is clean and also located one block from the green line T. They offer a good breakfast every day. This is a win-win.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Laurel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am happy to know that you found our hotel to be so convenient for your travels. I am also pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Visiting area for Orientation at Boston University. Staff was great. Room was great for family with a bedroom and a sofa bed. Daughter said sofa bed was uncomfortable though. Food was good. Only 2 blocks to the T, which was great, we used it everyday, and sometimes multiple times in a day. Only issue was reliability of internet. Will definitely stay there again, since will be visiting for the next 4 years.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

I am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us during orientation week. It is always a fun time for us at the hotel seeing all the new students coming into the area. I am happy to know you enjoyed your stay and found us to be so convenient. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our annual Lambretta Club USA Jamboree was hosted by this hotel. Great staff and amenities - parking was tight, but very reasonable for urban Boston. Great rooms, wifi a bit of a pain since you have to 'password in' every time as opposed to remembering you, but fast enough for our needs. Great location, right on the tram and Commonwealth Ave ("Com" for the locals) and easy access to the i-90 Expressway for those driving.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your weekend with us. The hotel and all the staff really enjoyed your group. You were our largest group on record and we had a great time making sure you all were able to enjoy the city and making sure your event went well. We hope to see you all again maybe in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
277 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,698 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Address: 1650 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02135-5604 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: £112 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located minutes from downtown Boston offering complimentary continental breakfast, and hi-speed wireless internet. Steps to the Green Line T, our guests have easy access to Boston College, Boston University, Northeastern University, Harvard University and other Boston universities. Save money while visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Terrace Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing