We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly staff!!!”
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Boston
Ranked #75 of 83 Hotels in Boston
dallas,tx
2 reviews
“Great friendly staff!!!”
Reviewed 26 March 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at your hotel for a girls getaway weekend. The staff was great and the room was VERY clean. We both would stay here again on our next trip to the Boston!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlene2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 5 April 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice things about our hotel! It is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to the Boston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    203
    125
    59
    35
See reviews for
262
90
37
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Although, we were told about the linen change on a daily basis, the housekeeping supervisor got away saying that the Front-desk people don't know the facts ! In the entire 2 weeks stay, only once, the carpets were vacuum cleaned. We took the kitchenette room and then the housekeeping guy was asking us why were we cooking !! Had stayed in Best Western elsewhere also but this one seems to be lousy and we didn't get this kind of treatment any where else.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bostour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 5 April 2010
I apologize that you had this type of experience during your visit. We do offer an extended stay rate that offers a limited cleaning schedule, and it sounds as though this was the type of rate you had booked? We highly encourage our guest's that have booked a suite with a stove to take full advantage of that amenity. I'm not sure why the miscommunication on the staff's part occured for these two situations. Again I apologize for this experience and I thank you for making us aware of it. We will use this information to correct some of communication practices so that other guests don't experience this as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

The stay was good but a little noisy, ice was a distance away, and the suite itself was a bit cut-up and didn't "flow" well. It has older windows, rugs,doors, etc. I felt a tiny bit uneasy and was glad to have company. However, the drapes and furnishings were very nice.I hate the "new" lighting most seem to be inclined to use now.The desk clerks, am and pm were very professional and arranged a cab pick-up for us as well as an early wake-up call. Overall, it was close to the "T" line and provided a lovely breakfast. I would stay again and appreciated their hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jett54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 17 January 2010
Dear jett54,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your kind words and apologize for any problems that you had during your stay. The Best Western Terrace Inn is working very hard to improve the overall experience of our guests and appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again if I got a good rate. Parking, internet and breakfast are all included in the price. Public transportation is five minutes away (trolley/tram/streetcar). It's about a half hour to downtown Boston. There is not much right near the hotel, a few stores and a couple of restaurants. The Whole Foods is nice except for their right wing political views. If you stay during the warmer part of the year the hotel has a bit of a garden setting which is rare in Boston. The breakfast is not bad. The rooms seem to be recently done over. The bathrooms are quite small, but they do have recessed chrome Kleenex dispensers which you don't see very often now.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 13 February 2010
Dear SteveBoston,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience at our hotel. The Best Western Terrace Inn is trying very hard to learn from all reviews written about the hotel, in order to make things better. Please give us a call if you are in Boston again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
842 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Older hotel; somewhat tired amenitites, but clean rooms. If you're a light sleeper, the A/C unit was pretty loud and cycled on/off all night....Great breakfast buffet (usual fare: cereals, breads, waffles, eggs, sausage) included, as was wifi internet access. Fridge and microwave in room. Single-serve coffee pot a pain, but plenty of free coffee in breakfast room...Terrific locale close to Boston; 1-block to T station. Residential neighborhood-always felt safe walking around. Desk staff super helpful and always friendly. Note location on Mt. Hood although has Commonwealth address. Grocery store several blocks; 7-11 1 block. Liquor store 2 blocks. Free on site parking.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 13 February 2010
Dear MaryKop,

Thank you for the kind review of the Best Western Terrace Inn Boston! We take Trip Advisor reviews seriously and we use them to improve the guest experience at the hotel. I hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winthrop
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

I recommend this hotel because it is a beautifully renovated hotel in the generous living area. It's placed only one block from the nearest T (train) station so it's easy to reach every part of Boston. It also has high-speed internet connection.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hydesomay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 17 January 2010
Dear hydesomay,

Thank you for your review of the Best Western Terrace Inn Boston. We appreciate your kindness because we are trying ver hard to improve the hotel. We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PP, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Pros: Location is not bad, it's a short walk to the green line train which takes you where ever you need to go, either by itself or connecting to another line. Across the street to the right of the hotel is Mt. Hood Rd, walk to the end of the block and cross by the 7-11, the train comes every few minutes so there's no real wait time.
The hotel price was good, and parking on site was free, which is a big plus.
Some cons: There was continental breakfast, which is over by 11am, so if you are on vacation or are out late and want to sleep in, you will miss it. We were in room 503, which overlooked the street (Mt. Hood Rd), if we wanted to leave our curtains open to get some light to make up for the dim room lighting, anyone walking by could see into our room clearly. The curtains also sit right on top of the heater, and since it was cold and we wanted it on, but not at the risk of being a fire hazard that made it annoying, I just tucked up the curtains onto the window sill and luckily they stayed without falling. The room was clean enough, though housekeeping did not come the first day we were there, so after a long day exploring Boston we came back to an uncleaned room, no made bed, and no clean towels for the rest of the night or next morning. There is a fridge in the room which kept our drinks cold enough, and there is a microwave that was working. There is a coffee pot but we only got one pouch of regular coffee and 4 decafs, and the pot only makes one cup at a time. The room was smaller than we had thought, the bathroom is tiny and if you are with a significant other and would like to both use the bathroom when getting ready in the morning, forget that, it's too small. The tv channels were fine and there are movies offered, $13.99 if you want to watch a movie still in theaters, and $11.99 for any other movie (guess that's where they make up for the free parking).
We got a good deal from Hotels.com with every second night half off, and that was the seller for us, plus when we called the hotel they said we were right near everything, we were near the train that takes you to everything, there's nothing really in walking distance but the train, 7-11 and whole foods around the corner. There's no restaurant or bar on the premises but you can take the train if you want to go out, there's also no room service so you need to bring food with you if you want to eat in. The trains stop running at 12:30 so if you plan on a late night out, you'll have to cab it back to the hotel, if you are not driving.
Overall I would recommend spending a little bit more for a nicer hotel, maybe further down commonwealth ave. The hotel is also hidden behind a Gulf station so we almost missed it when we were looking for it and the parking lot is pretty hilly in the back area and not a lot of parking on the side we were on by Mt. Hood Rd. If you're on a budget this is an ok place, I would definitely classify it as 2 stars however, not 3.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsJigsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 13 February 2010
Dear MrsJigsaw,

Thank you for posting your review of the Best Western Terrace Inn Boston. I apologize for any inconveniences that you had and want to assure you that we are working on improving the guest experience at the hotel. Your thoughts are very important to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
262 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Allston / Brighton
Days Hotel Boston-Harvard Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#77 of 83 in Boston
442 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Charlestown
Constitution Inn
Constitution Inn
#81 of 83 in Boston
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Property: Hotel Boston
Address: 1650 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02135-5604 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located minutes from downtown Boston offering complimentary continental breakfast, and hi-speed wireless internet. Steps to the Green Line T, our guests have easy access to Boston College, Boston University, Northeastern University, Harvard University and other Boston universities. Save money while visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Terrace Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing