We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel in Brookline, Mass” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Boston
Ranked #76 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Worst Hotel in Brookline, Mass”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

Arrived at hotel entrance and was required to life my bags over a series of steep, dangerous steps. No help was offered. Reception desk referred me to a room , which required climbing many other steep, dangerous (potholed cement) steps, and walked into a heavily scented - unpleasant room. Lights did not work and TV was extremely old. Room felt very damp. After complaining I was given a different room - which was no better. I have asthma and could not sleep in those conditions.
After re-visiting the reception desk I was helped to find another hotel room but was denied any refund. The desk did help me get a better than average rate at the other hotel (Holiday Inn - Brookline, Mass) which was significantly cleaner and user friendly.
Do yourself a favor and do not stay at the Best Western - Terrace Inn in Brookline, Mass. The other Best Western (also called the Inn at Longwood Medical) is very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gginamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
Dear gginamac,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Best Western Terrace Inn Boston. Firstly, please accept my sincere apologizes that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, many limited service hotels do not offer porterage service and I can understand your frustration - especially with a property that has outside corridors. I have passed along your comments about your guest room(s) to our housekeeping staff, as our employees work very hard to ensure that all of our guest rooms are clean and fresh for your comfort. Again, my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    201
    123
    56
    35
See reviews for
258
89
36
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Boston is not the cheapest place to get a hotel room, so the deal we got here was quite remarkable. As other reviewers have noted, the Best Western offers free parking in a city where a downtown hotel would probably charge at least $20 a day. It's a short walk to the Green Line of the T--though remember that it makes a lot of stops and is not as fast as other mass transit trains in the city. You can get to Boston University or Boston College easily by the train, and that branch runs surprisingly often. we were in town for a Bookcrossing convention being held at Boston U. and found the hotel location and trains very handy. The neighborhood was very pleasant and nice for taking a walk in at night--we felt safe there. Driving from the east on Comm. Ave., watch for a sign painted on a nearby building that tells you how to make a U-turn and turn right after a Gulf station--it can be a touch tricky to get to driving but the sign is very helpful. At the hotel itself, the room numbering system is confusing, so pay close attention to the desk clerk as s/he explains how to get to your room.
The room itself was small but clean and functional. It doesn't bother us at all, but some people would prefer an interior corridor to a room like ours that one can reach directly from the street. Check-in was efficient, if not particularly friendly; checkout was friendlier and efficient, too. breakfast was okay--average for this type of hotel--but quite crowded. Noise control was subpar and is why I bumped my review down a notch to three circles. You could hear footsteps easily in the room above, but what was more of a problem was the noise through the adjoining room connected by a locked door. The door insulated noise from next door poorly, and the people next door came in loudly at 2 am and I could hear all of their loud conversations until past 4 am. The noisy neighbors are not the hotel's fault, but they could work on noise control. For my wife's part, she loved the hotel (the next door guests didn't wake her up :-)) . If we were visiting that part of town again and were bringing our car, we would *definitely* consider staying there again--it really is a very good value for Boston, even with its downsides.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badgerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Director of Sales at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear Badgerjim,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, as we appreciate your kind words and helpful feedback. It is great to hear our that you found the Best Western Terrace Inn a great value for Boston. The free guest parking is a great selling feature for us, as hotel parking in Boston can be upwards of $45.00 per night! Also, we want to apologize for the noisy neighbors! It is not common to have loud noises in the hotel at night and we can understand your frustration. Again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you next time you are in the Boston/Brighton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

They had comfy beds and pillows. The staff was extremely helpful. It was located in a safe neighborhood right outside the city of Boston, and right down the street from this great restaurant "Tasca". The hotel is directly across from the T stop. Best sleep i ever had thank you BW

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Director of Sales at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Dear Jerami,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel. We are pleased to read that you liked our "comfy beds and pillows". Also, thank you for mentioning how helpful our front desk staff was during your stay. We understand that you have choices when it comes to arranging hotel stays and appreciate your staying at the Best Western Terrace Inn Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Villa, IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

This was an excellent location for anyone visiting a student at Boston U. or Boston College, and much less expensive than the downtown hotels. The location is also a two-minute walk to the "T" (train) that goes into downtown Boston. The ride took perhaps 15 or 20 minutes, tops, and the trains run frequently. This is important because parking is all but impossible in Boston. The room, while definitely not luxurious, was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The hotel offers a free breakfast, and overall, for the money, we were more than satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tu2rgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Thank you for writing such a nice review of the Best Western Terrace Inn Boston. You highlighted many great features of the hotel and we appreciate it! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return during your next visit to Boston. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

My stay in this hotel lasted 3 days and the rate I had to pay was not as expensive as in other hotels and it was worth it!
The location was great for us because we had to visit BU, BC, and had a sightseeing of the city. The public transportation is really close to the hotel, it is very convenient.
Our rooms were very clean and the staff is professional and friendly.
I would definitely like to stay there again, if I have the chance to go back to Boston!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 5 April 2010
Thank you for the kind review of the Best Western Terrace Inn Boston! Since we are located near Boston College and Boston University, we believe that the best Western Terrace Inn is an affordable option to pricey, downtown Boston hotels. You comments mean a lot to us and we appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas,tx
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at your hotel for a girls getaway weekend. The staff was great and the room was VERY clean. We both would stay here again on our next trip to the Boston!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlene2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 5 April 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice things about our hotel! It is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to the Boston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

Although, we were told about the linen change on a daily basis, the housekeeping supervisor got away saying that the Front-desk people don't know the facts ! In the entire 2 weeks stay, only once, the carpets were vacuum cleaned. We took the kitchenette room and then the housekeeping guy was asking us why were we cooking !! Had stayed in Best Western elsewhere also but this one seems to be lousy and we didn't get this kind of treatment any where else.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bostour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 5 April 2010
I apologize that you had this type of experience during your visit. We do offer an extended stay rate that offers a limited cleaning schedule, and it sounds as though this was the type of rate you had booked? We highly encourage our guest's that have booked a suite with a stove to take full advantage of that amenity. I'm not sure why the miscommunication on the staff's part occured for these two situations. Again I apologize for this experience and I thank you for making us aware of it. We will use this information to correct some of communication practices so that other guests don't experience this as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Allston / Brighton
Days Hotel Boston-Harvard Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Property: Hotel Boston
Address: 1650 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02135-5604 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located minutes from downtown Boston offering complimentary continental breakfast, and hi-speed wireless internet. Steps to the Green Line T, our guests have easy access to Boston College, Boston University, Northeastern University, Harvard University and other Boston universities. Save money while visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Terrace Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing