We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Parts of a Trying Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Ranked #41 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
CT, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best Parts of a Trying Time”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed for a week here while my husband was undergoing major surgery at Beth Israel Deaconess. I can't say enough good things about my experience at your hotel. Every single Longwood staff member was kind, helpful empathetic, and took care of our every need. We wondered if your staff got special "empathy" training given your unique location in the hospital neighborhood, or whether you just hire great people. The restaurant staff at the Longwood Grille knew us by name in short order, so it was like going "home" to dinner each night. Had originally booked a room with two queens and a minifridge, but it was small so upgraded (just a bit) to a perfect large king room with a kitchenette. It was perfect solution for myself and two family members when we added a cot. Free parking was an added bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judy0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle S, General Manager at The Inn at Longwood Medical, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for posting a review. Very glad we were able to make you and your family comfortable during a challenging time for all of you. Regarding training, yes we do stress with all staff that our customers are usually going through difficult times and that we must do our best to accommodate all and not add to the burden they are under. Please let us know if you ever need anything in the future .
thank you
Brian Stiglets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    281
    148
    70
    52
See reviews for
420
157
97
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Needing to be at a major hospital in the Longwood Medical area in Boston in mid-February for tests in preparation for an upcoming minor surgical procedure (and where yet another major snowstorm was to hit the area that same day,) we made a reservation to stay over that evening. Sure enough, as we looked out the hospital's window that afternoon, the heavy snow had started. At the end of our tests, we simply walked across the street in the storm, and were welcomed by the same person who had taken our reservation on the phone, the night before (Eugene. He was very pleasant, and indeed had assigned a room with just what we requested. The room was very modern, clean and attractive, and we were glad that we chose to view the storm from our window, and watched others driving home on the 32" hi-def TV. Now ready to eat, we had to decide whether to eat in the hotel's restaurant (Longwood Grill,) or in the attached "Galleria." This food court, like in many shopping malls, included a McDonald's, a Dunkin Donuts, and many ethnic and specialty providers. We selected the hotels grill, and a very friendly hostess helped us in selecting a table in the lounge area, which was then serviced by the very efficient bartender. While waiting for our food to arrive, he brought us fresh hot bread and a tasty dipping oil. A nice touch! The featured burgers were cooked just as ordered, and the presentation was delightful. We returned for breakfast the next morning..., the menu was extensive, but the presentation and service was not quite as marvelous, and the poached eggs were overcooked..., still the overall stay was just what we had hoped for! A very pleasant experience, and we will definitely go back when we return for a slightly longer stay in the spring for another medical visit. And the desk clerk (Angel) was most helpful in making our reservation for next time, as we checked out. The hotel also has rooms suitable for extended stays, and the garage is in the building, although we hope it will stop snowing by Spring!

Room Tip: For a better view in midst of high hospital buildings, request a room on highest floor available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnS41698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle S, General Manager at The Inn at Longwood Medical, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for posting such a thorough review. We are glad your stay was a good one and the staff made you fell welcome. Sorry about the poached eggs ,will let the chef know. Look forward to your next stay and glad you already mage your reservation. Please contact me at bstiglets@innatlongwood.com if I can ever be of further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The management (Mr. Davies) and his staff were an absolute delight to work with. Mr. Davies handled my reservation for me and even honored an agreement made by a previous manager who was no longer working there. He was under no obligation to do so, but by honoring the manager's year old agreement, Mr. Davies went above and beyond to make me feel wanted and welcomed, far exceeding what I expected in terms of customer service.

Room Tip: When staying in Boston, especially in the Longwood medical area, don't overlook the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle S, General Manager at The Inn at Longwood Medical, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us. Very pleased Bill was able to assist you and thank you for posting a review. We appreciate you taking the time to do so and again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I highly recommend planning your next meeting or event at The Inn at Longwood Medical Center. The staff including the chef are fabulous with creativity of ideas for a special meeting or occassion! Excellent customer service!!!I can't wait to plan my next event! Thanks to the leadership of GM Brian and his absolutely amazing DOSM Gayle, raffle man Noah and creative Chef Dianna Ahern whatever you do will be a success for sure...go ahead give them a try!
SH-D

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle S, General Manager at The Inn at Longwood Medical, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for attending our recent fundraiser in Longwood Hall .We appreciate your review and positive comments regarding the staff. Glad you could join us and enjoyed the event.
Best Regards,
Brian Stiglets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I frequently accompany my daughter to her every other week treatments at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute. DFCI will at our request, help us find rooms at a local hotel at discounted rates and at the last treatment by chance, we stayed here. Our room was quite large and very clean and so convenient to our hospital needs. There was a greeting bag waiting for us with some goodies....water, iced tea, popcorn, etc. and a lovely note from the manager welcoming us and wishing my daughter the best with her treatments. We will certainly ask to be booked here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank German-Slovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle S, General Manager at The Inn at Longwood Medical, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for staying with and many thanks for posting a review about your experience.
Best Regards,
Brian Stiglets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We highly recommend the Inn at Longwood Medical. The front desk representative, Jenne' was friendly and helpful. She efficiently checked us in and out. The hotel is in a good location. Close to everything. The rooms are clean and comfortable.The promotional courtesy "no fee parking" during the month of February was a nice perk. Will stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank joseph o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle S, General Manager at The Inn at Longwood Medical, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review. Especially thank you for mentioning Jenne ,we are all very proud of her. Glad you took advantage of the free parking. we are offering the same promotion in March .Please let me know if we can make a reservation for you for then or anytime in the future.
Thank you
Brian Stiglets
bstiglets@innatlongwood.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyoke, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

After I made a reservation here through Groupon, I asked to make an adjustment to the room the reservation had been made for so that it would be a nicer, easier stay for me and my 88-yr-old Mom. Although I was told this normally wouldn't be allowed, Gisele and Noah did make the changes I requested and were very gracious about it. As I told Gisele, this is a variation from normal practice that not only is VERY appreciated, but one that the Inn can feel good about.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy0225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle S, General Manager at The Inn at Longwood Medical, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review. Glad we were able to accommodate the reservation for you and your mom and have you both stay with us while visiting the area.
Best Regards
Brian Stiglets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#14 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Longwood Medical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Longwood Medical

Property: The Inn at Longwood Medical
Address: 342 Longwood Ave, Boston, MA 02115-5745
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#42 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#49 Business Hotel in Boston
#49 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Longwood Medical 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel is walking distance to key area attractions such as the Fenway Park, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Children's Hospital, Brigham and Women's, Dana Farber, and Harvard Medical School, Boston University, Colleges of the Fenway Northeastern Univeristy and Boston College. Easy access on the Green Line of the MBTA public transportation. Concierge service for Historic Tours of Boston and tickets to major events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Longwood Medical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Boston - The Inn At Longwood Medical Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing