We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, Comfortable & Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aisling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aisling
Ranked #6 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quiet, Comfortable & Convenient”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I visited Boston to spend five days soaking in the art at the Museum of Fine Art, the Boston Public Library, and the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum.

I found this B&B on Tripadvisor, and it was everything positive that people have posted.

I was collected from the airport, a lovely perk for a solo female traveler. My Irish hosts were cordial, thoughtful, and keenly intelligent. I particularly enjoyed Dympna's ready sense of humor and wry wit.

My room was spacious and quiet, the bed comfortable, and there was ample hot water. I was more interested in the bed than the breakfast, often leaving very early to wander around squares and churches before the museums opened. My hosts thoughtfully left me plates of scones or muffins in the evening, which I would enjoy with the pot of tea I made in the adjacent kitchenette.

This was my first trip to Boston, and this accommodation was ideal for me. The B&B was in a great walking area, and I became an evening regular at the lively Flour Bakery is around the corner.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Murmod Sanctuary room was a step down from sidewalk level, so easy to access. It is larger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia_painter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    41
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
225
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

From the outset, James and Dympna went out of their way to share their home and make us feel thoroughly at home in it. It's a really comfortable B&B, in a quiet street within easy walking distance of central Boston, and they go to great trouble to point out maps, routes and suggestions. Lovely unhurried breakfasts with other guests and James and Dympna, so there's a real feeling of en famille. They also made a point of picking us up and dropping us off (airport or wherever) at beginning and end of stay. Expensive, but worth splashing out!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the B&B in November for two nights and what a nice experience. From the moment we stepped in we felt like family and both James and Dympna took really good care of us. The room was clean and comfortable and had all you could need for a few nights stay. The breakfast in the morning was great, with good food and nice company where you could chat with both the hosts and the other guests, and thus get hints for what to see in the city. The only thin I personally missed at breakfast was some cheese or ham to put on the bread, so a lit more salty alternatives and less sweets. To top it off James offered to drive us to the airport on the day we were leaving, which was really great and highly appreciated!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MS6384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent four days and three nights in Boston as a long-weekend getaway. Aisling B&B was perfect for our needs. Location is excellent, providing easy access (by foot for those who don't mind walking or by T bus and subway) to Back Bay, Downtown and North End, and Cambridge. Our room was comfortable and roomy with a settee for comfortable reading. A fully equipped kitchenette was available just down the hall. Best of all was the Irish hospitality - the wonderful breakfasts cooked by Dympna and the excellent conversations on a broad range of topics with James and Dympna. James even drove us to Logan airport and the end of our trip. James and Dympna go out of their way to ensure that their guests get the most out of their trip to Boston.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent three nights at this small and quiet b&b in the Boston area and we could not have been more happy with our stay. Dympna and James are great owners and hosts for this b&b. Each morning Dympna would make a yummy breakfast with an Irish twist for us and their other guests. In addition, James provided sightseeing information for the next day. One great positive for Boston, there are two parking areas behind the b&b for guest reservation if you travel to Boston via car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rollin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucedale, Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I had a wonderful experience at the Aisling House bed and breakfast. The hosts Dympna and James are very welcoming. I stayed in the Duleek room and it was beautiful. The breakfast Dympna served was excellent from her eggs on top of the portobello mushroom to the muffins with white chocolate and cranberries. Dympna even drove my cousin and I to the cruise terminal. The bed and breakfast is also within walking distance to the park and many restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhoda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Aisling Bed and Breakfast made the big city of Boston small and comfortable for us. The breakfast table was a place you just did not want to leave. The hosts were the best as well as the historic setting. The parking space in the back made coming to Boston easy as this was near the end of our 2800 mile road trip out East.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,041 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,506 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,262 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aisling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aisling

Property: Aisling
Address: 21 East Concord Street, Boston, MA 02118
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aisling 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aisling guest house is located in the Historic Boston neighborhood of the South End. The South End is Boston's most varied and famous dining destination. A brisk walk or ten minute bus ride brings you downtown. Aisling is your gateway to a truly relaxing visit to Boston. Aisling means "Dream" in Gaelic. Your Irish hosts Dympna and James take pride in making you feel at home while still on a dream vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aisling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing