We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aisling Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aisling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aisling
Ranked #6 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hazelslade Staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Aisling Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived late in Boston because of flight delays and we were met by James. A welcome sight after the journey and unexpected because of the delays, but he had tracked the flight. The room we had was well appointed , clean and comfortable.Breakfast the following morning was amazing and included fresh home made bread. Breakfast every morning was amazing!
It was an easy walk into Boston but the local bus for $2 each is just around the corner from Aisling and it runs frequently. There are a variety of places to eat within easy distance if you don't want to make the journey into Boston for an evening meal.
We stayed 5 nights and then James took us to the station for our onward journey to Nantucket.
We both enjoyed our stay at Aisling, it was like being treated as staying with friends. James and Dympna a delightful and easy to talk to. I recommend Aisling without reservation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hazelslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    41
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
225
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were very pleased with our stay at Aisling. James and Dympna are wonderful hosts and open their home in a generous, warm manner. They go out of their way to create a home away from home for travelers and do much more than expected. Great B & B!!!!

H. Bhuwania

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in mid June. James and Dympna were lovely hosts.
Dympna's breakfasts were excellent with fresh homemade baking and good variety each day.
The building is lovely and the area has a number of good places to eat. We were particularly impressed with a tapas place Toro, 2 mins around the corner. You can't book but the food is great.
Aisling is in a good spot, easy to get to town on the bus.
Overall a really nice place.
Just a couple of things we thought could be done to improve the experience, a kettle / coffee making facility in the room and we found the central air conditioning not to be very effective in our second floor room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g0MBg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon M, Manager at Aisling, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We very much appreciated this kind and positive review, and in particular the constructive suggestions in the final paragraph. As it happens we have in the past considered the possibility of placing a coffee maker in each room, but have felt that on balance the Keurig Brewing System, which is in the small kitchen we keep for our guests, is not only safer, but provides more options in the form of different teas, chocolate and coffees than the type of unit that could go into individual rooms. The kitchen also provides the ability to keep milk refrigerated so that our guests will not have to rely on powdered “creamers” should they wish their beverages to be other than black. Needless to say this is an issue we keep under constant review, and if better and safer equipment becomes available we will certainly change our approach. Summer heat comes suddenly in Massachusetts, and we are sorry that you experienced the twenty four hours or so when the central air conditioning was first on, and not working with full efficiency .We can now report that the central air conditioning is properly in balance and working well in all our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a fantastic time at the Aisling Bed and Breakfast. The home was beautifully restored and was located in a great area on the South End. We walked to dinners, took a bus to the Freedom Trail and a cab to Fenway. The breakfasts were incredible and we enjoyed our morning conversations with James and Dympna. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Wonderful hosts that felt like family. Very gracious, accommodating, and eager to help. The food was delisious and such a pleasure to start your day with beautiful food made from scratch with great care. I am ready to go back to boston--but mostly just for the B&B! When i do come back, I won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Okiegirlinokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is our 2nd time staying at the Aisling. We spent two nights last week and had hoped to stay for 3 but to our dismay they were booked. We usually stay at B&B when we travel and by far Dympna's breakfast are the best. If you are visiting Boston I highly recommend the Aisling, it's like staying with family that you like. We are already looking forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This friendly b&b is in South End area of Boston (not South Boston which is different), and has plenty of restaurants and snack places nearby and is about a 20 minute walk to the main sites of Boston, the State House, Freedom Trail and Harbour. I tend to walk everywhere and so I don't know the bus or subway routes but I'm sure they're very convenient. Going the other way you can walk to Harvard in about 40 minutes, taking you over the Harvard Bridge with views of Boston, but there is definitely a bus that goes this route, which is very easy as just one long road and the stop is within a minute of the house and goes to Harvard Square.

The owners, James & Dympna, are great hosts and offer to pick you up and take you back to the airport, which is most welcome after a transatlantic flight (particularly if you arrive in torrential rain as I did, not the time to be negotiating subways, maps and taxis). My room was Salt Hill, a large spacious room, very clean, warm and welcoming. It was also very quiet as there are only three rooms and the other two downstairs. Breakfast was a calorie-laden affair, with unlimited fresh coffee and breads, freshly baked muffins or fruit loaf, cereals, fruit and a "special of the day", the salmon quiche was delicious.

James & Dympna both went out of their way to make sure I was welcome and had good tips to enjoy Boston. I wanted to go to Salem (which I would highly recommend) and to the Peabody Essex museum (in Salem) and it was James who suggested the public ferry, a great way to get there, to see the city from the water and was a highight of the trip (ferry takes an hour each way and is $29 return, well worth it as Salem is beautiful and the journey highly enjoyable). You are staying in their home and have breakfast with them, and other guests staying at that time, on one large table and so it is all very friendly and you pick up Boston sightseeing tips from other guests.

A very emjoyable four nights.

Room Tip: I had the room upstairs, Salt Hill, and was very happy with it and didn't see the rooms downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,051 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aisling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aisling

Property: Aisling
Address: 21 East Concord Street, Boston, MA 02118
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aisling 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aisling guest house is located in the Historic Boston neighborhood of the South End. The South End is Boston's most varied and famous dining destination. A brisk walk or ten minute bus ride brings you downtown. Aisling is your gateway to a truly relaxing visit to Boston. Aisling means "Dream" in Gaelic. Your Irish hosts Dympna and James take pride in making you feel at home while still on a dream vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aisling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing