We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French fare.”
Review of Gaslight Brasserie

Gaslight Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaslight Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #104 of 3,243 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: South End
Cross street: Waltham St.
Transit: Take the Silver Line on Washington Street to either Union Park or East Berkeley St. Walk 1 block South to Harrison and then its #560.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great French fare.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Gaslight is a spacious restaurant with a great atmosphere, food, and service. The food is always spot on. The best dish I had here was a white fish with saffron sauce. They take reservations, so I would recommend to take advantage.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    194
    57
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always wonderful food, service, atmosphere!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

No question I was going to take my cousins here who were visiting from out of state for their first dinner coming from the airport. My husband and I love everything about Gaslight and knew my family wouldn't be disappointed! From the deliciously crisp baguettes fresh from the oven with (or without) butter, escargot that is truly an indulgent treat, cocktail of sizable and tender poached shrimp, to mains of steak frites (of course - we were at a French brasserie!), roast chicken with incredible garlic sauce, fresh fish, and an amazing bone in pork chop - well we couldn't move afterwards. And fortunately we weren't rushed to do so by our server which we appreciated so we could dine, drink, and start to catch up with one another.
I'll be back - have dined there more than 30 times throughout the years, no need to stop now!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumansburg, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would not return”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Food was good. I had the coq au vin. Drinks were also good, including the wine. Ambiance so-so. I saw what they were going for. However, service hit the lowest note of plain bad. We had made a reservation for two. Restaurant nearly empty when we arrived, yet they walk us to the back of the place and then try to seat us at the table right in front of the kitchen door. BIZARRE. When asked what was good on the menu, the wait person would not answer, and just "gave us a couple more minutes". Finally, after twenty minutes of sitting and facing our empty plates, creening our necks trying to get a bill -- the night was a D+.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 409jenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey G, Owner at Gaslight Brasserie, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for dining with us.
Sorry to read that you were not seated and served in a more gracious manner.
From your description it sounds like you were not given the best table and location. I can understand a guest not getting a great table in a half full or full restaurant but a poor location in the beginning is thoughtless execution on our part.
I will share your impressions with our staff and management. The damage is done to you but we can certainly do our best not to repeat this error.
Respectfully,
Jeff Gates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Surprising steampunk French restaurant”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We ate here for our anniversary dinner on March 30th. We were gladly impress by the turn-of-the century decor which remind us a little of a steampunk theme.
Our server was very nice and gave us a card with all staff signatures, they were congratulating us on our anniversary, we thought this was a nice touch.
We ordered Pate de Foie Gras, Artisan Cheese Selection, Bar Steak and Choucroute Garnie.
All nicely paired with a spicy Rasteau red wine.
Food was hearty, as we expected, and delicious. We will go back for sure.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Azulado_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Superb Saturday brunch”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Superb Saturday brunch here. Busy, upbeat cafe. Great service -- really just right. Good food -- and neither too much nor too little of it. Comfort food but with some distinctive touches. Not a place for a quiet romantic dinner, but an outstanding spot for a good meal with friends or family. I'd return here not only for lunch, but dinner as well. A real treat!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Psp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaslight Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Gaslight Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing