We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music? What Music?”
Review of The Beehive

The Beehive
Reserve with OpenTable
The Beehive is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: South End
Cross street: Clarendon
Transit: Back Bay station on the Orange line is 3 blocks from The Beehive on Clarendon Street.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
480 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Music? What Music?”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We picked this place because it advertised live music. We were there from 8-10:20 on Saturday and enjoyed food but when asked about music management rudely said everyone knows when the sets are. Sadly these out of towners did not . Ribs were good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckySpivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    226
    74
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne PA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food but noisy, crowded and a bit dirty”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had two excellent appetizers and sat outside in the street which was a good choice because inside is noisy (loud live music) crowded (the young dating scene) and a bit dirty (the men's room floor needed a good scrubbing)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GourmetWaynePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“When it's good, it's good; when it's not so good, they're accommodating!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The food is always pretty good. I've never had a substantive complaint. However, recently I ordered a bottle of wine on the Sommelier's recommendation. It was terrible. I don't think there was something wrong with that particular bottle, but it was the worst red blend I've ever had. In all my 45 years, I've never met a mid-range priced bottle I couldn't drink... but this was the first! Without requesting it, they removed the price from my bill but actually offered to let us take it home (it was so bad, I wouldn't even drink it if it was free!)

THAT'S good service. It won't always be perfect... and, when it's not, a good quality place will make it right. Well done, Beehive!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fun but food is overrated and overpriced”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

It has a fun environment with live jazz, but food is nothing worth trying, for me were simple dishes way too spicy and overpriced.
The chef's appetizer special... Just a way spicy middle eastern dish.
I love spicy food, but the appetizer and my main dish were too spicy and really overpriced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Miyechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delightful entertainment with amazing food”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I saw a photo of the grilled cheese with pulled pork from a friend....and made a point to taste it. It was better than I even expected! I was glutinous and had the fries, which were so unique-the best I've ever had.
It was Cinqo de Mayo, and a enthusiastic mariachi band played. I heard the other live music on the other night was memorable too. The service was super friendly and I would take a day trip to Boston,
just to have that sandwich again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kareyspady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beehive also viewed

 

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing