We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #69 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I travel to Boston very often for work. Chandler Inn is my home away from in Boston. I have stayed in various hotels in Boston over the years but this hotel felt safe and warm and perfect for a woman traveling alone.
The manager, Gretchen, who looks like a movie star, is friendly, resourceful and helpful. The rest of the staff follows her in their kindness and hospitality.
The rooms are fabulous- best matresses of all hotels in Boston. I have a bad back and I sleep like a baby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NycSharona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    524
    169
    70
    36
See reviews for
116
484
142
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Can't fault the location - everything you want to see in Boston is easily accessible. The staff were friendly and helpful (after the initial issue of them not having our booking and having no room for us, which was resolved fairly quickly). Whilst the room was on the smaller side, it was comfortable and had everything we needed, and at a much better price than many of the other hotels in Boston.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Over all great value for money! Central to the city precinct & a short walk to many of the monuments. As a solo traveller I felt very safe walking home in the evening & there are a number of tasty local restaurants close. The rooms were very clean however they were small, had poor water pressure (bad when it's cold!) & didn't have in room coffee/tea facilities. The refurb on the hotel was excellent. Eugene on reception was way cool!!!!- very welcoming & helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Excellent staff HORRIBLE PARKING. No on site parking. Got our car towed! Small rooms however very clean. Helpful staff albeit the non existent parking.
Would I return? If I was chained to public transportation, yes. Otherwise I would forgo to a more expensive locale.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coulow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed at the Chandler Inn Hotel for 4 nights. My stay was fantastic - everyone at the front desk was friendly and helpful with directions, the complimentary coffee came in handy pretty often, and the room was clean and comfortable. The walls are pretty thin, so street noise and noise from other rooms is audible, but otherwise it was a great value. It's within walking distance to Back Bay shops, restaurants, and the convention center, and it's only a couple blocks away from a great bakery/cafe. The neighborhood is quiet, residential, and safe. I would recommend it to anyone wanting an affordable place to stay with great access to Back Bay and South End.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellie43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

After two nights at the YMCA in Harlem, the Chandler Inn was a breath of fresh air! We arrived early in one of the busiest days St Patrick's Day, thinking there was no way we could get checked in however Eugene was so helpful and friendly that he got us right in! Room was compact BUT we knew that coming in, they advertise that so there us no reason to get mad if you had researched your hotel. The room was well decorated and clean which made the atmosphere. I'll mention Eugene again cause in the one day of interaction he really helped to start our trip off on a good note, full of insight and positive vibes.
The only negative thing which was partially self inflicted was not knowing how to work the ac/heat.We couldn't find a medium temp and the second night couldn't get it to work. Luckily for me my husband is very warm blooded.

Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wittycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I decided to stay at the Chandler Inn instead for the big name chain hotels around Hynes Convention Center during my meeting last February. It was a brisk,easy 10-15 minute walk to the Convention Center via the Prudential Center. The staff was friendly and personable and the lobby coffee machine is fantastic. The room is cozy... some may find it small but I thought it was comfortble for two people. I loved the modern decor and big, full-length mirror. My only complaint: the A/C was a bit noisy, and the problem was not resolved after I told the front desk about it. I was too tired/busy to complain about it a second time, but I should have. Nevertheless, I would recommend this comfortable, convenient and unique hotel to any short-term visitor to Boston.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steckarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,598 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#57 of 83 in Boston
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 83 in Boston
954 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 83 in Boston
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing