We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, reasonable price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #66 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, reasonable price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

As first-time visitors to Boston, we spent 3 nights at the Chandler Inn, and it offered everything we needed.
The location was central -- a quick walk to T stations, restaurants, sights, and shopping -- but out of the way enough to avoid lots of traffic and street noise. There is a bar at street level, but when we booked our room we requested a higher floor, and noise from the bar was never an issue.
The room wasn't huge, but it didn't need to be. We had reliable wifi and a TV, a comfortable bed, and the decor had a modern/European feel. The bathroom was tiny, but functional; the marble shower was lovely. Everything was clean.
The Chandler Inn doesn't have a gym or a pool, but we weren't there to work out or swim. I don't believe that they offer parking, but again, access to several lines on the T are within a 5-10 minute walk, which makes it great for travellers relying on public transit.
The front desk staff was helpful, and they were able to accomodate our request for an early check in.
Compared to other hotels in the area, the price of the Chandler Inn offered great value. We booked well in advance with a non-refundable internet rate, and saved $50-100/night vs. other comparable hotels.
I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    518
    166
    66
    34
See reviews for
111
478
141
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Yes, the room is tiny, as is the bathroom, and if you're looking for a gym, spa or room service go elsewhere. But if you need a very central location in downtown Boston (five minute walk to the Back Bay station, five minute walk to Tremont St. with its myriad of cafes and restaurants, about 10 minutes to Copley Square and 15 to Newbury St) at a very reasonable rate (we paid $116/night for a non-refundable rate) this is a great choice. It reminded me a lot of budget boutique hotels in continental Europe. There's no closet to hang your clothes, but there's a rack, and the bathroom only fits one person at a time but the shower is unexpectedly spacious. The shower is not completely contained (the glass door doesn't extend all the way to the end) so there's is some water spillage onto the floor, but nothing too annoying. The provided shampoos and conditioners are really terrible - they made my hair feel straw-like and the conditioner didn't even detangle, let alone condition - so I recommend you bring your own. The room is clean, we were on the eighth floor which afforded some decent views of the city, but the radiators (the old school hot water ones) can be quite noisy. The one in the hall directly in front of our door made a noise like someone was vacuuming constantly. For me it was just white noise, but if you are sensitive you'd probably need to switch rooms.

Being an avid online shopper living in Canada, we had some packages delivered to the hotel, having called first to make sure this was okay. When we checked in they had all our packages except one, despite the fact the tracking information showed that it had been delivered and signed for. The two guys on the Friday evening at check in didn't know what to do, but said the manager would be in the following morning. The manager talked about how they didn't guarantee the security of anything left in their care - something that was not mentioned when I had called previously - but ended up going on her own to pick up the missing item, at the local store. While I was obviously not thrilled it had been lost in the first place, I was impressed with the lengths she went to in order to rectify the situation.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 807 (ours) is directly across from a very noisy radiator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifesci99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have stayed here before twice, on my way towards Provincetown. Great location, not too far from the attractions that Boston has to offer and the T is nearby also. The views are nice too It has been a few yrs since I have been there. the brunch is good also.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesTaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed here for two nights, while in town for business. After reading the Tripadvisor reviews, I knew to expect a small room and bathroom. From my stay here I learned that I can tolerate a small room, but I absolutely need a large, or normal size, bathroom. There's little space to store your bags without feeling like you're tripping over yourself. Also, I noticed a strange smell immediately upon entering the lobby, and pervading up to my room. Not quite sure how to describe it, but it was there…

Two nice perks about the Chandler: Good location, and nice cable TV in the rooms. Also, I was unable to connect to the WiFi network with my Macbook. However, I have an old Macbook, so I'm not sure I can blame the hotel's network.

I think this place is overpriced for what it offers. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamer215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great location in Boston and a good value. While bathrooms were small, very clean and all room appointments were very well done. Will definitely book again should we return to Boston. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobL32771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have stayed here every month for 3 years. Its clean, comfortable, great location, great staff, everything I need. The staff cant do enough for you.
If you want big bathrooms, this place is not for you, but I always enjoy my stay there. Stay high for a better view. The views from 7/8th floor are fabulous.

Room Tip: Great views from 7 and 8th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peschiera del Garda, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Chandler Inn and its staff have satisfied all my expectations. Perfect, clean, quiet location in a wonderful corner of Boston. Easy to arrive to the city center but also easy for who, like me, wanted to rent a car and catch the Route 90. Congratulations to the staff always polite and willing to answer our questions!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#51 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing