We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No WiFi signal”
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #72 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Although the room itself was good enough, one of the main reasons to pick this hotel was the free WiFi advertised. But the signal in our room was so weak that it was impossible to connect and no solution or compensation was given at the frontdesk.

Otherwise, the hotel was fine, good heater, great location and good price, but we felt somewhat cheated because of the internet thing.

Room Tip: No Wifi signal in room 607
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValladolidDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Booked through Kayak and got a really good price, room is larger than expected, clean and nicely decorated. Hotel is in a really nice area in easy walking distance of back bay station. Staff are supremely helpful, room is clean and comfortable, shower is excellent. WiFi is a little slow but perfectly serviceable. In fact would be perfect if only the people on the room next door would stf up

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrFletchersMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I visited Boston in Jan 2014 and decided to spend 3 nights in Chandler.

1st night:
- Very loud bar/club on first floor and I could not sleep until 2:45AM because people are yelling and laughing
- Heater was not working. It was when the winter storm hit.

2nd night:
- No hot water for shower and bathroom from 8AM to 11:30PM (again, winter storm hits)
- Heater still broken so asked front desk for room change, second room has heater but was way too hot and I couldn't breath. Changed to 3rd room, still no heater
Note: the heater in this hotel is central heater and you CANNOT change the temperature. The second room was way too hot that I was still sweating with clothes off and sleeping without a blanket.
- Bar still loud until AM

3rd night:
- Again, no hot water in bathroom since I woke up and until I came back at night, still no estimated time for the fix at 10PM
- Rude front desk asked me to take cold water shower and his attitude was very rude and indifferent about the situation. I called later to ask when it will be fixed, still very very rude like he does not care about his job anymore

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lam981060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I spent two nights at the Chandler Inn and it was great. The staff is very accommodating. Rooms are a bit tights, but so is everything else in the heart of Boston. We pretty much walked to everything or took a cab, so it's definitely in a great location. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gittecool4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for a few days around the holidays with my husband and our small dog (< 20 lbs). The staff were very friendly. The rooms are truly small with little space for furniture other than the bed, and it was a tight squeeze for the three of us! Great location and very convenient for everything we were looking for, though.

We were originally slated to stay on the 2nd floor. Since the inn is directly above a bar, it ended up being too noisy, and the staff kindly relocated us to a higher floor. After moving we also learned there is smoking permitted on the 2nd floor, so just FYI when you're booking!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is noisy at night; also smoking permitted on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stay at the Chandler Inn every year when we come to Boston to visit family for the holidays. It's the best deal in town. Clean, comfortable rooms and an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants. Also, Fritz Bar is right downstairs which is very convenient. Fritz also serves a wonderful breakfast on weekends. Highly recommend Chandler Inn!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Chandler Inn is one of Boston's best kept secrets.I have mixed feelings about sharing this information because I don't really want others to know. We have stayed here three times now and love this little gem. The staff is always friendly ,attentive, knowledgeable of the area, and just plain nice. The Rooms are small but well appoiinted. The hotels a bit funky with a cool vibe. Located on a quiet street in the south end and within walking distance of Trinity church, Newbury street and Copley square. The area as many nice restaurants and great shopping as well as being located in a nice residential section of Boston. Think brownstone and quiet streets.
What more to say. A lovely little boutique hotel reasonably priced in one of the nicest sections of Boston. My type of getaway.

Room Tip: I only gave a terrible on the pool and room service because the hotel has neither and I wasn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#59 of 84 in Boston
2,245 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#67 of 84 in Boston
964 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,737 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 84 in Boston
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £99 - £857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing