We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Nice little find"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #66 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Nesquehoning, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Nice little find"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My co-worker and I went for business purposes and found this to be a great place to stay because of the location and affordable price. We stayed for two nights. The rooms were very small, but clean, and staff were pleasant and helpful. No real amenities other than a coffee/tea/hot chocolate area at the front desk but many places to eat close by.There was parking on the street (if you were lucky enough to find a spot) free until 10:00 am or a parking garage within walking distance. Chandler Inn validates tickets for a discount. Definitely worth looking into.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shubie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    518
    166
    66
    33
See reviews for
110
478
140
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I went there for spring break with some friends and I had a pleasant stay. The room was clean, staff was friendly and it had a great location with a affordable price. The bathroom was a bit small, but had a large stand up shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hegecharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Had a very pleasant one night stay at the Chandler Inn. The rooms are small but well organized, efficient and modern. I found the hotel clean and quiet. It's in good location within walking distance to many Boston attractions. I would recommend the Inn and will be certain to check them out the next time I need to stay in the city (I live in the North Shore area of MA and work in the city). Nice place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MellowVelo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My girlfriend and I went there for a little getaway for a few days and we're not at all pleased. Within one hour of staying there we had to go down to the service desk to request another room. The TV wasn't working at all. The bed was comfortable but they don't put comforters on the bed and just give you a thin blanket and a few sheets. Maids are rather rude and even with it being locked and us yelling to come back in a few minutes, they proceeded to jam a keycard in the door, wiggle the handle profusely and bang on the door. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The front desk people seemed nice and for the most part helpful but aside from that it wasn't the best experience. Spend a little more money and go somewhere else. I will do the same.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruschi5489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I had a pleasant stay. The room was clean (although a little small), quiet and served it's purpose. The bathroom was a little tight, with a very large stand up shower. The staff was friendly, the price affordable with a great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Felt more like a hostel than a hotel. Cosmetically the rooms were very nice but it didn't go farther than that. No closet, no iron or board, no luggage rack(wouldn't have been room for one anyway), the supposedly clean towels were covered in small hairs and upon further inspection we found the bathroom door and wall also covered in these same hairs. When we arrived their room key computer was broken so every time we needed to enter the room someone had to take us up and unlock the door, very inconvenient especially if we forgot something and had to go all the way down 7 floors to have them come back up to let us in. We might have been able to endure through all the above except for when we arrived the room was 80 degrees. We turned the heater off and went to dinner but when we came back the room was still 80. We couldn't figure out how to turn the AC on so we called the front desk and that when they told us they turn off all the AC units in the winter and we needed to open the window for it to cool off. We did this and proceeded to toss and turn through the night as the temp never went down. We couldn't understand it, it was 30 degrees outside and the room never cooled off by more than 3-4 degrees. They told us it might be because of the side the building we were on. We also asked for a fan and were told no. At this point we realized we couldn't endure an entire week of this. We rebooked at Copley Square Hotel for $25 more a night and it was WAY worth it. Copley Square ended up being one the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Book at Copley Square Hotel instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartford, ct
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Small everything especially bathroom but giant shower stall (weird but nice). Beds average. No coffee in room no closet just a rack with hangars.10 minute walk to theaters and commons. Hotel club/bar under renovations so very quiet, not sure how that goes when club is open. Beehive and Masa great places right around corner. Not for everyone but I liked it

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#64 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,270 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#50 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing