We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than expected”
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #68 of 83 Hotels in Boston
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So much better than expected”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I was so pleasantly surprised with this place. I had a little problem with the reservation at first but when I got there the staff were wonderful and accommodating, the location is excellent (I could walk almost everywhere from the Museum of Fine Arts to Faneuil Hall) and the restaurant/bar is not only good but fun. My recently renovated rooms was attractive. It's an old hotel and the room was small but it was so much better than I expected - comfortable, clean and modern. There was no closet but what they had for you to hang up your clothes was very cool. I"d never seen anything like it. They have done a great job with a small space. If you're not huge, you"ll love this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UniversalTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    522
    168
    70
    35
See reviews for
115
481
142
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Good value. Great service. The front desk was always available to help. Beautifully decorated, modern, clean rooms that are on the small size but for the price is worth it. Walking distance to most points of interest and the subway. I will stay again!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franco_A_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for one night. Newbury street close by and Back Bay station around the corner! Also Faneuil Hall is on walking distance.
Modern room, good size (single occupancy). Good quality soap/shampoo/body lotion. Complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate in the lobby and a nice place to meet other guests in the early morning hours and have a good chat.I stayed here on a Saturday night and the room was on the first floor. The bar on the ground floor was very busy that night and if I hadn't been so tired and jet-lagged that night I would probably have needed ear-plugs.
Luggage is stored in the lobby and everybody can access it...but they took my laptop behind the reception desk, upon request.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sial2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed two nights at the Chandler Inn because it was very close to where I was working very late hours. I had long difficult days ahead of me and both mornings I had no hot water. It was a horrible way to start a very long day. The first morning they offered me a free continental breakfast. I told them I'd be down in about an hour. By the time I came down at 10:20, the breakfast had ended. The staff told me that the hot water would be working again later that day. The second morning with no hot water, I came down to the front desk and met Gretchen, the manager. She was duly upset that the people she had hired had not corrected the situation. She was very professional and she took me aside and apologized and gave me a $100 credit on my bill. I honestly appreciated her attention to me, but I still would have preferred a hot shower. I'm certain the situation has been corrected and that I just happened to stay the only two nights without hot water. The bedroom was nice, the bathroom tiny but fine. The staff was kind and helpful. The Trophy Room restaurant/bar was really nice too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I attended a conference held at Copley Place but couldn't afford the room rates there. I found the Chandler Inn to be within easy walking distance, even in the chilly weather. The room was very clean and compact, which I appreciate. And just downstairs was a nice bar/cafe with good (but pricey) food and excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rseitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I arrived very early I off a red eye planning to just drop my bag but since there was a room ready they let me check in a big thank you for that! Room is small but very nice the bathroom is nicely renovated with a large shower for the space soap/shampoo is higher end overall feel is much higher then the hotels star rating. Room looks and feels very clean not much storage space no closet just a sleek stainless steel rack with a few (three I think) hangers. The window in my second floor room fully opened that was nice. Was very quiet even when the bar was full I'm the first floor. The only area that even remotely that wasn't perfect was the bed it was on the to firm side and the bedding while bright white is beginning to show some wear, based on the condition of the rest of the property I'm sure they will be replaced soon.

I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Do you feel like spending the night in prison? If not, do NOT stay here! Rooms are stuffy and tiny featuring a giant feature pillow on the bed which serves no purpose other than to take up the little space you have. The bathroom seemed to be squished inside the closet leaving no space for a safe or any other usual amenities (iron and board). Staff on check in- the man was quite rude/smug and should not be working in the service industry. Most unhelpful hotel staff I have come across (and as a flight attendant, I have seen a lot) location is decent but stay somewhere with a proper sized room unless you are alike Harry potter living in a cupboard. IF YOU ARE READING THIS, CONSIDER YOURSELF WARNED!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here, better off in a hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Takemesomewhere28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#64 of 83 in Boston
951 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
689 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#54 of 83 in Boston
2,092 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing