We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality budget hotel”
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #72 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 27 March 2009

It's a nicely renovated hotel, the rooms are modest but well designed. The internet works. There's no tea/coffee in the room (but there is in the lobby) and no bath (just a shower), so it missed two of my "must-haves"... But the staff were helpful and pleasant, it was a very reasonable price, and the location's fine, close enough to most places I wanted to be.

Breakfast is at either a cosy cafe round the corner, or the workman's cafe two doors' down. I paid a b'n'b rate, which was $5 more than the regular rate... and got a $5 voucher to use at either of the two places! No complaint about that, but not much point either. There's parking at the back.

For the price, I have no complaints. Very pleasant and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,136)
There are newer reviews for Chandler Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

921 - 927 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2009

Stayed in one of the remodeled rooms. I walked down the stairs and it appears only two of the floors are renovated, several are under renovation, and several are not. Negatives:

1. Lobby is just a registration desk - so sitting area, no bar, no restaurant
2. Rooms are tiny
3. No closet in room - there is a rack on the wall to hang clothes - mine just had 2 hangers
4. No mini-bar in room, no ironing board, no iron, limited storage
5. No workout facility
6. The bar is a gay bar
7. No attached restaurant
8. Tiny bathroom

Postives
1. Location
2. Rate
3. New flat screen TV with Direct TV
I personally would not stay there again, but if you want a cheap well located room, don't mind the lack of amenities and don'd mind staying in a hotel that caters to a gay clientele, then this might be your place.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBTravelerDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

well i had all good things to say about the chandler inn until today. Upon staying there over the past couple weeks while apartment hunting in the city, we were first given one of the redone boutique style rooms at the rate we found online...this continued thru everytime we came back or extended our stay with them up until today...We had the nice remodeled room last night, and upon extending today was downgraded to one of the floors not remodeled and a lot less appealing, because that rate falls under the catagory for that room.. Talk about bait and switch! The worst customer service i have ever experienced. And ive been in the industry for ten plus years! Bad move!

Stayed: February 2009
3  Thank torlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Well, after reading some reviews on this hotel I am really wondering if they stayed at the same one I was in.
The room was really nice, small bathroom but very cozy, clean and new. The room was very fancy, flat big screen, hundreds of channels, an authentic Panton chair!!, very confy bed and everything neat and clean. Even the carpet felt so clean.
Location is simply the best in Boston. You can go walking everywhere from here. Copley place, Back Bay T station and Newbury St. are just one or two minutes walk. Prudential, Downtown Crossing, Boston common,... just another few minutes.
People at the desk were very nice. Complimentary newspapers, coffee,....
I'd like to thank the guy at the desk in the mornings (Charles?). He was really kind and nice.
There was no room key, it was a card. I suppose there is a renewal in process all around the property and I was lucky to get a new room.
The wifi worked not so bad than I had read in a previous review. Sometimes there was no connection but no longer than ten minutes and it worked perfectly.
There was no noise at all. The window closed perfectly. The view from the window was nice. I loved to see the Hancock tower from my bed.
The neighborhood was lovely. Quiet and beautiful. Representative of Boston. Felt very safe.
I'm completely sure I would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank giltrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

in nice leafy street, old fashioned room , comfy bed , we had 2 windows on street was not to noisy at all. and had nice view up and down street friendly staff great free coffee in lobby, great location short walk to metro stop.. gay bar downstairs but no noise ..
liked it very much

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank janefromcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Hotel was in a fantastic location in the south of Boston within easy walking distance of both Copley Square and downtown Boston.

The room was a reasonable size and clean.

They were also fantastic at offering a late check out - 2pm on a Friday afternoon - much appreciated.

Only negative comment is that the windows do not give much sound insultation and as the hotel is above a bar and on a busy bus route you should come prepared with ear plugs.

By the way, you can get a great breakfast at the coffee shop around the corner.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloucesterMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

After reading some of the reviews we were worried about going to the hotel. We took a cab from logan to the hotel which took around 15mins. When we arrived we noticed the hotel was next to a bar, but we never heard any noise from the bar throughout the out week. Our room was nice, (nothing amazing) it was clean, comfy and had all what we needed. It had a TV which had loads of channels (although we hardley watched tv). The bathroom was small but really clean and everything worked. We had it cleaned daily with fresh towles. There was no tea and coffee in the room but there was a machine downstairs and you could have a bucket of ice in your room.
The hotel was in a brill place, 5 min walk from back bay subway and if you get a good map you can walk to many attraction and malls. Lots of restaurants and starbucks and dunkin dougnuts around. The hotel were really informitive and called us taxi's often, they let us keep our luggage in the hotel after check out too as our floght was in the evening.
Overall wewere really pleased and it was cheap too.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank heatwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#58 of 84 in Boston
2,193 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#67 of 84 in Boston
961 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,699 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 84 in Boston
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £106 - £813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing