We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great location.”
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #68 of 83 Hotels in Boston
New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great location.”
Reviewed 1 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel with a couple friends over Memorial Day weekend and were very pleased. The hotel is in a great area that is easy to get to, navigate, it is in easy walking distance of the Orange line T Back Bay station, all of Back Bay and is on quiet and pleasant street. The entire hotel is nicely decorated and the rooms are superb. For a busy vacation where you wouldn't spend much time in your hotel I highly recommend you stay here. The beds a comfortable, the windows open fully to take advantage of the breeze and there is AC if you need it. We stayed in a corner room on the 7th floor and never needed the AC and the views were great. The bathroom was the only drawback and it was quite small, however for our needs it was adequate. Everything was clean, the people were pleasant and we will definitely stay here for our next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpirog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    522
    169
    70
    35
See reviews for
115
482
142
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The location is superior - walking distance to Calderwood Pavilion for great theatre - as well as restaurants and shopping. The south end is a fantastic place to wander and people watch - Chaldner Inn makes it wasy to enjoy all the amenities of the areas. The staff is friendly and helpful, room are lavishly appointed and cozy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chardon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Loved this place. My room was super clean and comfortable, with cool stuff like free wifi, ipod charger, flat screen TV and a very comfy bed. Loved the full length mirror when getting ready to go out! There's no AC in the room (well, I couldn't find it), and Boston does get humid, so plan to shower, etc. early or your room could get sauna-like. Helpful, friendly, knowledgeable staff with a sense of humor! Yummy coffee drinks in the lobby. The location is ideal, just a couple blocks from the T with many shops/eateries nearby. The Fritz, next door, has the coolest servers/bartenders and the best Bloody Mary you could ever dream of.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattleite5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2010

in a quiet area; 10-minute walk to Back Bay station, Copley Place etc.
suites on higher floors have been renovated and upgraded--flat screen TV, card key etc.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank iii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Staff very helpful. Room decent but small - bathroom really minimal (shower doesn't really close and water can get onto main part; tiny space). Internet decent but a bit tough to connect to initially.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcwessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2010

A quaint neighborhood with some great restaurants in walking distance. Free parking available on the same street if you are lucky . Economy rooms are economy sized but perfect if you're just there to sleep. Would not want to stay on lower floors because hotel bar/restaurant can get a bit loud on weekends but no issues on the 6th.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuletide7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We thought this was a great location for the price - we paid under $150 for a room. See other reviews for more detail on the location. Service was very very friendly. It is a small room and very basic but was fine for us. Our only problem was the noise (similar to other reviews) - we were right by the hallway entry door for our floor and it was VERY loud opening and closing. It kept waking me. I was also woken up by people out in the street leaving the bar. Seemed to quite down by midnight (midweek) but we were exhausted by a long day of traveling and were trying to get to bed early. I would suggest trying to get a room further away from the hall door and/or bringing some ear plugs. Otherwise it was great!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith3576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#65 of 83 in Boston
952 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
698 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#54 of 83 in Boston
2,093 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing