We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience, Location and Service”
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #69 of 83 Hotels in Boston
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenience, Location and Service”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Great location - came up from NYC for client meetings, took the Acela and was able to walk to the Chandler from Back Bay Station. Clean, quiet room with good flat screen for the game and wi-fi so I could work. Quick cab to the financial district in the morning (front desk called me a cab and let me know when it arrived) - and finally when I was at the train station and ready to head home, I realized i had left my train ticket in my room! The staff at the Chandler immediately searched my room and found I had inadvertently thrown it away! But they secured it! So a quick cab back to grab my ticket and then a few block walk to Back Bay Station and I was off. Thank you Gretchen & Kevin at the Chandler. Couldnt be nicer - Matt NYC

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJicote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    523
    169
    70
    35
See reviews for
115
483
142
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Loved the Hotel, though there was a strange smell along the corridors, probably humidaty. Nothing that a 5m with the windows opened didn't resolve. Staff very frinedly and helpfull, all was very clean. Free WiFi.
Surely we'll come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Havre, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Boston can be an expensive place to stay but Chandler Inn is definately worth searching out.
It is located in a trendy part of town which is quiet and residential but within easy walking distance of town and it is close to the Back Bay T line. When we arrived at the airport we decided to take a taxi for $30 but it would be quite easy to use the subway to get from the Airport. It all depends on your budget and how much stuff you have to carry.

We stayed for 3 nights and had one of the more expensive boutique rooms. The rooms are stylish and modern and are everything you need. There is free coffee in reception but breakfast wasn't included.

Attached to the hotel is a bar, but its nice, friendly and there was no noise from the bar to disturb you.

Parking is limited to the street but Boston isn't really a driving City. I would suggest arriving in Boston, do everything on foot and if you are travelling on get a car from Hertz at Park Plaza for when you leave ( again with-in easy walking distance from the hotel ). If you are doing this, take your bags to Hertz rather than leaving them at the hotel and driving back. We got lost in the one way system getting back to the hotel.

The staff were always friendly and helpful.

A very good place

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy9562000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The reviews, website and pricing of the Chandler Inn Hotel made me think it was the perfect choice for a 3 day stay in Boston during June. It's well situated - only a few blocks from the Back Bay T stop - and the small size made me think 'boutique hotel'. While the staff couldn't be nicer, just about everything else could. My room was small, dank smelling and had a 'queen sized bed' that was surely no larger than a double. The bathroom was appalling. It was tiny and the tiles were cracked and old. The shower had a pipe with a hole at the top rather than a real showerhead fixture. In general, there were no amenities to speak of - no tissues in the bathroom, not a pen / pencil or piece of paper, only an armoire style box for a closet. I could barely fit my suitcase in the room without tripping over it. The TV/Cable barely worked (very basic cable) and there wasn't even an extra chair to sit in save the plastic (yes plastic!) desk chair. Ick. I had hoped for a bit more. For an extra $20/night, I found a few nearby chain hotels. I am no luxury hotel gal but I couldn't stay. I checked out the next morning (they were kind enough to allow me to do so without penalty) and went right to the Radisson (which was delightful).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randiritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Stayed at the Chandler Inn May 17-20 and it was the perfect 'base' to soak up the Boston atmosphere. It's nestled in the beautiful Back Bay area, right in a residential neighborhood and is walkable to all kinds of restaurants, and the "T" Back Bay Station for transportation.

The rooms are on the smaller side, but I already knew that by reading other reviews.
I actually got to see both the 'standard' rooms and the 'boutique' rooms. We didn't feel the need to pay the higher price for the boutique, since we were just there a couple days siteseeing around Boston before traveling down to Cape Cod for a few more days.
But as it turned out, the internet did not work in our standard room so they upgraded us to a boutique at no charge. Yes, both are pretty small rooms!
You got to give up space for location sometime.
I also highly recommend the Old Town Trolly tour.

Even though you can walk to many of the sites from the hotel, the trolly lets you see much more, and really gives you a feel for the city. You get 2 consecutive days riding, and can get off and on at any of the stops as often as you like!

It rained our 2nd day, so it sure came in handy. We visited the New England Aquarium - another MUST - We were there 4 hours, and not because of the rain.
It's an awesome aquarium!!!

Pros:
Price, accessability, cleanliness, friendliness and helpful staff
Cons:
Small rooms, but adequate

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heat1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The hotel is a chic boutique offering two blocks from the back bay station. Parking is off site, but not extremely difficult. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were nicely updated with AC (with remote), flat screen TV's, nice sheets, and modern bathroom. Although the rooms are small, they are perfect if you don't plan on spending a lot of time there. GREAT CHOICE OVERALL, I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeStave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel with a couple friends over Memorial Day weekend and were very pleased. The hotel is in a great area that is easy to get to, navigate, it is in easy walking distance of the Orange line T Back Bay station, all of Back Bay and is on quiet and pleasant street. The entire hotel is nicely decorated and the rooms are superb. For a busy vacation where you wouldn't spend much time in your hotel I highly recommend you stay here. The beds a comfortable, the windows open fully to take advantage of the breeze and there is AC if you need it. We stayed in a corner room on the 7th floor and never needed the AC and the views were great. The bathroom was the only drawback and it was quite small, however for our needs it was adequate. Everything was clean, the people were pleasant and we will definitely stay here for our next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpirog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,593 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 83 in Boston
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,983 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 83 in Boston
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing