We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing product saved by very good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Madeira
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing product saved by very good service.”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Book this fine hotel to relax after two intensive weeks on the road to relax and recharge. Unfortunately, a few issues spoiled the week-end; I got disturbed by the noisy elevators. First spent a night directly next to the elevator shaft, moved room the following day and it improved slightly but it was not perfectly quiet. I would suggest to equip doors with new door stopper as well, to limit door slamming. Room's decor is very classic, nice size. Bathrooms need renovation (walk.-in showers missing).
Service was good overall the hotel. Spa is very good and well appointed. Internet comes for free, thank you.

Room Tip: As far as you can from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC64Madeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
It was certainly our pleasure to welcome you as a guest at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, and we sincerely apologize for not providing you with a restful and relaxing weekend as you had hoped. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide you with better accommodations during your stay, and your suggestions will be taken into consideration. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed The Spa and hope that it added a bit of refreshment to your weekend. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    276
    64
    21
    18
See reviews for
453
679
76
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Spacious rooms with sitting area. Comfortable beds and linens. Furniture is a bit old fashioned. The staff could not be more helpful. I arrived in a rental car that I needed to return before checking in. The doorman took my bags and gave me impeccable directions to the rental car return -- no small feat in the one way streets of Boston -- and was waiting with my bags when I returned. Meritage Restaurant continues to be stellar with a beautiful view and superb service. Access to walkways on the harbor. Very convenient location for Boston business offices.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
We are delighted to read that our staff provided thoughtful and gracious service during your stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. It was our pleasure to watch over your bags until your return. Your stay sounds as if it was lovely and we appreciate you taking the time to share. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

What makes a hotel outstanding? Indeed, the personnel. BHH excels in this respect and is located at the waterfront. For waterfront lovers ideal and like elsewhere near the waterfront ample good places to have drinks or a cosy meal. The hotel has the luxury which you expect from a 5star hotel. Well maintained, no dirty spots on the paint. Classic stylish. Bed similar to Hilton beds, so a little bit hard mattress with a luxury topper which makes you sink in and gives you that luxury sleeping experiences you love. Internet functioning very well and free. Shower not that powerful, something I missed getting up early. Plumbing somewhat noisy but a minor issue balanced against all goodies of the hotel
Plan your walk to downtown properly or if not, .... you may walk through streets where you do not want to be. If you do not know Boston very well and go downtown, take a taxi the first time to Boylston Street or Beacon Hill/Park.

Last autumn we stayed in Beacon Hill Hotel and Restaurant, next time it will certainly be Boston Harbor Hotel again..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao_Lagoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
We are certainly flattered to be your new favorite hotel in Boston, and there is no greater compliment than to hear that a guest will be staying with us again! It is wonderful to hear that you appreciated our scenic, waterfront location and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I have nothing to say but great things about the Boston Habor Hotel. We arrived after a long drive down from Montreal around 3pm. I was expecting more people at check in but there was no line and we were served immediately. Check in took all of 2 mins and we were off to our room. I had called ahead and requested a crib for our room. At check-in I was told the room was ready and the crib was already in place. The bellman was very friendly and recommended many places that we could go visit as a family.

Once we got to the room it was very nicely appointed. We had a deluxe room which was great because it gave us a bit more space for our little one to run around. The crib was already setup with Winnie the pooh blankets and sheets as well a side bumper pads. It was perfect. The room was very clean. We had a king bed that was comfortable. We were not that high up (8th floor) but the city view was nice none the less. One small problem did occur as our toilet did not flush. I called the main desk and someone was up to our room in 5 mins to fix it. It only took about 10 mins to fix and after that there were no other problems.

We also took advantage of the indoor pool. We took our little one down for a swim both days that we were there. The staff was very helpful and extremely nice to talk with. The pool was a little bit on the cool side when you jumped in but after a few minutes you were fine. The locker rooms and fitness facilities were also second to none for a hotel.

The location is excellent. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The Children’s museum was only about a 15 min walk away, the aquarium maybe 10 mins. We usually decided to go up to the North end to eat, as the restaurants up there are great. That is about a 15 minute walk also. The area is very safe we had no problems walking back to the hotel after dinner in the evenings.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a high class place to stay in Boston.

Room Tip: Delux rooms will provide that extra space you need when traveling as a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
At the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, we always look forward to welcoming families and ensuring that all of your needs are met is our commitment. We are thrilled that everything was just as you expected when you arrived, and we thank you for alerting us to the problem with your bathroom. It was our pleasure to quickly remedy the situation and get you back to enjoying your stay. Thank you for your gracious compliments of our staff, accommodations and location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back for another exceptional stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I can say that this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The location is great! Wanna eat - my fav Hard Rock cafe is 10 min walking distance. Shopping - Macy's is 15 min walking. The view is spectacular and so is the service. I needed a scale to weigh my luggage at 2 am and they got it for me. Everyone was very friendly and nice. The rooms are great, so fresh and clean. I could not find a single dirty spot, the rooms are cleaned twice a day. I really felt at home. There is a money safety box, bath robes, slippers, nail files etc etc, everything you can imagine. I recommend you stay here and i will be back. The business center is great and works 24/7

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
We strive to maintain the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort for our guests at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, so we were very happy to read that your stay with us was so positive. It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy the spectacular views and take advantage of our convenient location and luxurious amenities during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your story and please come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading,MA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

What a beautiful hotel with AAA+ customer service. I had originally booked this hotel for end of February but had to cancel due to the 2013 Blizzard. We had purchased an advanced non refundable rate but had no problems changing the date to a Sat night in March. The hotel is stunningly beautiful. We pulled up and was greeted by William who was very helpful. He got our luggage and walked us into the lobby. Our room was absolutely stunning! We were in room 1002 which had a double view overlooking the Boston Harbor & a beautiful city view. It was a corner room That had a small sitting area/ mini bar. Around the corner was a queen size bed and beautiful modern bathroom. The room had all the amenities you would ever need from small Purell hand sanitizer wipes to stain removers. We had decided to walk over to Panera for a small lunch which is right across the street then walked over to Fanuel Hall which was about a 5 min walk. Fanuel hall is a great area for shopping. Has a lot of bars and restaurants. When we returned to our room the hotel staff had a chilled bottle of champagne and some chocolate strawberries and other chocolate delights waiting for us. I thought it was such a nice added touch to our stay! We went down to the pool/health club which was really nice. They have a large jacuzzi, pool and gym area. Their locker rooms have a sauna & steam room and very nice changing area. They offer fresh fruit and cold water with lemons. That evening we ended up meeting friends and taking a short cab ride over to the Northend to Strega for dinner and Cafe Victoria for some desserts and after dinner drinks. We returned to the hotel and had a drink in the Rowes Wharf lounge. It's a really nice lounge that offer you peanuts and chips. You can also get food too. I would highly recommend the Boston Harbor Hotel. Their first class service is one not to be missed!

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room with a double view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneygirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
We are so happy that you were able to reschedule your trip and come and stay with us at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf! Sometimes the smallest details can make the biggest difference, so we strive to provide each of our guests with exceptional service, luxurious amenities and the utmost quality and comfort. Thank you for sharing your experience and extending your kind compliments for our staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This hotel is clearly one of the noce ones and offers nice bedrooms with good service! Well worth a stay - great views on the ocean!!! Bedrooms are well equipped and spacious - contrary to many other hotels things work and are well maintained!

Room Tip: Ocean View!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
We are delighted that your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf was one that exceeded your expectations and that you found the view from your guestroom to be so enjoyable. It was our pleasure to welcome you as a guest and we look forward to your return in the near future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,564 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,161 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing