We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in Boston.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in Boston.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent the week end at the Hotel and really enjoyed the location. It is right on the water, walking distance to a lot of tourist attractions such as Faneuil Market, the north end etc...
We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We loved our superior room with water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billybeachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
It is a guarantee that we would love to have you stay with us again. At the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, we believe that even the small details make the biggest difference, so we strive to provide each of our guests with exceptional service, quality and comfort. Thank you for sharing your positive experience and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,447
    273
    63
    22
    18
See reviews for
448
674
76
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a difficult review as, on the one hand, our hotel experience was so bad that we left after one night of a planned three-night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On the other hand, hotel management rose to the occasion and did right by us - with many apologies - when we checked out.

I'd give the hotel one or two stars tops for comfort, amenities, quiet, etc. We heard clunks, bangs, whirring noises, and something that sounded like someone dragging wrought-iron patio furniture across concrete above us at all hours of the day and night. At first we thought it might be housekeeping, but they don't clean rooms in the middle of the night (or shouldn't!). There were also traveling groups which had booked multiple rooms at least on our floor. So, there was constant talking and laughing in the hallway and doors banging closed - again, at all hours.

Although we had booked a suite, and another popular travel site credits the Boston Harbor as having some of the biggest hotel rooms in Boston, ours was rather small and disappointing. There was a sort of slight shabbiness to the hotel, too - like it's a few years past due for a good overhaul. Elevators were banged up and sometimes dirty, hallways walls were marked up in spots, and our room furnishings showed their age. Also, little things - like no coffee maker in the room, and only a few available outlets for charging electronics - were irksome.

Common areas were "lively", as there was at least one wedding underway, and as already mentioned, several groups apparently traveling together. I'd call the Boston Harbor a great place to have a bachelor/bachelorette weekend, a family reunion, or for groups traveling together. It is, after all, convenient to much of what there is to do and see in Boston. However, I'd call it a lousy place for a quiet, romantic getaway to celebrate an anniversary.

Again, all that said, hotel management took our complaints seriously and treated us with respect and care when we checked out. I'd give that attitude five stars. So, while my opinion of the Boston Harbor as a place to stay isn't very high, it's good to know that management takes care of the guests. That's worth three stars overall any day. Stay there if you're in a big group and don't mind a lot of noise. Look elsewhere if you want peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Please allow us to convey our deepest apologies that your recent stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are grateful that you gave us the opportunity to respond to your concerns, but are very concerned to learn that you experienced the level of noise disruptions that you described. Thank you for providing us with this information so that we may review what occurred with the operational departments that impacted your stay. We certainly do regret that you departed from our hotel with disappointment and hope to have the opportunity in the future to change your opinion of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had a 2 night stay here at the end of a 2 week trip to the States. We had a wonderful room on the 12th floor with amazing views over the harbour and city. I loved watching the planes landing at the airport and all the boats in the harbour. Beautifully appointed room with an exceptionally comfortable bed. Lovely toiletries in the bathroom. Very friendly helpful and attentive staff at reception, in the restaurant and in the bar. We were able to leave our bags as we had an early checkout and much later flight and the staff organised a taxi for us to the airport so we were very well treated. This hotel cares about its guests and makes them feel special. It therefore deserves its 5* rating. We also ate in the Sea Grill restaurant one evening and our meal there was one of the best we had on our holiday. Yes it was pricey but well worth it for the lovely food, excellent wine choice and excellent service. I would not hesitate to stay there again and recommend it as an excellent base to explore Boston to anyone considering a holiday in the city. 5 gold stars from this reviewer too!

Room Tip: Get room on the 12th floor for a brilliatn view. Ours was called a double harbour room as it had vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrieradiostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are thrilled to read that your accommodations, dining experience and service levels received from our staff made your stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf 5-star worthy. Our staff is more than happy to provide our guests with every detail needed to create the most memorable experience and we thank you for acknowledging their efforts in your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for your gracious comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at the Boston Harbor for a recent board meeting, so I didn't really choose the hotel or the accommodations. It was wonderful! Comfortable room, well appointed and clean. Excellent service by the entire staff, especially by the concierge desk (ask for "Ronnie"). In addition to providing outstanding accommodations, the staff was very helpful in supporting our meeting, so things seemed to flow effortlessly and seamlessly. I stay in hotels frequently, and by now it takes a lot to impress me. I was IMPRESSED!!

Room Tip: I would probably ask for a harbor view in preference to a city view, although the city view was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We appreciate your wonderful comments about our accommodations and the service levels you experienced with our staff. We hope to continue to have the chance to welcome you back on future stays in Boston. Thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
263 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great , just great hotel. Rooms excellent and service impeccable - from arrival to departure - from door staff to concierge. Friendly and helpful. Packed lunch for train - yes what do you need ? Pool area just a joy ( may need a little updating as some rusty bits at the side ?).Great to have a real pool not just a splash zone and water, juice and coffee provided too Shower pressure low which I don't remember from previous visits.
The outside cafe is a delight in the summer.
Take the harbor ferry from the airport to enjoy the city views on the way and arrive in front of the hotel.
Ask and pay more to get a harbour view - worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cultureoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We are delighted to read your kind remarks regarding the personalized service from our staff as we always aim to exceed our guests’ expectations. We do apologize that water pressure was not at an optimum level and we will have our Maintenance Engineers look into any issues that may have caused it. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again and we hope that it is soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Beautiful traditionally styled room with city view...but I have been in better (larger, better equipped) in 4 star. Service OK, but lacking personal quality that I would have expected. I was given early check-in which I appreciated a great deal, and the front desk did upgrade to king harbor which I could not use because I needed 2 doubles (again appreciated). The beds and pillows were take-home quality (tempted but would not have made it out the door :) ). Location superb. Small notes: if they choose not to put in coffee makers in the rooms then there should be coffee served on each floor so that guests do not have to get dressed to go down to the dining room and ASK for a cup. That was very irritating. It was difficult to find plugs to recharge my electronics. Night turn-down was ok: I missed the sweets on the pillow or by the bedside.
We ate in two of the associated restaurants and loved the food...and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience and that we were able to extend an upgrade to your accommodations. We do hope that during any future stays you will take advantage of our exceptional room service, where coffee can be provided upon your request. There seemed to be a few areas during your stay where we missed an opportunity to fully impress you, and for that, we apologize. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

At daytime, we had a pleasant stay in room 1508 of this airport hotel. At nighttime there is a noise issue! While the hotel windows and walls are very well insulated to block outside noise (we did not hear airplanes taking off at all) noise from the hallway was terrible. There was no party going on, but there were simply guests talking while walking to their rooms. It felt like they were talking right next to our bed. I know it sounds like I am exaggerating, but it really woke us up numerous times. We also asked some guests who had a never ending conversation to stop talking in the middle of the night (apparently they attended the wedding that was taking place in the hotel).

The reason for that noise is probably the space between the doors of all rooms (at least on floor 15) and their carpets. We told the very nice guy who checked us in about this. The hotel is aware of the problem and apparently there will be a major renovation taking place at the end of the year to address this issue. We were told that by the beginning of 2015 everything should be back to normal.

If we had not experienced this noise issue we would highly recommend this hotel. Good facilities, great, very friendly and helpful staff and well equipped rooms with very comfortable beds. The location is not ideal for tourists wishing to explore the city, but there are water taxis across the harbour for 10 USD one way / 17.50 USD return rides which leave right in front of the hotel. The hotel's free shuttle bus will also drop you of at the subway station.

One thing that also bugs me a little bit about his hotel (besides the noise issue)... We wanted to watch a video on demand one night as we could not be bothered about going out again after a long day of sightseeing... The hotel charges at least 14 USD excl. taxes for one movie. Some are even more expensive. Rediculous prices for movies in today's world that make you think they are just ripping you off.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We truly do feel you may have posted your review in error to our hotel’s page, and wish that you had experienced a much more relaxing stay at the hotel you mentioned. At the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, we are not really considered an airport hotel since we are located almost 4 miles from Logan Airport. The water taxi does indeed stop right outside our hotel, but we unfortunately do not offer a shuttle to or from the airport. We would love to welcome you to our hotel in the future to experience a quiet night’s rest amidst luxurious amenities and an excellent location to explore Boston from. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,505 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,139 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,038 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
3,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing