We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best of Boston”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Four Seasons is located across the street from The Commons. A location convenient to everything Boston has to offer. The hotel staff is well trained and motivated to be of assistance. The rooms are beautiful and perfectly maintained. The restaurant off of the lobby is convenient and good. We didn't use the spa but have been told by friends that it is really excellent.
When we come to Boston, we will only stay at the Four Seasons.

Room Tip: Select a room that overlooks the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,378
    240
    75
    30
    17
See reviews for
528
405
75
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 767 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Having stayed at Four Seasons in the past, I was expecting the best of what the hospitality industry has to offer. On arrival though, we were a bit disappointed. Although it is in an outstanding location (walking distance to much of the city and in between 2 "T" stops), we found the Lobby lacking luster and our room to be old fashioned in style (with a bit of a stale smell).

But the longer we stayed, the more we liked it. The staff is outstanding and definitely "made" our experience. Especially, Alex in the Pool/spa area who seemed to anticipate every need before we had it. We had mixed experiences with the concierge staff however as many of our questions had to ultimately be answered by our smart phones.

The room, although not furnished to our taste was a good size for a city hotel. It was immaculate with top quality appointments. The bed, linens and towels are top notch. We should have called down for better pillows but they would have been there in a snap! Our 7th floor room was also exceptionally quiet for it's central city location.

The pool, gym and saunas are in excellent condition and a nice addition to a downtown Boston visit.

Should we find ourselves in Boston again soon, we will definitely consider another stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I have shared your feedback with our Operations team, our Concierges team, and appreciated the kind words about our great Spa colleague, Alex, which we have passed on to Spa management . I’m glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the appointments in your room, and that you enjoyed our spa and fitness facilities. I do hope you’ll be back in Boston again soon, and that when you visit, you’ll once again be our guest. Please contact me directly prior to your next visit at awet.sium@fourseasons.com so I can personally assure everything is to your liking for your stay. I appreciate you taking time to write your thoughtful review; thanks again.

–Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Silver, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

got in Saturday - walked a long block to Fire & ice - great fun for the kids. came back to the lounge for cocktails which were wonderful. Sunday we went to church and walked back thru the Commons and Gardens with the entire place in full bloom. stumbled onto the "Make Way for Ducklings!" annual children's parade - my future grand children will all have duckling suits! finished it off with brunch in the Ballroom - a brilliant meal. the hotel is not a low cost provider, but as an occasional reat, was well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey-L-1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was a treat to read that you were here for the “Make Way for Ducklings” annual parade, and that you were able to enjoy many of our Boston hotel’s amenities during your stay. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the ballroom brunch, and our Food & Beverage staff really enjoyed hearing your feedback. Thanks again for sharing your comments, and we hope to see you back at Four Seasons Hotel Boston very soon. -

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The man who checked me in on arrival came around and escorted me to the elevator. On another occasion I asked someone who was obviously already on a mission for directions. He changed course and took me to where I was going, then went on his way. Repeatedly staff seemed eager to help however they could.

Amenities, decor and upkeep of the accommodations were all top notch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Much thanks for reviewing our Boston hotel. We’re elated that you enjoyed your amenities and stay as well as experiencing the exceptional service that we pride ourselves on. Your comments are greatly appreciated by our entire team. We hope to have the honor welcoming you back to our Back Bay hotel in the near future.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We picked the hotel for the location. It is near 2 T stops and centrally located to Fanuiel Hall, Fenway, Downtown, and teh Back Bay. Though Boston is fairly easy to get around via the T, we found that the Four Seasons location to Boston Common and the Back Bay was key. The pool was great and I can't say enough about the service and hospitality. Top notch and I think that is the point of paying the room rates here is the service. The room was huge compared to other hotel chains and the kids loved the pool. BTW, very kid friendly! Ice cream socials, and a gift basket waiting in the room after dinner. Really couldn't ask for more than that. They made our stay very enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the indoor courtyard, but I'd recommend requesting a city view. Especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syracuse_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
It's such a joy reading your review. I'm delighted to know that you enjoyed the central location of our downtown Boston hotel; not to mention the proximity to the beautiful Boston Public Garden (especially in the Springtime!). I'm thrilled that you were able to enjoy the many amenities that we offer from the 8th floor indoor pool to the Top Secret Ice Cream Club and so much more; however, the greatest compliment of all is knowing that you received top notch service from our staff. I appreciate your endorsement greatly and look forward to personally meeting you if/when travels return you to Boston.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I reviewed this hotel about a year ago and titled my revie "Best of Boston'. I can confirm to you all that this is still true. Over the past year I have Boston five times and stayed at several locations in the city. The Four Seasons is the best location, has the best service and gets better (if possible) on every trip. The little things that add to the experiece makes the difference. I commented on how nice the new floor was in the fitness center to an employee and was wondering who made the flooring. Within the hour I had anevelope delivered to my room with all the information about the flooring,where to buy it and contact information. that is service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I can’t thank you enough for your loyalty and review. Our entire team continually strives to provide the best guest service, and I'm elated when our guests experience just that. I truly believe that the special touches do make the difference between a good stay and a great stay and I'm overjoyed that you continue to have wonderful visits to our Boston hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience regarding the fitness center; I've shared your kind comments with our Spa Department. I do hope that you’ll continue to choose Four Seasons Boston in your travels. I'd be delighted to welcome you back to Boston in the future.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was brought here for a Mothers Day Brunch. People were dressed in t shirts and sneakers. For $85.00 a head, they really need a dress code. Had to wait for food to come out, service was horrible, waited 20 minutes for a drink. When we called, they told us children separate in another room, running all over the place. Very loud, would never return, could of saved $500 and went to IHOP, same thing. This in NOT a 5 star resort by any means. Next year the Ritz.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
I was mortified to read your review and dismayed at what you experienced; thank you for bringing this to our attention. On behalf of all the staff, we apologize for any displeasure. I can assure you this is not consistent with our Hotel’s track record and I’m hopeful you will contact me personally at awet.sium@fourseasons.com or (617) 351-2008 so that I can personally arrange for you to return to The Bristol Lounge and give you and your guests the 5 star experience you should have had on Mother’s Day…and that we are known for. I do hope to hear from you.

Kind regards,
Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,868 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#12 of 83 in Boston
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,307 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Address: 200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-3916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Back Bay, Four Seasons Hotel Boston houses 273 guest rooms including 77 luxury suites, many with postcard views of Boston's Public Garden, Beacon Hill and the gilded dome of the State House. Enjoy convenient access to Newbury Street - the Rodeo Drive of the East - as well as Charles Street's charm and the vibrant Theater District. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, the Hotel features exceptional complimentary amenities including: pool and 24-hour Fitness Center, Business Center, Wi-Fi, House Car and coffee & muffins in the lobby each morning. Children enjoy the Kids Passport Program, Cookie Making Classes, the chance to "Raid the Fridge" for a midnight snack, and so much more. Couples delight in Bristol Restaurant and Bar, Boston's favorite destination for dining and drinks, featuring New England seafood, steaks, the famous Bristol Burger, hand-rolled pastas, signature martinis, and special, seasonal events. Four Seasons Hotel Boston is known for its longstanding tradition of warm, welcoming, wonderful service that makes it a true home away from home for travelers. There's so much to enjoy within Four Seasons Hotel Boston's walls - and just outside our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Boston
Four Seasons Boston
Boston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing