We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, rooms old and tired not in a trendy way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great location, rooms and corridor had a very strong odor of smoke, like an old ash tray. The front desk asked me my name 3 times then continued to call me by another name. My wife and I laughed so hard, we thought it was an episode of faulty towers. The concierge was first class, great knowledge of the city.

Room Tip: make sure you confirm you are getting a non smoking room, our smelt awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lawrence16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your candid feedback. I was mortified to read your review and can assure you that these comments are taken very seriously. I would be grateful if you would contact me directly at awet.sium@fourseasons.com or (617) 351-2008 so I can learn more about your experience and personally follow up with our staff. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback, which is so important to us. I look forward to hearing from you.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

941 - 947 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We upgraded ourselves to a suite plus a connecting bedroom. Since my mom is 80, she stays in the room a lot, so it is worth it to have the extra space for her. The service was excellent. The food in the restaurant was also very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HMeyer504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your luxurious accommodations at our Boston hotel; however, the greatest compliment of all is knowing that you received excellent service throughout your stay. Our team strives daily to ensure a memorable visit for our guests and we're thrilled that you experienced just that...and for all the right reasons! Thank you again for your kind comments; we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the near future.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was my first time at a Four Seasons and I can see why people stay there. The entire vibe is very classy and dignified. The rooms are large and very well-appointed and comfortable. The bed was amazingly nice. The common areas are beautiful; even the hallways look nice. There are lots of great high-end touches - ice and water at turn-down, you can pick the paper you want, etc. The service was excellent; everyone was very helpful and staff seemed willing to go out of their way to make sure things went well (I misread the times free coffee was available in the lobby so the host for the restaurant went and got me a cup). It definitely is used to dealing with a high-end clientele (the concierge seemed not to know how to recommend a place in Chinatown because the places are all "holes in the wall") but it really did seem that everyone was welcoming and eager. The location is also great. It's definitely one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Memphis_piranha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

What a delight it was to read your review. We know that there are many wonderful hotel options in Boston; thank you for choosing Four Seasons Hotel Boston for your time spent in the city. We so appreciate your thoughtful comments and are especially excited that you thoroughly enjoyed your entire experience. Besides our central location and our pristine product, we're proud that the most memorable aspect about our Back Bay hotel is our remarkable team.

We would not receive glowing reviews like yours were it not for our staff who are passionate about providing caring service for our guests. Thank you again for your endorsement and we hope to welcome you back to Four Seasons Hotel Boston very soon. 

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I take a trip each year for our anniversary so this year he chose Boston. Great place for a weekend getaway. The service at the Four Seasons is excellent. When we arrived there was a beautiful strawberry dessert in our room with Happy Anniversary scrolled in chocolate so of course they were getting a good review from me! The room was the perfect size with large windows overlooking Boston Common. We had a room on about the 5th floor. Highly recommended for people watching and there was no noise through the windows.
The bedding was so comfortable and that I had to look it up when we got home to see where you can buy it ( you can buy it online BTW). The pool and hot tub were great for a relaxing dip at night, on Saturday nights they even had refreshments around the pool area and staff handing out cool towels in the hot tub. That is service! The location of the hotel is great. We walked everywhere. I would definitely stay at Four Seasons hotels again.

Room Tip: Loved the view overlooking Boston Common, and would choose a room not too high up for a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank aburt2 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We were so touched to hear that you chose to stay at our Back Bay hotel for your anniversary trip to Boston, and I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We pride ourselves on unsurpassed service, and I’m glad you made good use of the pool, fitness center and that you enjoyed our unbeatable location across from the historic Boston Public Garden, and within walking distance to the city’s top attractions.

I do hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel—and to our beautiful city—in the near future. Thank you for taking time to share your thoughtful comments.

–Awet Sium, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were so impressed with this hotel. The location is absolutely ideal, the rooms and public spaces were beautiful, but it was the service that was the best part of the experience. As with other 4s properties, they do everything to make you feel at home. Upon check in there were toys and snacks for our kids, champagne and dessert for us for our anniversary, and our room was set up exactly as we wanted, without having to wait for things like a rollaway for our toddler or a feather free set up in the room (often I check in and wait for those to come later, but here they were set upon arrival and so appreciated). At turndown the first night they noticed that we had surrounded the rollaway with chairs to make sure our little one didn't roll off, and upon returning there were toddler rails set up for her. I didn't even think to ask for this, but it was so welcome and impressive. We used the fitness center and pool daily - both great, and while we didn't eat at Bristol we did have room service the last day and that was prompt and delicious. I really can't say enough good things - we will definitely stay there again whenever we visit Boston!

Room Tip: We found the courtyard view room to be really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssschgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Sharing your thoughtful review with our staff was a real treat. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, and that your children enjoyed our many kids amenities. We pride ourselves on being family friendly, and I’m happy to hear that the service you experienced was top notch.

I must say – we have a very special staff here, and each and every one delights in treating every guest like family. Thank you for being our guest; I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon for another visit. Thanks again for your thoughtful review.

–Awet Sium, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My husband, 2 year old daughter and I stayed here last night. From the moment we pulled in front, the service was outstanding. At the welcoming desk, they knew our daughters name from when we called to reserve. She was thrilled they knew her name. The staff really went out of their way to give our daughter an amazing experience! The room was beautiful and food was delicious. I would find it impossible to have a less than perfect stay here. A special thanks to Toni, who our daughter is still talking about!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katcortelyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Boston is one of my favourite cities and the hotel is perfectly placed for those who like to stretch their legs and explore the city via footpaths. It is located just across from the Boston Commons next to Back Bay and a very short jaunt to beautiful Beacon Hill, Charles Street and the river. The rooms are sizable and designed to the Four Seasons standards.

Unfortunately I was not able to take advantage of the conveniences (pool, ect), but the restaurant was excellent as was room service. I took my mother as a treat away and she twisted her ankle on the brick sidewalks. The staff arrived within minutes with a cool compress and a wheelchair so she was not subjected to having to sojourn in the room for the rest of our stay.

May I suggest Legal Seafood which is located next door in the Statler Building, Vittoria Cafe and Mike's Pastry in the North End on Hanover Street for the best cheesecake and cannoli's you will ever have!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquireJones155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We very much appreciate your kind review, and were delighted to have you and family as our guest. I do hope that your mother’s ankle is recovering, and our staff were certainly glad to assist. Hopefully you’ll have more time on your next visit to experience our rooftop pool—noted as one of New England’s best—and our relaxing whirlpool hot tub.

I was glad, however, that you made it to the North End and to Mike’s Pastry—certainly one of our staff’s favorite places, hands down. Thank you for your kind review and all of us at Four Seasons Hotel Boston hope to have you with us again very soon.

–Awet Sium, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,932 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#14 of 84 in Boston
1,130 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Address: 200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-3916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £456 - £889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Back Bay, Four Seasons Hotel Boston houses 273 guest rooms including 77 luxury suites, many with postcard views of Boston's Public Garden, Beacon Hill and the gilded dome of the State House. Enjoy convenient access to Newbury Street - the Rodeo Drive of the East - as well as Charles Street's charm and the vibrant Theater District. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, the Hotel features exceptional complimentary amenities including: pool and 24-hour Fitness Center, Business Center, Wi-Fi, House Car and coffee & muffins in the lobby each morning. Children enjoy the Kids Passport Program, Cookie Making Classes, the chance to "Raid the Fridge" for a midnight snack, and so much more. Couples delight in Bristol Restaurant and Bar, Boston's favorite destination for dining and drinks, featuring New England seafood, steaks, the famous Bristol Burger, hand-rolled pastas, signature martinis, and special, seasonal events. Four Seasons Hotel Boston is known for its longstanding tradition of warm, welcoming, wonderful service that makes it a true home away from home for travelers. There's so much to enjoy within Four Seasons Hotel Boston's walls - and just outside our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Boston
Four Seasons Boston
Boston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing