We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jumping the Shark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Jumping the Shark”
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Jumping the shark

My stay at the FS in Boston was a great letdown. Let’s talk about the good features it still retains: a very good concierge service and tideness of rooms and common areas. But:
when I checked in I was given a room right in front of the AC vent which, apart from being really noisy it cooled the room too much and it made entering the room a bit of a challenge as, servicing the whole seventh floor, it blasted out freezing air right on your back.

I went right to the reception complaining about it and a young gentleman at the reception told me ‘nobody has ever complained about it if it still bothers you tomorrow morning we’ll turn the AC down’.

Well, one of the reasons I really like this hotel chain is that everything is always perfect and they take care of problems asap. I hate having to complain, move around once I’m settled down so I never went back.

Breakfast the following morning was a challenge. I asked for a continental breakfast plus yougurt and eggs but I got the bill instead of the eggs. Strange I though let’s see tomorrow morning! The day after I chose the American breakfast, same story: after a 45 minute wait I still hadn’t got my eggs so I just paid and left. On the third day they finally managed to deliver the right order in a decent time.

I also had lunch once day and it was decent but not the excellent quality I was used to at the FS. Besides you eat on plastic table mats which is really a let down for a high end hotel. What a difference from the FS in Paris where they iron the table clothes before setting the table! I remember they had them also the other time I was there but being service and food excellent you don’t really mind. This time though it bothered me a lot, maybe because I spent a lot of time staring at them waiting for my breakfast.

I had to be back for another two days but I cancelled ny reservation and decided for the Fairmont instead. While I was there the hotel was celebrating its 25th birthday: an old dame living on fame and memories!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,301
    226
    70
    30
    17
See reviews for
494
390
71
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at the FS Boston for three evenings. Simply put, the hotel lived up to my expectations for a Four Seasons. The service and staff were excellent, the rooms were nice with the typical amenities and the facilities were excellent. The fitness room and pool were excellent. The location, across from the park, was superb. And what a wonderful park it is. Just beautiful. We did not dine in the restaurants or use room service so we have no view on the food. I cannot say anything negative about the hotel - we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian-Beagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Typical Four Seasons service but would prefer to do stay at Four Seasons resort hotels rather than business hotels. Great for families.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gambit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Tredegar, Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We have stayed in quite a few FS hotels around the world and found FS Boston to be the most friendly and professional of them all the staff were surperb and everybody had time to chat and give you advice even though they were very busy. i would advise anybody to stay there even though it is pricey you get what you pay for excellence.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo&bod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

This Hotel is very good for lodging; we stayed 8 nights and liked their service, the large deluxe rooms, the ideal location, valet parking, beautiful flower arrangements in the lobby, pool etc. However, I don’t recommend it for eating. Price-value relationship is poor. Food quality and service is very average. And at the Bristol dining room the service is off-handed and slow. Mineral water from Europe costs $ 30 for one Evian and one San Pellegrino; they smell Europeans to recommend the water – it’s a sure sell…once!! A breakfast for two in the room was billed $ 90 incl. service, we waited almost an hour and they had it all wrong. After complaining the price was reduced to
$ 50. After these two experiences we preferred some of the excellent Restaurants in the neighbourhood were price and quality was good. Wifi is available at about $9 per day

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

when you think of all the things you look for in a hotel (location, service, room size) this place has it all. i must have stayed here a handful of times now over the last two years and the fact i keep gonig back says a lot. looks and feels modern in the public spaces and the rooms. doesnt need a long review, this place is close to perfect unless you like the smaller, boutique style hotels.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yatsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord,MA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I sat at the computer for about five minutes after deciding to write a review of the Boston Four Seasons (having stayed here with my family at least six times). "Really", I thought "How does one write a review of a hotel that is part of the best luxury chain on Earth (Sorry Mandarin Orient!)?"

But here I go...

We live 20 miles outside of Boston and on special occasions (the most recent being my birthday) we will book a night or two at the Four Seasons. That should tell you something there.

First- there are probably properties that are nice and perhaps a little nicer (The Taj, or the Millenium?) but none have the staff that the Four Seasons has. I actually purchased the new book that has been written by the founder of the Four Seasons to figure out just how they do it.

Everyone is a pro- and everyone knows who you are , where you are from, that we had our twins with us. Knowing that our twins (who are eleven and well behaved) the staff allowed them to use the workout room (they had made the same exception last year when they were ten). The spa is super, the health club, just what one would expect (see how hard it is to write a review?) from a Four Seasons. The pool is on the 8th floor (perhaps the 7th?) with floor length windows opening up views of the Public Gardens. Day or night the views are incredible!

The location at the Public Garden means you are just a half a mile from Newbury Street and Charles Street shopping.

Unfortunately the last "Formal" Hotel Dining Room in Boston the Aujord Hui closed about 18 months ago- which is sad. But the informal formality of the Bristol Lounge with it's fire places, sofas, tables, and live jazz combo on Saturday Night are great fun. With Window opening up on the Gardens it is also fun to have breakfast.

The only downside that we could see is that the furniture in our Suite (the chairs and Ottoman/Sofa) are just this side of being worn out. Given the prices that the Four Season's commands I would not expect this.

Well I guess no one is perfect- although the Four Season's Boston comes close!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Address: 200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-3916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Back Bay, Four Seasons Hotel Boston houses 273 guest rooms including 77 luxury suites, many with postcard views of Boston's Public Garden, Beacon Hill and the gilded dome of the State House. Enjoy convenient access to Newbury Street - the Rodeo Drive of the East - as well as Charles Street's charm and the vibrant Theater District. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, the Hotel features exceptional complimentary amenities including: pool and 24-hour Fitness Center, Business Center, Wi-Fi, House Car and coffee & muffins in the lobby each morning. Children enjoy the Kids Passport Program, Cookie Making Classes, the chance to "Raid the Fridge" for a midnight snack, and so much more. Couples delight in Bristol Restaurant and Bar, Boston's favorite destination for dining and drinks, featuring New England seafood, steaks, the famous Bristol Burger, hand-rolled pastas, signature martinis, and special, seasonal events. Four Seasons Hotel Boston is known for its longstanding tradition of warm, welcoming, wonderful service that makes it a true home away from home for travelers. There's so much to enjoy within Four Seasons Hotel Boston's walls - and just outside our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Boston
Four Seasons Boston
Boston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing